We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tokyo centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi to your Saves list
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-7-12 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Praha
1 review
“Tokyo centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Strategic location just at the city centre (Tokyo Station), offering transportation connection to literally any place in Japan, reasonable size of rooms, very clean, superb noise insulation, excellent services. You can experience very good food at hotel restaurant (breakfast served there), with beautiful view of central Tokyo (restaurant is located on 27th floor).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    286
    59
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
156
89
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi for one night stopping over on the way to Hakuba. After much deliberating I chose this hotel because of the location and I didn't regret that decision for a second!

We arrived late at night after flying for most of the day and the hotel staff were so friendly and welcoming.

Our room was a double room and it was petite but we had no problems fitting in our two moderate suitcases and they kindly kept out ski gear at the front desk. The room was spotless and our view was fantastic! Although the bathroom was small as well, the water was hot and the shower was excellent (something that can make or break a hotel room for me). The range of free amenities was fantastic - a great novelty.

Breakfast the following morning was good - a buffet with a range of western and Asian foods, great service again.

One of the best things about this hotel was the location, with an early morning trip to Nagano on the bullet train, it made it so much less stressful for us. There is an awesome cafe up the road that had the best Gyoza and Ramen but I was so shattered I didn't write down the name.

The only recommendation I have is to write down or memorise the Nihonbashi Exit, as it took us a little while to find the hotel initially, only because Tokyo Station is huge and has a number of exits. Japanese people are amazingly friendly however and we had a fantastic local go well out of her way to guide us through the station trying to help us find the right exit.

Some recommendations for travelling in Japan aside from the hotel -

If you are going to Hakuba, buy the JR East 4 day flexi pass, you can use it for travel to and from Narita as well as Nagano. Works out cheaper to buy it over there and making reservations is really easy - just go to the JR office at Narita Airport.

If you are planning to visit the Imperial Palace - plan ahead as you need to book an appointment to get in. We missed out as we didn't have enough time. There is phone number to call - concierge should be able to give it to you.

Learn some basic phrases in Japanese, hello, thank you, the bill please and it's delicious (you will use this a lot). Japanese people are so friendly and loved hearing you try to speak some Japanese. I used the English to Japanese Lite App and it was really useful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The location for this hotel is great and easily accessible. If you are underground, just look at the map for Yaesu North exit. Hotel staffs are friendly and helpful, our room is basic and small (which is typical of a hotel in Japan) but its clean and functional. It's easy to find food around so need no worry about it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I must say I was a little disappointed when I arrive. Basically I couldn't even find the entrance to the hotel which is tucked to a side in an office building without much signage. After getting to the lobby level on 27/F, it finally felt more like a hotel, with an atrium and reception etc. But again upon entering the room, I couldn't help but be shocked at how tiny it was....

Ok enough of the negatives, coz it was uphill from then on.

The room was indeed tiny, but it has everything you could possibly ask for. Extremely comfortable beddings (almost snatched the pillow, just couldn't stuff it into my small suitcase), excellent view of Tokyo Station and the tracks, tea/coffee maker, hair dryer... Everything very compact and smartly laid out. I just couldn't help but be amazed at the thoughtfulness of the design.

The breakfast was ok, though a bit pricey. But given the location right on top of the station, it was easy to grab a bite even as late as 11pm. I enjoyed a hearty bowl of noodles before retiring to my very welcoming bed upstairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went to Ibaraki for business trip and only stayed one night in this hotel before I fly back home. The interior design of the hotel is very modern with a grand lobby at 27th floor of the building next to Tokyo station. Thus, location wise is convenient as there are plenty of shops, restaurant and cafe in Tokyo station and there is direct train to/from Narita airport, all major train and shinkansen is also available at Tokyo station. Please note that Tokyo station is huge, thus ask for direction to the hotel.
The room is consider spacious in Tokyo and most of the room have a good Tokyo’s view as the rooms are all 27th floor and above. Room amenities are good and surprisingly with air moisturize machine, bed is also very comfortable.
I had breakfast in the hotel which charged 2,000Yen per person. It is a buffet style breakfast offering western and Japanese food. Personally think that is not worth the price as the choices are limited.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is hotel is about location and professionalism. Very clean place and good location. Covenient to move about even when the weather is not conducive outside. I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with room facing the train station. Good view and surprisingly very quiet; good s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I was in tokyo for a business trip..arrived close to midnight on 30 jan 2013..check in took less than 5 mins and the staff were friendly and helpful..location was great..near my office and attached to the tokyo station.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi

Address: 1-7-12 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#9 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#11 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi, located in central Tokyo, is surrounded by many appealing area attractions including the leafy and historic Imperial Palace and the Ginza shopping district. Additionally, the hotel's location in Marunouchi continues to offer new style, and the historical Nihonbashi area is widely beloved by edokko-Tokyo natives.Both business and leisure guests can take advantage of the hotel's convenient location adjacent to the Tokyo Station, providing the best access to transportation throughout Tokyo and Japan for your business and leisure travels.With high quality service, high grade interior and the latest facilities, this Tokyo budget hotel provides comfort that is one notch above the competition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Priceline and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.