We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ginza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tokyo Ginza

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tokyo Ginza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Tokyo Ginza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-14-10 Ginza Chou-Ku, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture 104-0061, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Chuo
Adelaide
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Ginza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on a Japan trip with my Mum. Ginza is such a wonderful area. The hotel is a pleasant 5 minute walk to Ginza street which has fabulous shopping and food areas. This area of Tokyo is very stylish and lots of great quality eating and retail. The location of the hotel although close to the action in Ginza is very quiet and relaxing so you can be confident of a good night's sleep. We stayed in a standard room. It was small but well designed (like everything in japan). The room had most things you would need to be comfortable. It was the only hotel we stayed in whist in Japan that did have a couple of english speaking TV channels at no extra charge although wifi did have a charge. There was a stocked fridge, tea and coffee supplies, hairdryer and nice kimonos to put on. Bed linen was quality and matress firm but not as uncomfortable as some japanese bedding can be. Service was flawless although service in japan is amazing generally. We were given a discount voucher upon checkin so the buffet breakfast worked out to be only $18 australian so a 'bargain' by hotel standards in australia (i travel a lot for business in australia and the average buffet in australia is $30). For $18 you get hot and cold options. A little japanese food but mostly western style breakfast. There is an egg station. But overall worth the money.
Service in the hotel was very good. Professional and helpful and staff spoke good english.
This hotel will be my choice when returning to tokyo hopefully next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    224
    69
    15
    9
See reviews for
88
123
59
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Great Britain
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nice comfortable rooms, perhaps a little small. Good shower over the bath. Tea & coffee making in the room. Good breakfast. Very polite, efficient and helpful staff. Very good location - Close to main shopping with some very up market designer shops. Lots of restaurants in the area apart from the hotel restaurants. Very Good room service. Perhaps the hotel lacks a little character.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great location in Ginza ; it's just 5 mins walk away from train station, and about 10mins walk away to the infamous Tsukiji market. Staffs speak English relatively well, polite and ever ready to assist the customers. Room was kinda small for Marriot standards ( comparatively to Marriot hotels in the United States), but nonetheless, still pretty comfortable and clean. Free wifi is pretty handy, and breakfast was pretty tasty too :) All in all, I enjoyed my stay in this hotel, and will not hesitate to come back again next time :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOca Raton
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was the last of four hotels in which I stayed during my two week stay in Japan. The room was smaller but it was in a great location in Ginza. As is true with most hotels in Japan the staff was attentive and eager to please. It was not as luxor\urious as some hotels but the location and price more than made up for it. I would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Front desk, bell stand, housekeeping not too bad, but the restaurant and lounge were among the worst I've seen and I'm a lifetime Platnium with Marriott. Disgustingly dirty floors in the restaurant made me wonder what the kitchen looked like..yechhh. Service in the restaurant was terrible, and the lounge was no better. Being accustomed to friendly, smiling Japanese service, I was extremely disappointed with this hotel's level of cleanliness and attention to guests at their lounge and restaurant. This is Ginza for heavens sake...stay somewhere else, there are tons of choices.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Walking distance to Ginza shopping. Rooms fairly small. Fair/poor WiFi in room. Had to go down to lobby several times to connect. Small lounge in the basement, relatively quiet with good service. Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Good value, very clean. Would have no problem staying here again though would look for something a little larger and a touch more upscale if I had the chance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
481 helpful votes 481 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to spend four nights at the Courtyard Ginza Hotel in Tokyo. We had a wonderful stay and I can highly recommend the hotel.

First, when we arrived at the hotel by Taxi from Tokyo Station, my wife left her purse in the taxi by accident. We noticed this shortly after checking in and went to the bell desk to see what we should do. Mr. Suzuki immediately began trying to help us. I had paid the taxi in cash and did not get a receipt so we had no idea which taxi company we had used. Mr. Suzuki started calling taxi companies and reporting our loss. A couple of hours later, much to our surprise, Suzuki San called our room. The taxi drive, a Yamada San had brought my wife’s purse back to the hotel! Of course, everything was in order. This is an example of wonderful service from Mr. Suzuki, one of the hotel associates, but Japan in general.

Our room was 814. By U.S. standards, it was small, but for the two of us, perfectly adequate and very comfortable. The room was very quiet, something we both appreciated. The bathroom was, like the room, compact, but very nice. The toilet had the feature to wash your private parts at the push of a button. I had never experienced this before, but really grew to like it! There was a combination deep tub and shower. The mirror had an area that must have been heated from behind because it did not frost up from condensation – a cool feature.

The room had a large HD TV with about a half-dozen international channels. I used both the wired and wireless internet service and found it to be quite fast and trouble free. Being a Marriott Rewards member it was complimentary.

The room had a small refrigerator which was mostly filled with drinks for purchase. There was enough room to put a few things of ours into the refrigerator. The room also had an electronic display that could be set to “clean the room” or “do not disturb.” I liked this feature. Our room was perfectly clean when we checked in and the house keeper kept it perfectly clean during our stay.

The Courtyard is very conveniently located! It was less than a 10 minute walk to either Shimbashi station or Ginza subway station. Nishi Ginza was even closer. For my wife and I we really appreciated the Denny’s restaurant right across the street! We had breakfast there daily. A full breakfast for the two of us was about US$ 15.00. Service was really excellent and the food quite good.

We also visited a Starbucks that is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel each morning for our Venti Lates. Prices at Starbucks were just about the same as at home in California. They packed our to-go order in a bag with a cup holder so that the drinks would not spill. Excellent service.

There are so many restaurants within a short walk from the hotel that we did not have any meals at the hotel. Being in Tokyo for only four nights, we wanted to experience as much of the city as we could.

The Courtyard hotel was very convenient and the staff very friendly while giving excellent service. I would definitely return which is about as good of a recommendation as I can give.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tokyo Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tokyo Ginza

Address: 6-14-10 Ginza Chou-Ku, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture 104-0061, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#6 Family Hotel in Chuo
#9 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tokyo Ginza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented Hotel situated in heart of Tokyo's commercial center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Odigeo, Rakuten and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tokyo Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tokyo Ginza Hotel Chuo
Courtyard Tokyo Ginza
Courtyard Hotel Chuo
Chuo Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Tokyo Ginza Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tokyo Ginza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.