We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent ... had for breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushizanmai Honjin

Sushizanmai Honjin
4-4-3 Tsukiji, Chuo 104-0045, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)
+81 3-5565-3636
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 5,183 Restaurants in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“excellent ... had for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

set deluxe and piece orders... sat at the counter... friendly and efficient staff... basically axross the street from the imperial hotel... sushi is good for breakfast.. never done it before . .. place is open 24/7... deasonable prices...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    39
    16
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great sushi with happy price at good location. The grilled fatty tuna sushi is my top of the list, followed by other tuna sushi set. Simply take off at Tsukiji station, the restaurant is at the corner of the intersection. Even though the space is smaller than the Ueno station, the quality is the same.
Since this time I stayed around Chuo area (Hibiya Line) so I decided to try this branch first before heading to Ueno branch the next day. The sushi set is more than value for money and it's so good to go with the miso soup with clam.

One of your to do list, sushi zanmai.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Excelent!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I loved Sushi-Zanmai and i loved even more this particular restaurant.
Staff was helpful and chief served us a lot of free mini-dishes.
Sushi was amazing as usual.

It wasn't expensive to be in Tokyo.

a must visit!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great sushi at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

After reading reviews people say that the tsukiji location of zanmai is the best, so we decided to fo there, howeve, the ginza/tsukiji location was really difficult to find, I recommend asking some one on the street for directions.

We recommend getting to tuna set (3000yen) comes with 2 fatty tunas, 2 medium fat, 2 no fat, 2 tuna ships and tuna mini sushi. Very delicious

Also recommend getting the salmon set, which comes with 3 different pieces of salmon for around 650yen.

Al carte pieces range from 128yen-500yen, most are around 250yen mark.

Service is good however, since you order over the counter, your sushi pieces will come out very slow when busy.

Great place go try it, great price for good sushi, not the best but it won't break the bank. 2 people to the point of bursting cost about $ 75

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Always AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The only thing about this restaurant is that sushis melt too quickly in your mouth. Just to say how fresh the fish is, last time I went, I saw a chef picking a fish out of the aquarium in front of me and prepare it for customers. Wish I had ordered that!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushizanmai Honjin also viewed

 

Been to Sushizanmai Honjin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushizanmai Honjin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.