We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of K'shiki All-Day Dining

K'shiki All-Day Dining
2-1-1 Nihombashi Muromachi | 38F Mandarin Oriental Tokyo, Chuo 103-8328, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 120-806-823
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 5,036 Restaurants in Chuo
4.5 of 5 stars 72 Reviews
Price range: $63 - $95
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Part of the Oriental Mandarin Hotel.

Very nice and efficient service, great views from the 38th floor. excellent breakfast and very nice japanese dinner option. We did never have to wait long for the food and the quality of the ingredients seems very high, the food was very tasty. a good option for when you are staying at the hotel or are in the area

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    30
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leh, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Meal to Remember.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Dined at K’shiki a year ago and the flavours of the meal still linger. From the starter to dessert, it was a superlative lunch. The tuna and silken tofu starter with a smooth custard-like texture was divine with subtle yet deep flavours. The Bento Box lunch was a great choice, the stand-out item here being the salmon – lightly grilled and buttery. Par excellence was the dessert, just right for lunchtime, perfectly preserved fruit (the whole mandarin orange was fabulous), a colourful mélange of interesting flavours, set in a sparkling, crystal clear gelatin – a great balance of sweetness and tart. One of us in the group ordered the Laksa but didn’t like it as much. The service was good and the waitstaff, pleasant, accommodating our every need. The views of Tokyo from here were great, too.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fine Japanese dining for beginners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Tokyo leads the world in Michelin stars and so it will come as no surprise that there are many establishments that eclipse Keshiki. That said, if it is your first time in Tokyo this is a great way to ease your way into the finer tables. Very foreigner friendly service and menus. No awkward moments of pointing, miming, and ultimately wondering what you will receive.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“K'shiki---Is this Typical of Mandarin Oriental Dining?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I called K'shiki a week ahead of time to reserve a dinner for two on a Saturday, but they were already completely booked but they were able to fit us in on Sunday. I wanted to take my friend out for a birthday dinner and wanted to select someplace memorable and special. Well, K'shiki was memorable alright, but for all the wrong reasons.

When making the reservation, the staff asked if this was for a "special occasion" and I told them that "Yes, it was to celebrate a birthday." The staff asked for the name of my guest so that they could make a special card. I thought that was a very nice gesture but the card never showed up. I thought that maybe they were waiting to bring it out with the last course (dessert), but no such luck. It never arrived. Why does K'shiki tell guests they are going to offer this special service if they don't plan to follow through? Really poor taste.

Speaking of "poor taste," the theme of the course menu was "Asian" and on the phone the staff mentioned that many of the dishes might be spicy. We both like spicy South East Asian food so we were really looking forward to the menu. Unfortunately, all of the dishes tasted like what a Japanese chef would prepare if he had only heard about or imagined what each dish might taste like and we were very disappointed. For example, we both love Korean Kalbi and so we were excited about trying the Korean BBQ ribs. However, at K'shiki, they didn't marinade the meat, but instead just brushed some bland sauce on the outside (quite tasteless, as were most of the courses). However, I will give them 1 point for presentation. The dishes were served on stylish plates and looked appetizing. Only when you begin tasting, are you disappointed.

Finally, "Service." The service was really poor. After being seated, our waiter brought us menus but no water. Other tables were given menus and water while we were simply given menus. It wouldn't have been so bad if they would have dropped by soon after so that we could ask for water, but we didn't see any waiters after that for 20 MINUTES!!!!!!!
There were three waiters who kept flitting around a table in the center of K'shiki where 4 gentlemen were seated. These three waiters would drop by their table every 5 minutes or so to refill their beers or bring whatever they requested. Since we were seated by the window (on the outskirts) we were too far away to be noticed. When they started bringing our courses they waited far too long between each to bring the next. It really made for a long drawn out night of disappointment.

In sum, this place deserves a rank of 2 at most (1 point for presentation of the food and 1 point for view). The view of Tokyo from the place (38F) is nice. Then again, there are a lot of other places where you can get a nice view of Tokyo. If not for the view, we would have walked out.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTYO, Manager at K'shiki All-Day Dining, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear Honey Roasted


Greetings from Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo.

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Asian Inspired Dining “K’shiki” restaurant for your friend’s birthday celebration.

We also greatly appreciate your time invested to share your concern with us as such constructive feedback enables us to monitor and improve our quality service standards.

Further to your comment for not providing the message plate despite we offered upon the reservation, please note that I have received a full report regarding this failure.
It seems that this service lapse was a result of miscommunication between our colleagues, and would like to ask you to please accept our apology for the inconvenience this substandard service may have caused you.

Please allow me to reassure you that immediate corrective measures have been taken to prevent any such incidents from reoccurring in the future.

Further, we have duly noted of your feedback in regards to food taste and quality served at the addressed restaurant. Please be advised that your comments have since been forwarded to our Chef de Cuisine of “K’shiki” who will initiate the appropriate changes in order to meet the expectations of our guests at Mandarin Oriental.

Once again our appreciation for your constructive comments and we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo to allow us to showcase the initiated improvements.

Should you wish to discuss any dining arrangements in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me so that I may be of your personal assistance.

Yours sincerely

Etienne Francois
Assistant Food and Beverage Director
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K'shiki All-Day Dining also viewed

 

Been to K'shiki All-Day Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K'shiki All-Day Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.