We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Dull Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Tokyo Higashi Nihonbashi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Tokyo Higashi Nihonbashi to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Tokyo Higashi Nihonbashi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-10-11 Bakurocho, Nihonbashi, Chuo 103-0002, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
USA
Level Contributor
178 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Dull Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Having stayed at the nearby Comfort Hotel Kiyosumi-Shirakawa many
times, I thought I would give this hotel a try. The rooms are about
the same as is the breakfast and other amenities. The location,
however, is the discriminating factor.

First of all the directions given on the Choice Hotels website are
WRONG, or at least not optimum. From the JR Barukocho station one
should take the West exit, not the East exit as recommended by the
hotel website, especially with baggage. At the West end of the
platform there is an elevator from the platform to the B2 level
(platform is B5!) whereas at the East exit there are stairs up to B3,
then an escalator to B2. In either case you must walk up one very
long flight of stairs to the street at Exit 4 no matter which end you
exit but the elevator saves an additional staircase if you use the
West exit. I used the East exit and was all out of breath by the
time I reached the front desk. By contrast, the Comfort Hotel
Kiyosumi-Shirakawa is directly adjacent to the subway where there are
escalators from the platform to the street. So if you are carrying
baggage, the Higashi Nihonbashi location is less convenient.

And speaking of location, this hotel is in a dreary commercial area
with wholesale and retail clothing shops and convenience stores
whereas the KS location is in a more residential area with a
supermarket and pharmacy nearby as well as a lovely garden. But if
you want to stay on the west side of the Sumida River, you may prefer
this location. I don't.

Notwithstanding the disadvantages of the steps, there are two subway
lines and the JR within easy reach from the hotel. There is one JR
Sobu Rapid Service train per hour that goes all the way from
Barukocho to Narita Airport without changing trains. Takes about 90
minutes and costs 1280 yen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    110
    41
    8
    2
See reviews for
19
46
60
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have stayed at this Comfort Hotel at least five times and while it is convenient for me, it may not be for most. My company's HQ is about a 2min walk from the hotel entrance. However, let it be known that hotel is located in the garment district and the area basically becomes a ghost town after 7pm.
As far as the hotel goes, I have never had any issues while staying here and it is really reasonably priced. Some of my stays have been as short as one evening and as long as seven nights. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but c'mon you're in Japan, space is at a premium. The hotel is extremely clean, the staff is great and at least one person is always at the front desk that can speak English and the breakfast is pretty decent (salad, assorted breads, fruit, etc).
This location is easily accessible and is about a 5min or so taxi ride away from Tokyo Station and almost the same distance from T-CAT by taxi. You are also about a 7min walk away from Akihabara; which is always a good place to visit for you techies reading this.
Overall, I like this hotel and will continue to stay here and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to call base camp while in Tokyo.

Room Tip: The pillows are not the most comfortable, so be sure to ask for a second pillow, TRUST ME. Also, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is a typical comfort inn but:

1. Staff does not speak english almost at all (even the basic questions are hard to answer)
2. rooms are super tiny (even according to nyc standards!)

but the hotel is clean and the location is ok once you figure out how to use the JR rail

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

It is a good business hotel. Hotel serves breakfast which is OK for foreigners also. It is quite reasonably priced. Services are limited but sufficient for business stay. It is located close to Tokyo station (@ 10 min by Taxi). Very convenient to move around Tokyo city. Nearest JR subway station is Bakurocho. Rapid trains from Narita airport stop at Bakurocho, This makes it very convenient and economical.

Room Tip: No specific preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Nice hotel but the not a lot of places to eat neat by

Rooms are typical small as in Japan

Breakfast is Ok but the trays are something I have seen on TV used in prisons as they have partitions...very strange

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

this hotel has no thrills, but is perfect for the Tokyo tourist
we stayed here 3 nights
metro and JR station are just nearby so everything is reachable,
staff is really friendly,

rooms can be a bit small but ok for considering the price

good stay for people who want to visit Tokyo

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed in the 'comfort inn' for two nights at the end of my Japan trip. I think I might have been spoiled a bit in other places as I stayed in some beautiful hotels before I arrived here. I am very glad I only stayed for two nights I thought this was a poor hotel for the money (about £90 a night). I got off on the wrong foot with the staff the minute I arrived, first we arrived at 2:05pm only to be told that check in was 3pm and that we'd to come back. I was annoyed at this because their story changed quickly when I showed them my reservation booking which stated 2pm after which the computer suddenly let them check us in. The second issue surrounded the fact I had booked through a 3rd party (agodo) and I had made a mistake in booking in only one guest instead of 2 into the double room. To resolve this I was presented with two options - Pay £45 to amend the booking or phone Agodo directly to change the booking. I received no help to resolve the booking and I was told to use a pay phone down the street (and the agodo number is uk number). This was really annoying as the staff just ignored me after that and said it was my problem. I ended up paying the additional money and we were checked into a room on the 9th floor which looked onto a brick wall. It was horrible but I'd had enough stress so we just made sure we were busy during the day/night to ensure we were only in the room as long as we had too. Breakfast was also poor, really cheap ingredients, hot dog sausages and egg - it was poor for the price. Crossants were also poor and you could tell everything came out of a packet as nothing was fresh.

Also, final rant - despite raving about their pillows they were terrible so ask for additional pillows as one isn't enough.

Overal, I would not recommend staying here, it's fairly handy for the sights, you get free wifi which was good but there are much better hotels to stay in Tokyo. See my other reviews! Tokyo was amazing despite the best efforts of the comfort inn staff.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Comfort Hotel Tokyo Kanda
Comfort Hotel Tokyo Kanda
#40 of 65 in Chiyoda
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Nihonbashi Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Mystays Nihonbashi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Nihonbashi Saibo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Sotetsu Fresa  Inn Nihonbashi Ningyocho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Tokyo Higashi Nihonbashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Tokyo Higashi Nihonbashi

Address: 1-10-11 Bakurocho, Nihonbashi, Chuo 103-0002, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Tokyo Higashi Nihonbashi 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Hotel Tokyo Higashi Nihonbashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chuo
Comfort Hotel Tokyo Higashi Nihonbashi Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Tokyo Higashi Nihonbashi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.