We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Ginza location for a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza to your Saves list
Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-10-18 Ginza, Chuo 104-0061, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ginza location for a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Tokyo is expensive but this hotel is $190 per night or 16,000 yen - very reasonable. Room is tiny but very clean. Don't bring much luggage if you stay here. Wifi is free and works great. Location is hard to beat. Next door is a wonderful restaurant - Dom Pierre. If you need a western breakfast they have it here. No concierge but desk staff is helpful but not to be counted on to make arrangements for tours. There is a hotel a block away that is an Accor where the tours are organized so it is close and easy. And if you come in from harita via train this hotel is a five minute taxi ride. Subway is one block.

Room Tip: The twin bed rooms are a bit larger than the double bed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    169
    71
    20
    8
See reviews for
54
101
60
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during a business trip in Tokyo. It was my second time in Tokyo. I stayed in Shinjuku at the first time, which is a great place to stay. This time I choosed Ginza region, which is called the top shopping and entertainment district of Tokyo. As a very popular region, all of the hotels were either very very expensive or they give you a coffin to get in and sleep. After very long hours of searches, I found this nice hotel in Ginza and my stay went very well.

The hotel is located 2 blocks away from the main shopping street of Ginza. The location could not be better. You can find thousands of interesting places, shops and restaurant near the hotel. It is also 2 min. walk to the nearest metro station.

The room was tiny. I did not expected a big room in the center of Tokyo but this double room has a queen bed and a table where the TV is on and that's it. There is no place to put your luggage. If you are travelling as a couple, you could consider a larger room a little outside of the major districts. The furnitures and bathroom were clean and in good condition. There is free wired internet in the guest rooms. The hotel is not offering a breakfast.

The staff in the reception has excellent English (which is hard to find in Japan) and they were really helpful.

Since you are at the heart of Tokyo, you will not stay in the room for so long. So, go for this hotel and enjoy the Ginza.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel couldn't be better located, in the heart of Ginza. Spotless rooms, great bath and shower, pleasant staff, but be forewarned, the rooms are very, very small, although perfectly comfortable. Definitely a bargain in the Ginza, but remember, the rooms are tiny!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Overall, I enjoyed the value, location, and beds in this hotel. It has a cute European theme. Be careful as there's another hotel about 2 blocks away called 'Hotel Monterey'. Our taxi driver dropped us off at that hotel by mistake, but luckily our tour guide ended up at the wrong hotel as well, so be very careful when giving instructions to others. A few of the staff speak a little English, but not very much. They were very helpful when I left some clothes at another hotel I was staying at in Tokyo. They called the other hotel and arranged to have my clothes sent via courier the next morning. That was much appreciated and saved me an expensive taxi ride! The rooms are on the small side, but we were able to manage in a twin room with two large suitcases just fine. We weren't in our room much anyhow!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Near Bikhram Yoga, the Apple Store, Sony Building, Theaters, Fish Market, Sushi No Midori for sushi, Bird Land for Yakkitori. The breakfast coupon can be used at two hotels. One is all you can eat the other is coffee, bread and fruit. The room is economy size.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I like this Hotel. It's cute, clean, and good location. The closet is pretty small and no dresser. There are 2 convenience stores and McDonald close to hotel. Denny's is not too far from the hotel. We went to Tukiji Market by Taxi because it's too early to catch train. It was 710yen. It is close to High way and subway but it was quiet night time. Staffs are very kind. I would like to stay this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

I read the reviews before booking and emailed the hotel about room size and non-smoking room. I had prompt and informative replies, in English. I am writing this from the room. It is small, but I have been in smaller rooms in French hotels. Immaculately clean. The bathroom is a regular size, shower, tub, all works well. Hi tech loo which does wonderful things to you. The bed is a regular double and most comfortable for my wife and I. Limited hanging space but we always travel with just carry on. If you travel with big suitcases the room size will be a problem.
Flat screen TV with BBC news, kettle for tea, well priced room fridge, very effective A/C. Haven't had food here as loads of cafes nearby for breakfast, but the dinner menu looks good and attracts a lot of locals. The location is a coulple of blocks from Ginza main road and all the shops. We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza

Address: 1-10-18 Ginza, Chuo 104-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Soeur Ginza is designed in the image of a Parisian apartment building, providing guests with a feeling of proximity to the sights and sounds of the colorful city streets around it. Guests can indulge themselves by strolling around the streets of Ginza, doing some shopping, taking in a movie or enjoying a spot of lunch at a chic cafe. We invite you to make yourself at home and spend a relaxing time at La Soeur Ginza Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey La Soeur Ginza Chuo
Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterey Lasoeur Ginza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.