We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two thumbs up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushizanmai Honjin

Sushizanmai Honjin
4-4-3 Tsukiji, Chuo 104-0045, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 3-5565-3636
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 5,036 Restaurants in Chuo
4.5 of 5 stars 117 Reviews
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great sushi with happy price at good location. The grilled fatty tuna sushi is my top of the list, followed by other tuna sushi set. Simply take off at Tsukiji station, the restaurant is at the corner of the intersection. Even though the space is smaller than the Ueno station, the quality is the same.
Since this time I stayed around Chuo area (Hibiya Line) so I decided to try this branch first before heading to Ueno branch the next day. The sushi set is more than value for money and it's so good to go with the miso soup with clam.

One of your to do list, sushi zanmai.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Excelent!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I loved Sushi-Zanmai and i loved even more this particular restaurant.
Staff was helpful and chief served us a lot of free mini-dishes.
Sushi was amazing as usual.

It wasn't expensive to be in Tokyo.

a must visit!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great sushi at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

After reading reviews people say that the tsukiji location of zanmai is the best, so we decided to fo there, howeve, the ginza/tsukiji location was really difficult to find, I recommend asking some one on the street for directions.

We recommend getting to tuna set (3000yen) comes with 2 fatty tunas, 2 medium fat, 2 no fat, 2 tuna ships and tuna mini sushi. Very delicious

Also recommend getting the salmon set, which comes with 3 different pieces of salmon for around 650yen.

Al carte pieces range from 128yen-500yen, most are around 250yen mark.

Service is good however, since you order over the counter, your sushi pieces will come out very slow when busy.

Great place go try it, great price for good sushi, not the best but it won't break the bank. 2 people to the point of bursting cost about $ 75

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Always AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The only thing about this restaurant is that sushis melt too quickly in your mouth. Just to say how fresh the fish is, last time I went, I saw a chef picking a fish out of the aquarium in front of me and prepare it for customers. Wish I had ordered that!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sushi Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The restaurant is near to Asakusa most famous tourist attraction; SensojiTemple. If you are facing Kaminari Gate (Kaminarimon before going into the temple; the first big gate before nakamise and the temple) the restaurant is about 100 meter on your left. We arrived at noon on April 5, 2013 and needed to wait for only 10 mins to be seated. This is qutie a big restaurant with plenty of space where they greeted us with very nice hot green tea and a hot towel. After a long morning of sakura excursion in Shinjukugyoenmae, this made us very relaxing indeed.

Although menu is in English, the order list is only part English. You have to make sure to put your order in the right column where your sushi will come with or without wasabi. All selections were up to expectation. Do not miss fatty maguro, the most expensive one! It did melt in my mouth. A sweet shrimp and sea eel were also very good.

I rate this restaurant only 4 star because of the non traditional japanese atmosphere. If you prefer a small shop where most japanese eat this is probably not for you. But if you want to try good and reasonably priced sushi, Zanmai is worth a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushizanmai Honjin also viewed

 

Been to Sushizanmai Honjin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushizanmai Honjin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.