We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same fish, less wait” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yamazaki

Yamazaki
5-2-1 Tsukiji | Tsukiji Market Building 6, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture 104-0045, Japan
+81 3-3541-1105
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4,927 restaurants in Chuo
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Same fish, less wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

After viewing the tuna auction at the fish market we decided to get an early morning sushi breakfast. The lines at Daiwazushi and SushiDai were already pushing two-three hours at 6:00 a.m., so we decided to try our luck at the third restaurant which was situated between the other two, with the shortest line of the three – Yamazaki. I find it very hard to believe that the fish at the other two restaurants can be worth the additional two plus hour wait, when this was the freshest fish I've had in my life. We did wait slightly over an hour wait, however a nice lady (possibly the owner or manager) brought tea out to us waiting in line prior to any of the other restaurants offering tea to their waiting patrons. There were also some local fishermen inside, which we thought was a good sign. The sushi was awesome—as fresh and as wonderful as we were expecting. We tried two separate “sets” that they offered, one with roe and one with uni. The fish in both were awesome. We also got the otoro off the menu, in addition to the two other types of tuna in our sets. Our neighbors were trying something that the locals had eaten, some type of fish being torched lightly, but we decided to have the nigiri only. I highly recommend this place! Why wait in line for over three hours for the same fish? Seems silly to me.

My only suggestion would be don’t go to any of these three restaurants with a large group. Two people was perfect. Three or more and you’ll be waiting much longer for space at the counter to open up. Also expect to be waiting in line with some inebriated folks who have stayed up all night. If you can't handle drunks at 6:00 a.m., maybe wait a few hours later and try again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    41
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
manila
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Daiwa what?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

To be frank, my friends and I were really targeting to eat at daiwa but when we saw the long queue and noticed that this place at that time can accomodate the six of us, we went it and figured "how far can the taste of this sushi place can be from daiwa considering they surely get their fish from tsukiji market as well"...true enough our hunch was validated, the sushi in this place isn't inferior to daiwa...they also have 3 sets to choose from unlike daiwa which has only a standard set, we also a couple sharing a set which I think is not allowed in daiwa...the more you order additional sushi, the larger the piece the sushi chef will give you as we have witnessed...i have also tried daiwa in 2010 and I can attest that yamazaki is just as good if not better!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing, friendly, sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

While walking past all those long lines for the other shops, you will come here and walk out more happy than you could be.While there are some sets to chose from, I can only highly recommend a chef selection that will give you some really high-quality seasonal specialties that will never make it to the set lunch. The chef is very friendly if you speak Japanese or not, and knows enough English to guide you through the menu. Also, this place if frequented by the agents of the fishermen selling to the wholesalers. And those people know where they get the best value food. Without waiting in line for 2 hours.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Incredible sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I cant understand why everyone just goes to sushi-dai. yamazaki is amazing and ever such friendly staff we had the fuji dish which was amazing and perfectly priced at ¥2100
The green tea was also delicious. Probably the best breakfast ive ever had!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi at 0800 on the morning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

It's located next to the Tsukiji fish market among the the "top 3 sushi bars in the world". We walked the fish market starting at 0700 and finished at 0800 then hit the famous sushi bars next to the fish market. We skipped the most famous sushi bar because it had a 2+ hour wait of ONLY tourist waiting in line. Yamazaki is right next door and has basically locals only eating there until we arrived. The food was amazing!!! The chef will make a plate for you and he also has a picture (yes a picture! But very nicely done) on the wall of different sushi.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamazaki also viewed

 

Been to Yamazaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamazaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.