We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for a 1-person stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterey Hanzomon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monterey Hanzomon to your Saves list
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23-1 Ichibancho, Chiyoda 102-0082, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
4.0 of 5 stars 592 Reviews
Sputnik62ms
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great room for a 1-person stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was in Tokyo for a quick business trip - just a 2-night stay - and was recommended to stay at the Monterey as it was very close to where I needed to be for a meeting. The hotel is, as you'd expect for Japan, spotlessly clean. Everything worked perfectly (although the wi-fi was undergoing an upgrade when I was there and was a little patchy). Nothing is very big (again, typical of a Tokyo hotel) but if it's just you, it's a great place to stay.

In particular, loved the bathroom - overstuffed with amenities for the business traveller (and the heated toilet seat was a real plus!) Good, powerful shower.

Bed was super comfy - and I was provided with a pair of pyjamas, which were neatly folded on my bed every day.

Handy vending machines in the hotel for soft drinks or even beer! Didn't try the breakfast, I'm afraid.

There are numerous good places to eat (Japanese) within close walking distance (like 1 minute) of the hotel, which is another plus.

Overall, great experience. Highly recommended. Just be aware of the room size. Not a place to stay with the family!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    354
    74
    13
    11
See reviews for
89
106
141
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights and the location is really good. It's right across the road from the Hanzomon subway station (with lift access for prams/wheelchair = no stairs). Close also to the Imperial Palace.

Upon arrival staff from inside the Hotel came straight out and packed our bags onto a trolley for easy transfer. Much appreciated. We were met inside by a very obliging male receptionist who spoke english quite well. He was very helpful and welcoming.

As we were a family of six we had 2 rooms - each with 3 single beds which was the exact width of the rooms. No room for anything else at all and it was quite cramped which I know would be illegal at home in Australia. The bathroom was small but very clean and modern. I am over 6ft tall and had no problems with the ceiling height as others had written here.

There were no views from either of the rooms which had different aspects.

Also the hallway smelled badly of stale smoke/cigars but strangely the rooms didn't???

The breakfast was ok with children under 7yo eating free with paying adults. The price for the others was overpriced though (JYEN 1900 Adults JYEN 950 Child). It was a Japanese/Western breakfast but nothing at all to rave about.

A much better choice is to go to the Hotel Grand Arc and dine in the Patio Restaurant on the ground floor. It has a terrific western style breakfast and is well priced. It is about 3 blocks from the Hotel Monterey Hanzomon and you can walk there casually in about 10 minutes.Great service too from english speaking staff. (easy to find - turn left after walking out of the hotel and head up the hill to the main crossroad {about 300 metres}. Cross this road and then turn left into the next street and walk about 100metres to the Grand Arc).

The area is very quiet and there seems to be alot of local people living in the vicinity. There are also heaps of dining places in the vicinity but be careful of overpriced establishments such as the bar next door (up the hill) which charged the equivelent of AUD$50 for two beers and three cokes.

Up the road is a Familymart but better still (and slightly closer) is a small supermarket (down the hill and turn left). It has twice the selection of goods.

BTW, if you run out of cash all you can do is go to a Citibank ATM and the nearest is at Akasaka-mitsuke which is the next station on the Hanzomon line. Be aware that as at todays date I could not get any other ATM to even acknowledge my card including the Post Office, Seven Elevens, Family Mart or local Banks. Only Citibank ATM's. You must have cash to buy subway tickets.

We liked our stay here but next time we will try to find something a bit larger due to our family size.

However, if you are single or a couple it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

-I got a smoking hot deal here! ($300 all in for 4 nights/2 adults/twin)
-The hotel is not in an ideal location but thanks to the Hanzomon line it is workable. Just expect to spend more time in transit than you would If you stayed near one of the major stations.
-The hotel is very clean and the staff were polite, helpful, and spoke English well.
- The rooms were average sized for a moderate Tokyo hotel (i.e small) but in true Japanese fashion they were well designed and lacked no comforts.
- There is a vending machine-restaurant and a pharmacy next door and a supermarket 1 block away.
- The Imperial Palace is within walking distance.
- TIP: Catch the Keisei SkyAccess Line (non-Express) to Oshiage and transfer to the Hanzomon line for the Hotel. It takes just about the same amount of time as the express trains but is 1/3 the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Nice hotel in a quite area and only a few steps from Hanzomon subway station exit 10. Is just across the street. Value for money hotel. We (one adult and two children) paid only approx. 730 US$ for 7 days. There is a small supermarket only 1 min. away. I would consider this hotel if and when I go next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The location is good if you want some city sightseeing. It is quite close to the metro station so you won't worry to find it, although one change is needed from train station by metro.
Very nice breakfast, mixed by Japanese and American food.
There are convenient shops (24 hr) and bars nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My daughter and I were in Tokyo Aug. 2-7 and enjoyed our stay at the Monterey Hanzomon. As many had already mentioned, this hotel is conveniently located right across a Tokyo Metro subway stop - Hanzomon ('Z' line, colour-coded purple), stop no. 'Z05'. Our room was clean, comfortable, and more spacious than I expected - given Tokyo standards. Although front desk staff had limited English, they were very helpful nonetheless. There are no major attractions or shopping in the immediate area, but there are several restaurants, cafes, and convenience stores on the street. Be advised, though, that this hotel does not offer currency exchange services, so make sure to get some yen at the airport if you arrive on the weekend. All in all, a wonderful stay for us.

Room Tip: Given the location in a relatively quiet area, don't expect a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I went to this hotel with my wife in December 2011.

The rooms are modern and clean and at a very good price (I paid 80 euros) for Tokyo. Service is excellent and the staff was very professional. The rooms were quiet which is really a luxury in this city.

As for the location it's in front of the Hanzomon subway station so very convenient. The surrounding though are not very interesting.

The only bad side was that the view from the room was poor, there was a building hiding everything but at this price you can't really ask for more.

I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monterey Hanzomon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Hanzomon

Address: 23-1 Ichibancho, Chiyoda 102-0082, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Hanzomon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monterey Hanzomon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hanzomon Chiyoda
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterey Hanzomon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.