We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location and does everything well.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-7-12 Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0005, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great view of the TOKYO
Ranked #11 of 59 hotels in Chiyoda
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very good location and does everything well.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel does the key things very well. The shower is great and the wifi is fast.

The room is as you'd expect for Tokyo - small. However, the bed is very comfortable and the air conditioning works well. Essential for Tokyo in the summer.

I only had breakfast but again very Japanese but still a selection of Western goodies.

Location is ideal if you have arrived via the train station as it's right next to it.

Good base to explore the city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    229
    40
    7
    3
See reviews for
73
112
66
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights after arriving on an flight from London. We arrived at the hotel at 6 am and were pleasantly surprised to be offered the use of a small meeting room to freshen up and change our clothes, before we started to explore for the day. As a family with two teenagers we had two rooms booked and when we checked in formally at 3pm, the hotel apologised that only one room was ready but assured us they had found us two adjacent rooms. This was a pleasant surprise as we knew at time of booking that we may have had to be on differenet floors. A few minutes later we were given the keys to the two rooms a twin and a double. The twin was superb - a corner room with panoramic views on two sides over Tokyo. The double was also good but on this occasion the teenagers had the better room - electric controls for their blinds, a bathroom with a view etc.

We ate breakfast (included in room rate) on two mornings. Both Japanese and Western styles were available. On our second morning a queue had formed by 8 am and we had to wait 20 minutes for a table - the restaurant wasn't full but the process of clearing tables seemed slow and this meant that a queue built up.

In terms of convenience you can walk straight from Tokyo station (Nishibashi gate exit) but be aware this is the 2nd largest railway station in Tokyo so it can take 15 minutes to walk across the station depending on which railway or subway line you want to take. Having said that we were not disturbed by noise of trains ( from our 30th floor rooms) and would definitely stay here again. the hotel staff were really helpful even setting up the free wifi on each of our smart phones for us so we could use them before we checked in offically. The wifi in the lobby is password protected and the system seems complex but the signal worked well both in the rooms and here the set-up was simple.

In summary a comfortable convenient hotel which we would stay at again.

Room Tip: Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The four of us (couple with two older teenage children) arrived here at 6 am after a flight from the UK. The hotel is located next to, the massive and sprawling, Tokyo train station. No problem finding it, but it was quite a hike - maybe 15 min - from the platform to the lobby. We had no expectation of being able to check in but the staff were very apologetic that we could not. Instead we were offered a room (a kind of conference meeting room) to use to freshen up and change. Much appreciated. We returned at 3 pm and our rooms were ready. We had adjacent rooms on the 30th floor - one Queen, and one twin. Both were excellent. The twin was a corner room with panoramic views over huge swathes on Tokyo to the North and East. It had everything that could be needed - comfy beds, a great wet room and a good amount of space. The view from the Queen room was a little less impressive and the bathroom was, perhaps, less well equipped. Even so, everything was very comfortable.

Staff were uniformly warm and accommodating, and the breakfast was a good selection of Japanese and Western styles. Overall, this is a great place to stay if you are exploring Tokyo. The proximity to the train station is a real plus, but it is also very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great panoramic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This small hotel is located between floors 27 and 34 of a new office tower, adjacent to (and connected with) the massive Tokyo central station. It is in Marunouchi, the nicest part of Tokyo, in my view, if you are not Japanese. Everything about the modern hotel is small, in a way that is typical of Tokyo hotels. Small rooms, small but extremely well-equipped bathrooms. Even the breakfast restaurant was very small. There is no space in the hotel for a fitness centre, but one floor has several business meeting rooms. The excellent wifi is free, and the view of Tokyo out of every window is superb. The staff did everything to assist me during my stay. The superb location and quiet, comfortable room means that I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Every room looks like it must be identical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is next to Tokyo station and is very convenient for anyone who needs to take the bullet train to other parts of Japan. Mind you, Tokyo Station is huge. I took the Narita Express to and from Tokyo Station. I timed the walk and it is a 15-minute walk between the Narita Express platform and the hotel.

The hotel is inside a commercial building and there is a convenience store, Starbucks and restaurants in the building. Tokyo Station also has lots of restaurants.

I stayed one night and then took the bullet train to other parts of Japan. I came back to Tokyo and stayed for another 2 nights. I booked a Queen Bedroom the first night. It was on the top floor and was very nice. There is a window in the bathroom overlooking the City. The other 2 nights was a Double Bedroom which is smaller than the Queen Bedroom. Price difference being US$100. For those who are concerned about room size, there's always the choice of spending a bit more for a bigger room.

For those who are just staying in Tokyo, there may be more activity around Shinjuku. For those who plan to travel to other parts of Japan by train, this is a good hotel choice near Tokyo Station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Small size rooms but plenty big for couples to stay comfortably. Wi-Fi is free, password specific by room! Staff very friendly and helpful. The lobby restaurant is upscale and expensive. But ... the hotel is in the Sapia Tower building, which also contains (on the second floor up the lobby escalator) a trifecta of convenience (1) a spacious, well stocked mini-mart for drinks and snacks open early and late; (2) a Starbucks also open pretty early; and (3) a pleasant, good value tasty Japanese restaurant named "Rinya". Also, there is an entry into the subway tunnels just past the escalator (exit B7). The convenience of these features makes this a great choice for a Tokyo stay even if you plan to spend your time in other districts. Would go back here again, enthusiastically!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for 2 nights. The proximity to the Tokyo train station is unbeatable. We were able to enjoy our last day in Japan having the hotel hold our luggage, picking it up and taking the train right to the airport.
The hotel itself is very modern, the rooms were small, but well organized. There was almost no space for both our suitcases, but had a nice sized desk, free wifi, and an excellent view of Tokyo (especially at night).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi

Address: 1-7-12 Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0005, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#10 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#11 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi, located in central Tokyo, is surrounded by many appealing area attractions including the leafy and historic Imperial Palace and the Ginza shopping district. Additionally, the hotel's location in Marunouchi continues to offer new style, and the historical Nihonbashi area is widely beloved by edokko-Tokyo natives.Both business and leisure guests can take advantage of the hotel's convenient location adjacent to the Tokyo Station, providing the best access to transportation throughout Tokyo and Japan for your business and leisure travels.With high quality service, high grade interior and the latest facilities, this Tokyo budget hotel provides comfort that is one notch above the competition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.