We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi in 15 days of daily consumption” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushizanmai Tsukijiekimae

Sushizanmai Tsukijiekimae
3-11-9 Tsukiji | Tsukiji Square bldg1F, Chuo 104-0045, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)
+81 3-3524-9833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 5,144 Restaurants in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Description: il miglior ristrante vicino al mercato del pesce
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best sushi in 15 days of daily consumption”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Cheap (by NYC standards); fresh (onsite fishtanks); top quality (a large chain with strong buying-power, but also, located adjacent to wholesale fish market where the best tuna is sold). The best maguro and toro we ever had - and we've had alot!

Reasonable English, and recommendations by sushi chef of superior quality fishes. And open around the clock!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    35
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great sushi, Fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited the branche on the outer market (in a Side street, no belt) twice during our stay. The atmosphere is great fun, sitting at the bar, ordering with the chefs. Food is great, melt in your mouth sushi, good miso soup plus nice fried sardines. Great experience, not cheap but well worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best sushi ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were at the market at about 9 am. Enjoyed walking around and looking at the stalls. We wanted to find this place and a nice couple from Brooklyn help us find it. So in we went at 10 am and ordered dome great pieces. I have been here before and was so happy to return .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The best sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This restaurant recommended my freand from Tokyo,for the lunch you need outside restaurant 30-40 min,but its really great food,very delicious ,very fresh,green tea is fantastic,The location is special place near fish market,the empty,dark,but this is general area for sushi,not expensive !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The best toro plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Some say here that this sushi place is average in Tokyo. It may be, but for a gaijin like me (non-japanese) this was sushi heaven, no, sushi paradise. The quality of the fish, the sweet shrimp, the rice, I couldn't believe it. The toro bowl was one of the freshest tuna I ever tasted in my life. Delicious. The location is super charming by night, the empty, dark, fish market. Easy to get by subway.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushizanmai Tsukijiekimae also viewed

 

Been to Sushizanmai Tsukijiekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushizanmai Tsukijiekimae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.