We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi is pretty much bought fresh everyday. Service is impeccable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tsukiji Sushisay Honten

Tsukiji Sushisay Honten
4-13-9 Tsukiji, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture 104-0045, Japan
+81 3-3541-7720
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 4,953 Restaurants in Chuo
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sushi is pretty much bought fresh everyday. Service is impeccable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I went at around 11am, and though the place was busy, I didn't really have to wait.

The fish that was served was incredible, but this is probably the case with all the sushi restaurants around Tsukiji.

What earned the five stars was the very subtle attention to detail the entire staff paid to me and my girlfriend.

Our chef even went so far as to serve the sushi in more manageable sizes for her without me having to say anything.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful sushi breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife went here after visiting the market. The sushi is absolutely great! Service was a little non-attendant, but as a whole - very good!

The fatty tuna sushi was the best I have eaten!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Benchmark sushi restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a day (more like 8 hours) in Tokyo. After getting off the bullet train at Tokyo station, we headed straight to Tsukiji Fish market. Sushisay is the oldest sushi restaurant in the market, and it took a while for us to find it. There was a queue at the door and the waitress was taking names, asking us if we want to eat sushi or other specialties. Sushi it was and after 10 min we were led inside to the sushi bar. There are 12 seats around the bar with 3 chefs. The head chef looked after us as the head chef always looks after the entrance side.
We ordered our set and just sat there soaking in. All the chefs were joking and laughing with the other customers while displaying their skills in making sushi. Part of the joy of eating sushi is to watch the skills display and part is the food itself. Food was fresh and tasty. Also, this store is the best of all their other branches I've been to (Osaka, Kyoto and Shinjuku).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good quality sushui which do no need to queue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

After a visit at Tsukiji Market, we were starving. Most of the sushi bar at Tsukiji Market have long queue (need to wait over 3omins). We decided to head to Tsukiji Outer Market to find a reasonable price and no queue sushi restaurant. We quickly find this one and remember it one the restaurants being recommended by a few guide books. Most important, they have seats available!

You could order set (which we did) and The staff did speak a little bit of English and very friendly. We were being seated at the sushi bar which we could order our sushi directly from the master (all we need to do is to point to the menu and indicate how many piece we want). Everything taste wonderful! To our surprise, the set we order is on discount to celebrate Tsukiji Market 77th Anniversary. Even better!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Still the best sushi in Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Sushisay is a great restaurant, but I would strongly recommend going there for lunch as opposed to dinner and sitting at the first floor counter. The reason is that by the end of the day they are running out of fish and tsukiji is turning into a ghost town. My favorite time is about 10:30am on a Saturday or Sunday, when one can order up delicacies and have a cold beer or warm sake to go along. It is a little decadant but so is fatty tuna. The sushi chefs are very friendly; there is an english menu. The atmosphere of happy people eating sushi is priceless.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsukiji Sushisay Honten also viewed

 

Been to Tsukiji Sushisay Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tsukiji Sushisay Honten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.