We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daiwa Sushi

Daiwa Sushi
5-2-1 Tsukiji | Tsukiji Fish Market Bldg. No.6, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
+81 3-3547-6807
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 4,970 Restaurants in Chuo
Price range: $28 - $47
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fresh!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was there at 4AM, and was the second customer,and there was already a looong queue behind us, but to be honest i am not a fan of raw fish, sat down with my brother we ordered the chief recommendation was like 3500YEN consist of 11sushi i think,and a lobster whisker?, was served by the old master himself,so honored! ...but on the other hand so shameful as i couldn't finish up ,it was my first time trying raw fish,it was really fresh though! ,had to pass some to my bro, the chief and the few Japanese ladies seating beside us just laughed,hahaha!! good experience!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    36
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yen for Yen, the best sushi value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Like most of the best restaurants in Tokyo, the place is tiny - 2 rooms side by side, each with a counter that seats maybe 10 people. We had a short wait in line -- only about 20 minutes (unlike the hour or 2 that many people report, but it helps to get there early, e.g., 7 am). The set menu at 3500 Yen is a great deal. Everything was delicious, but we had without a doubt the best uni I've ever tasted. By far. It helps that we were there during the short Hokkaido uni season. You can taste the difference. The toro was also outstanding, but it usually is in Tokyo. Although Tsukiji has become overrun with tourists, still worth rising with the sun and heading there for a great sushi breakfast washed down with an ice cold Sapporo beer.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Mind blowing sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This tiny, 12-seater restaurant is in the heart of the Tokyo fish market. The line was long (about 2.5 hours), but the fresh-from-the sea sushi was well worth the wait. This is a great thing to do first thing after an overnight flight especially when jet lag is working in your favor, besides, watching the morning bustle of the fish market helps pass the time along. There are two set menus (7 pieces and 11 pieces). The sushi is chosen by the three chefs who treat the sushi preparation as an art. Make sure to listen to them about how to eat each piece - some are meant to have flavor added and others not.

If you can, go with a group so that someone can hold your place in line while others shop the little stores. Dishware, teas and other things are available at very decent prices. Do bring your own coffee, though, it is a rare an expensive commodity once you get to the market.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Just Sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

What can I say: it's just sushi, fresh but forgettable sushi. The two of us had the set menu plus two more pieces of sushi and tea and paid AUD$86. We sat and the chef immediately asked us what we wanted and suggested the menu but unfortunately we couldn't know what we were eating exactly as the chef's English was very limited. There is not much time to talk or enjoy the atmosphere because there are tons of people waiting so the chefs want you to leave as soon as possible and you also are aware of that people in the queue, so the "experience" lasted about 25 minutes.

We initially wanted to go to Sushi Dai but the waiting was about 3 hours and God no way! We got there at about 6 am and the queue was already very long, I guess some of them were lucky to see the auction and once finished, they started to queue.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Probably the BEST sushi bar in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

When the old matser chef greeted us and choose for us what to eat I knew there would be nowhere to go wrong...it was simlpy sublime. Percetion. He didn't speak English nor did it matter. When he asked what we want to repeat, I wanted to should; ALL. simply trust him to feed you the best, fresh, and eqixtuite sushi ever!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daiwa Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Daiwa Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daiwa Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.