We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dormy Inn Tokyo Hatchobori

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dormy Inn Tokyo Hatchobori to your Saves list
Dormy Inn Tokyo Hatchobori
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-20-4 Shinkawa, Chuo 104-0033, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Rayong, Rayong, Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel location is near Hatchobori staion (both JR and subway staion). It's just 5 minutes walk.

The room is quite small, very clean and comfortable. There is a small living area in the Japanese style.
Free-Wifi in room is quite slow.

There is the onsen on the 2nd floor.
All day coffee and tea service is on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    91
    28
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
25
33
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed here for 8 nights, travelling solo and for the first time in Tokyo, and Japan in general. I picked this hotel for the bang-for-buck that other hotels in the pricerange couldn't offer; Onsen (which was great!) and included breakfast (which was delicious), combined with a nice and quiet neighbourhood (for a big city, that is), and short walking distance to convenience stores, restaurants and metro (Hatchobori station, JR Line and Hibiya Line).

The staff was always welcoming and cheerful, and always did their best to help. The room, though small, was nice, tidy and well-lit, and the bed was reasonably comfortable. The shower and toilet was small and basic, but practical and clean. Onsen was terrific, and the shuttlebus to Tokyo station a great bonus when leaving for Narita airport by train. The breakfast buffet had a good selection of delicious breakfast items, both western and japanese. Even though I saw a few other tourists during breakfast and around the lobby, the hotel seemed to be more aimed towards locals for shorter stays, or business trips.

Room Tip: I got room 409, which was placed in the corner; Its got an extra window on the side for more light a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Dormy Inn in Hatchobori appears to be an older building. The interior in the upper floors (where the rooms are) is drab and echo-y. The rooms are outdated. The double room was surprisingly large, although I heard the singles were very small (which is typical). The bathroom was also typically tiny, but it was in good shape. The real problem was that the room hadn't been cleaned well for some time. It was very dusty in the corners. The western style beds were also very hard.

That said, this hotel has several redeeming factors that almost made me give it a 4. First, breakfast was quite good. There was a wide array of Japanese breakfast items as well as western style food, such as waffles. They also have a very nice onsen. This was my first onsen experience, and I was a little nervous about the whole situation. However, the locker room area was very clean, with some nice toiletries available for use. They also had laundry machines in the onsen area (I think the washers were free.) The shower area was clean. The larger indoor bath was too hot for me, but the bath area is attractive. I didn't try the smaller outdoor baths, but they looked nice. The best surprise was the free late night ramen snack. This was very welcome after a very long day of exploring. I'm not sure what I was expecting, but what I got were fresh cooked-to-order noodles and delicious pork. More of a meal than a snack!

The hotel isn't located in a particularly exciting neighborhood, but there is a train station and some restaurants nearby, as well as a grocery store within walking distance. Actually, the area is really nice for wandering around on foot, as it's very close to the Chuo Bridge and Sumida river.

I can't speak to the value as this stay was included as part of a tour package.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights travelling solo.

I had stayed at a Dormy Inn previously in Kurashki and had a good experience.

I chose the hotel,supported by favourable Trip Advisor reviews, because it is on the Keiyo line for
access to Disneyland and Tokyo station.

It is easy to find from Hatchobori station,A1 exit.

It is quite an old hotel with rooms arranged around a central void the height of the building with nets across the void at each level to prevent falls.

I booked through booking.com and paid nearly JPY 10,000 yen per night including breakfast.

The room was typical Japanese size is compact.I am used to firm Japanese beds but this was uncomfortably hard.

The air conditioning was quite noisy,turning on and off quite often.The window could be opened.

There was a stainless steel sink at one end of the room with the kettle adjacent.The bathroom was quite old with a shower (no bath) which had a folding door.There was a small basin inside the shower cubicle,an unusual arrangement.

There was a small table projecting from the wall opposite the bed and two small stools but no proper chair.

I found the ladies onsen
disappointing.The changing and washing area was nice.There was a large inside bath but the water was too hot for me.There were 2small outside rectangular baths,the size of typical Australian bathtubs.They were not so hot.I tried the onsen two nights.I do have some prior onsen experience but these made my skin very itchy.

The hotel is very popular with Japanese people.It would be very helpful to non Japanese guests to provide explanation of the room features in English.

The breakfast was typical Japanese fare, catering to their majority clientele.

The best point was the staff-at the front desk and the breakfast room.They helped me find places on the internet, searching Japanese sites.

Because the Dormy Inn was full for my last 2 nights I moved to the APA Hotel nearby.It is the same price and is new.






theKeiyo line

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The room is small. However, it's very cozy and made me very comfortable during the entire stay. Most recommended are the variety of their breakfast, the traditional Japanese food was very delicious, the warm and welcoming staff, hot spring bathing area and the late night free Ramen treat. The price was so reasonable. The location was so convenient. It's only 1 minute walk from the MRT Station. They also offer free shuttle buses from MRT Station. I will definitely stay here again in the future! By the way, I stayed there for 3 nights from Jan. 10~13. I only saw Japanese in the hotel. However, the hotel staff spoke English without any problem. Thanks for all the hotel staff who made my trip!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The Dormy Inn is a small Tokyo hotel primarily aimed at the Japanese market. The rooms are small (no drawers for clothes, small bathroom), the beds have hard and sometimes uncomfortable mattresses (my wife liked the bed). I hated the breakfast. The staff is friendly, but not very helpful, and their English is barely existent. But the baths are wonderful and worth the stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka-shi, Osaka, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Three and a half years stay in Osaka and visited Tokyo several times for business, this hotel is the best in my experience. Once we open the room, it's well decorated with modern style, wide spring bed for 2 of us (the space between us is quiet enough), comfortable toilet and bathroom, a set of towel and pajamas, free wifi, petite kitchen and refrigerator. The onsen and sauna was very nice although we didn't try it. They gave a free soba as i read from another travellers. The staff is very polite and helpful with good English. The shuttle bus driver help us to pick up and down our heavy luggage and drive carefully before stopping in front of the Yaesu central exit of Osaka station. They also provide microwave in the 2nd floor which is good to spend time for breakfast. The location is not so far from Hatchobori station, but for old people it's kind a bit far. We took 10 minutes from exit 2 (using elevator) maybe it's faster from exit 4. The only problem is there is an 7-8 y.o boy inside the woman onsen, maybe they came with their mother... but it turn me off of using the onsen. I don't understand about the rules, but i prefer surrrounded by women only in the onsen. Overall, I'm really recommend this hotel and would like to stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed in lower floors to save time as the elevator is quiet small and there is many guest stay in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dormy Inn Tokyo Hatchobori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Tokyo Hatchobori

Address: 2-20-4 Shinkawa, Chuo 104-0033, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Chuo
#16 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Tokyo Hatchobori 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Hotels.com, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Dormy Inn Tokyo Hatchobori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Tokyo Hatchobori Hotel Chuo
Dormy Hotel Tokyo Hacchobori
Dormy Hotel Chuo
Dormy Inn Tokyo Hatchobori Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dormy Inn Tokyo Hatchobori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.