We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Tokyo - Just no there are "No Frills Here"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sardonyx Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sardonyx Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sardonyx Tokyo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-13-7 Hacchobori, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture 104-0032, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 78 hotels in Chuo
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value for Tokyo - Just no there are "No Frills Here"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is the old Holiday Inn. It was a last minute business trip and we were a bit price-sensitive and in need of a Hotel off the Hibiya Train line. This place fit the bill and we were satisfied with the services it presented. There are a couple snag points and things to keep in mind about this hotel.
1. There is no WiFi - all internet is through a hard cable in the room. This means that if you do not bring your own Wireless router (and most sane travels dont) your foreign ipad will be useless.
2. I would not recommend the breakfast add-on option given at the front desk. You prepay for these services and after day 1 you will want to give this breakfast a miss.
3. There is no Gym in the facility or nearby. If a fitness center is extremely important to your travels you will want to stay somewhere else.

So, if you have an expectation of "No Frills" and need a place close to transit this is a great spot and would recommend to any passer-through. (BTW thanks to the women at the front desk, they graciously wrote all my destinations in japanese for me to hand to the Taxi drivers)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    53
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
18
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was extremely pleased with my stay at the Hotel Sardonyx from November 02-05, 2012. It is an easy 10-15 minute walk from Tokyo Station (which I did with baggage in tow). The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, but one can easily access other parts of the city via the subway station that is just steps from the hotel.

The room seemed quite spacious, and the hotel furnishings were very modern. There was a nice desk area, flat screen TV (only one English channel that I could find), and decent sized bathroom. The room was spotlessly clean, quiet, and comfortable. Although I did not interact the hotel staff much outside of checking in and out, I found all of them extremely hospitable. I do not speak any Japanese, and their English proficiency was certainly adequate for all my needs while staying there.

There is a wired internet connection in the room but no wireless access. If you need an adapter to convert your US 3-prong (grounded) plug on your computer or other electronic device, the hotel will loan you one.

Overall, the Hotel Sardonyx offers quality accommodations at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Located close to Ueono station, Tokyo, great access to all sites via subway or trains. Near the market streets which is very nice. Staff very helpful. Two things: The room is very small which may be common in Tokyo. Second thing is that there is Wi-Fi only in the lobby and the lobby is very small. Making it a bit hard to talk using Skype or just surfe (using moblie or tablet).
Breakfast is nice. Not much food but nice. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Fantastic hotel. I've been Traveling to Tokyo for 25 years and this by far my top recommendation. It is a great hotel, and a great value.

The rooms are as large any of the 5 star luxury hotels. They are also as stylish and insanely comfortable. But the price is that of a businessman's hotel. You just can't beat the combination.

The hotel is located just next to a subway stop - making it incredibly convenient.

The location, is in a non-central business district. On the one hand, that means it is fairly quit at night - which is great for a good night's sleep. But on the the other hand - you've got to go out looking for a good place to eat.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is a hotel in the Chuo district of Tokyo. It is located near 2 Tokyo Metro stations and if you do not have much luggage you can even walk from Tokyo station.

The rooms are modern and of a reasonable size for Japan standards. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are very clean. While I was in Japan it was very warm and the air conditioning in my room was not working well. I raised this to the front desk several times and each time they assured me someone would look at it but the room was too warm for sleeping comfortably.

There is both Japanese and Western breakfast though the choice is quite meager. The juice and coffee are fine though.

The wired internet in the room worked well but there is no WiFi in the rooms which is disappointing.

The staff was friendly though their level of English was not sufficient to communicate effectively.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

When we were planning our trip to Tokyo many friends told us that finding a room bigger than 13-14 square meters in Tokyo in a normal price is almost impossible. We found Sardonyx from a popular hotel booking engine and what struck us positively form the web site was the room size of approximate 24 square meters and given the good location of the hotel and the good reviews in tripadvisor we decided to book it; and it was the right thing to do!

The hotel is in an excellent location if you are in Tokyo for a leisure trip. 3 minutes walk to the Hatchobori station of the Hibya line and 15-20 minutes walk to the Tokyo Station. Given that the Hibya line links directly some very popular tourist sited in Tokyo (Ueno, Akihabara, Ginza, Tjukiji market, Tokyo Tower etc.) the proximity to the Hibya line is a great asset.

We arrived and the booking was in order. Room as we asked it (double bed and smoking room). Check in very efficient, fast and extremely polite. The room was exactly as it is presented in the hotel web site. Good amenities, very good space and smart arrangement of furniture, good amenities and big windows. The only negative: we would prefer if the window could open (even slightingly) to allow for some natural ventilation.

Area is very convenient, with 2 mini markets just opposite the hotel (Family Mart and Lawson) and a bigger super market just 300 meters from the hotel. Plenty of restaurants all around the hotel (best of them to the west side towards the Tsukiji market) and a very nice coffee shop (Cave Veloce) just 500 meters to the north.

All in all, an excellent stay in a hotel that offers very good price quality of room. Do not expect facilities like bars and restaurants (there is one restaurant at the ground floor but we didn't try it) but the place is excellent for tourists and I guess also business trips.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sardonyx Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sardonyx Tokyo

Address: 1-13-7 Hacchobori, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture 104-0032, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chuo
#6 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sardonyx Tokyo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sardonyx Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sardonyx Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sardonyx Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.