We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi - great Tuna!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushizanmai Tsukijiekimae

Sushizanmai Tsukijiekimae
3-11-9 Tsukiji | Tsukiji Square bldg1F, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture 104-0045, Japan
+81 3-3524-9833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 4,930 restaurants in Chuo
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: il miglior ristrante vicino al mercato del pesce
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
387 helpful votes 387 helpful votes
“Great Sushi - great Tuna!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is in the middle of the Tsukiji Fish market (that's at least the one we went...not sure if I chose the right place for feedback...there's several entries!).

Mostly there's a line in front of the place, but it's moving fast and it's surely worth waiting for. Inside there's loads of tables on two floors and also counters. We preferred the counter where you can watch your sushi being made.

It's a great place for good sushi, but there are also other items on the menu (like Fishhead, Tempura etc.). But of course it's all about Sushi...and it's really great. We've had lots of Sushi on our Japan-Trip and this surely is among the top. The best choice here is the Tuna. Raw or slightly broiled...both great! There's lean Tuna, medium-fatty and full-fatty. The medium and fatty Tuna were my favorites. Best Tuna we've had in Japan. Other kinds of sushi are fine too, but the Tuna is standing out. The only let-down here was the Salmon. We've had lots of better pieces of salmon than here, it's just to lean and not really good flavoured....no need to order it.

But besides that Sushizanmai is a MUST if you're in Tokyo. Tuna is King here! Order a sampler (with three to six different pieces of tuna), which is a lot cheaper than ordering them piece by piece.

Wanna know more about my travels? Check my profile (with a link to my website).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    35
    21
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great breakfast find near the fish market1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were delighted to stumble onto this low key place on an early morning visit to the fish market. The English speaking staff could not have been more friendly or welcoming. The sushi was among the best we have had anywhere - salmon, minced tuna, grilled tuna - fantastic! The seaweed miso was also exceptional. Squeaky clean and lots of fun people to meet at the sushi bar. We will return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great sushi and sashimi! We enjoyed it very much!!! We took variety of sushi and sashimi and a very good soup, all where excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best sushi in 15 days of daily consumption”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Cheap (by NYC standards); fresh (onsite fishtanks); top quality (a large chain with strong buying-power, but also, located adjacent to wholesale fish market where the best tuna is sold). The best maguro and toro we ever had - and we've had alot!

Reasonable English, and recommendations by sushi chef of superior quality fishes. And open around the clock!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great sushi, Fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We visited the branche on the outer market (in a Side street, no belt) twice during our stay. The atmosphere is great fun, sitting at the bar, ordering with the chefs. Food is great, melt in your mouth sushi, good miso soup plus nice fried sardines. Great experience, not cheap but well worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushizanmai Tsukijiekimae also viewed

 

Been to Sushizanmai Tsukijiekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushizanmai Tsukijiekimae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.