We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal ever. Period.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beefsteak Kawamura, Ginza

Beefsteak Kawamura, Ginza
6-5-1 Ginza | GINZA MST Bldg. 8F, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture 104-0061, Japan
+81 3-6252-5011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 4,945 restaurants in Chuo
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best meal ever. Period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I thought I had eaten great steak before. I was wrong. Everything else is McDonald's ground beef compared to the kobe beef at Kawamura. The meal my wife and I shared at the Ginza location was the most memorable part of our trip to Tokyo.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    17
    1
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Still dreaming of the Kobe beef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Excellent place to try Kobe beef in Tokyo. They do take their beef seriously in this teppanyaki restaurant which is devoted to the Kobe beef. The place is a bit difficult to find as it is on the upper floor of a building in Ginza. The place feels like an American steak house but that is the only similarity it has with it's American counterpart. We had a full course dinner starting with carpaccio of Kobe beef followed by foie gras and then oxtail soup. The Kobe beef itself was amazing. It was worth all the hype and dollars. I have had nothing like it in the US.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Memorable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Some of the things I love about traveling are trying local foods, meeting new people and learning about different cultures, so I really enjoyed my meal here. This is a teppanyaki restaurant and the chef spoke English so was able to tell us about the Kobe beef while he was preparing our meal. This was a great experience as I didn't know very much about authentic Kobe beef before dining here. The food was amazing and I enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. We were also shown the cow's certificate at the end of the meal, complete with nose print (which did make me feel a little sad... but at least she was appreciated). Definitely worth a visit if you are in Japan as true Kobe beef is only available in Japan, Macau and Hong Kong, and apparently this place is one of the best Kobe restaurants (it came highly recommended by the Conrad, Tokyo where we were staying). The American "Kobe" beef is not authentic and does not come from Japan.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Kobe Beef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We got the manager/chef that speaks very good English and he was such a great "tour guide" for our first Kobe experience. He told us all about the certifications of Kobe beef and was so friendly and fun. The food was beyond our expectations. We tried the bottom tier grade and the top tier grade and they were both amazing but you could tell a slight difference but no matter which one you choose you will be completely satisfied. Definitely want to go back on our next trip to Tokyo!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What an education!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

What an incredible meal. If you're lucky enough to get the chef that speaks English, he'll be happy to tell you all about Kobe beef. Not only is the food delicious, the story is fascinating. I got to see the "papers" for the cow, complete with nose print and family genealogy. This is the real deal. Eating here is one of those life experiences that will enrich you forever.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beefsteak Kawamura, Ginza also viewed

 

Been to Beefsteak Kawamura, Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beefsteak Kawamura, Ginza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.