We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class in every respect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sant Pau

Sant Pau
1-6-1 Nihonbashi, Chuo 103-0027, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)
+81 3-3517-5700
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 5,269 Restaurants in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $81 - $121
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“World class in every respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

If you want to eat world class (two star Michelin based on the parent restaurant in Spain which is three stars) then add this to your list if you are in Tokyo. From the moment you enter to the moment you leave this is an outstanding experience. Food, wine, service, decor, ambience - excellent in every respect. Sure it's expensive but worth every one of the many yen. Absolutely recommended.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Best Catalan Cuisine available in Tokyo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is the ‘must’ place to visit for me every time when I visit Tokyo, as well as Catalonia where their headquarter restaurant is located. Yes, price is high but it does have worth the price because you will be impressed and surprised by their unbelievably designed artworks. Yes, I would like to call their dishes as edible artworks, and it’s indescribably delicious! When you visit there and served, you will definitely agree with me. Very polite service in right time manner, décor is wonderful, well… I cannot find anything negative here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service, Delightful Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Made our second trip to Restaurant Sant Pau in Nihombashi for our wedding anniversary, and was not disappointed. Ordered the 15,000 yen course lunch. Its pricy, but justified, considering the wonderful food, service and ambiance.

The dishes are varied, creative, and playful, with beautiful presentation. While not completely flawless, the best dishes (anything having to do with seafood) are so good that repeat visits feel mandatory.

Service for English speakers is exemplary, with Mariko Watanabe doing a great job not only with explaining each dish, but also with taking into account dietary requests, and even remembering that it was our wedding anniversary (and presenting an anniversary cake) without me even prompting the staff.

Its the only Michelin-starred restaurant I have ever left feeling absolutely positively stuffed. Twice! In fact, that is of slight concern. The lunch service takes well over 2 hours, and during that time, you get to sample so many delightful dishes that by the time the final dessert arrives, you may just feel like you are pushing the limits of your stomach.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome food, wine and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

in my humble opinion this is the best restaurant in the world. We have used it for private parties, and for business dinners. We have never been disappointed. Staff is friendly and courteous and offer the "best of the best" service. Food is amazing! it a journey in gastronomy and taste and presentations is fantastic. Wine knowledge and wine list is amongst the best in the world. (They even allow you to bring your own wine for a small corkage fee.)

Love it, love it, love it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Amazing service and fantastic food. It was wonderful evening and surprise to go to Sant Pau. A couple of courses were not to my particular taste, but the rest were fantastic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sant Pau also viewed

 

Been to Sant Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sant Pau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.