We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi - great Tuna!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushizanmai Tsukijiekimae

Sushizanmai Tsukijiekimae
3-11-9 Tsukiji | Tsukiji Square bldg1F, Chuo 104-0045, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)
+81 3-3524-9833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 5,362 Restaurants in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Description: il miglior ristrante vicino al mercato del pesce
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
627 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“Great Sushi - great Tuna!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is in the middle of the Tsukiji Fish market (that's at least the one we went...not sure if I chose the right place for feedback...there's several entries!).

Mostly there's a line in front of the place, but it's moving fast and it's surely worth waiting for. Inside there's loads of tables on two floors and also counters. We preferred the counter where you can watch your sushi being made.

It's a great place for good sushi, but there are also other items on the menu (like Fishhead, Tempura etc.). But of course it's all about Sushi...and it's really great. We've had lots of Sushi on our Japan-Trip and this surely is among the top. The best choice here is the Tuna. Raw or slightly broiled...both great! There's lean Tuna, medium-fatty and full-fatty. The medium and fatty Tuna were my favorites. Best Tuna we've had in Japan. Other kinds of sushi are fine too, but the Tuna is standing out. The only let-down here was the Salmon. We've had lots of better pieces of salmon than here, it's just to lean and not really good flavoured....no need to order it.

But besides that Sushizanmai is a MUST if you're in Tokyo. Tuna is King here! Order a sampler (with three to six different pieces of tuna), which is a lot cheaper than ordering them piece by piece.

Wanna know more about my travels? Check my profile (with a link to my website).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bandit-One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great breakfast find near the fish market1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were delighted to stumble onto this low key place on an early morning visit to the fish market. The English speaking staff could not have been more friendly or welcoming. The sushi was among the best we have had anywhere - salmon, minced tuna, grilled tuna - fantastic! The seaweed miso was also exceptional. Squeaky clean and lots of fun people to meet at the sushi bar. We will return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peregrinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Great sushi and sashimi! We enjoyed it very much!!! We took variety of sushi and sashimi and a very good soup, all where excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alonradzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best sushi in 15 days of daily consumption”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Cheap (by NYC standards); fresh (onsite fishtanks); top quality (a large chain with strong buying-power, but also, located adjacent to wholesale fish market where the best tuna is sold). The best maguro and toro we ever had - and we've had alot!

Reasonable English, and recommendations by sushi chef of superior quality fishes. And open around the clock!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ming A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sushi, Fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited the branche on the outer market (in a Side street, no belt) twice during our stay. The atmosphere is great fun, sitting at the bar, ordering with the chefs. Food is great, melt in your mouth sushi, good miso soup plus nice fried sardines. Great experience, not cheap but well worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushizanmai Tsukijiekimae also viewed

 

Been to Sushizanmai Tsukijiekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing