We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi to your Saves list
Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-7-12 Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0005, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location, excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I've stayed here several nights per year on businessfor the last several years and have never had anything less than a perfect experience. The location immediately adjoining Tokyo Station is about as central as you can get in Tokyo and you can be on a train to anywhere in Japan in about five minutes after leaving your room. The airport connection via Narita Express gets you to the hotel in under an hour without any outdoors walking or taxi.

Room Tip: "Quietude" rooms are in fact very quiet and a good price, just no view. The corner rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    250
    46
    8
    3
See reviews for
80
128
81
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

As most everyone has already said, the location of this hotel is fantastic! So long as you leave the Tokyo station from the correct exit, you are steps from the hotel. For anyone who has never been to Japan before, being close to the station means being close to everything! The station not only has trains that can take you anywhere, but the station itself is full of restaurants, shops, bakeries, etc. On our first night, we accidentally left from a different exit, and had to walk outside for a few blocks with our luggage, but even that walk was short. This hotel is above a conference center with the lobby on the 27th floor. During our visit to Japan, we actually stayed at this hotel twice. We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and 2 nights at the end of the trip. It was a delightful surprise for our first Japanese hotel, and a refreshing comfort knowing what to expect at the end of our trip after some questionable hotel experiences in other cities. We booked the cheapest room available with a double bed. The room itself is very small. I would liken it to a cruise cabin. There was the bed, a small desk with a chair, and nothing else. We had room for our bags, but little extra room. The bathroom itself was also small, but perfectly adequate. Both the room and bathroom were immaculate. Do not let the size of the room and bathroom deter you from this hotel. After spending 12 days in Japan in 5 different hotels and 4 different cities, nearly all of our hotel rooms and bathrooms were the exact same size. The staff was friendly and spoke very good English. They stored our bags for us both before and after our stay. When we arrived before check-in, they had our bags delivered to our room by the time we returned. One of the best parts about this hotel by far, however, is the view! We stayed on the 32nd floor both times. First in room 3216, and then in room 3218. Both rooms had spectacular views of the city! I highly recommend this hotel for singles or couples! Families would have to look into a larger room at least. It was a little pricey at around $250/night, but we stayed at this hotel during high season at the peak of the cherry blossom activities, so we knew to expect more expense prices.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed for 7 nights at this hotel.My family and I like this hotel very much about quite wide space room , very clean , safety and very comfortable that the hotel is right next to the tokyo station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

An excellent location and very comfortable. But when arriving, note that the hotel lobby is on the 27th floor (or thereabouts) and the signs are fairly small. Don't look for a building that looks like a hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights for a quick trip to Japan for snowboarding and to see a UFC event at Saitiama Super Arena. The hotel is right next to the Tokyo train station I arrived at night after catching a bullet train from Nagano the hotel website had a great map of the Tokyo station to help lead you straight from platform to the hotel. Check in was very quick and the hotel itself was very modern, rooms were not huge as is expected in Japan but I had an excellent view of the city and very comfortable bed. Restaurant had an excellent buffet western and Japanese breakfast. After arriving from my snowboarding it was great being able to get an in room massage virtually straight away at 11pm. Location was great to catch the train to the arena for the UFC event and the Narita express to the airport on my departure day

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My son and I liked this hotel very much. It was easy to get around being next to Tokyo station. Ginza and Imperial Palace are walking distance. The staff are very efficient, always ready to help and gave directions to places we wanted to go. Made effort to find out the addresses of particular shops, etc. We got a room way before check in time and that helped tremendously. The room is very clean and big enough for 2 people without it seem overcrowding. I would definitely come back to this hotel...we stayed in this hotel for 4 nights.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Modern hotel. Stayed here on a business trip. Great location beside Tokyo train station and within walking distance (reasonable fitness level) of Ginza and the Imperial palace. The room was fine - I had a double (2 twin beds) - not massive of course, but not ridiculously small either. Very clean bathroom and well stocked with toiletries. The restaurant on 27 th floor was ok - breakfast had a wide choice in buffet from cooked breakfast, pastries, fruit, cereals etc. had dinner there one night and the quality was very good. Restaurant prices were expensive but that seems to be the way for Tokyo.
Not much to complain about.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi

Address: 1-7-12 Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0005, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#9 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#10 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi, located in central Tokyo, is surrounded by many appealing area attractions including the leafy and historic Imperial Palace and the Ginza shopping district. Additionally, the hotel's location in Marunouchi continues to offer new style, and the historical Nihonbashi area is widely beloved by edokko-Tokyo natives.Both business and leisure guests can take advantage of the hotel's convenient location adjacent to the Tokyo Station, providing the best access to transportation throughout Tokyo and Japan for your business and leisure travels.With high quality service, high grade interior and the latest facilities, this Tokyo budget hotel provides comfort that is one notch above the competition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.