We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding rooms, service, and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Tokyo to your Saves list
The Peninsula Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Outstanding rooms, service, and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Peninsula Tokyo is a true five star hotel with excellent service and facilities. We loved our room and the location and will definitely stay here again next time we are in Tokyo.

Check-in was efficient, and the concierge stopped by during the process to provide information on our reservations and offer additional assistance. (Prior to the trip, the hotel was very helpful answering questions, making reservations at restaurants, etc. and always replied promptly to my emails.)

The rooms here are outstanding, even the most basic ones, and are quite large, especially by Tokyo standards. The beds were comfortable, and we never heard noise from the hallway or from other rooms, even though the hotel was fully booked. Our only complaint was that the coffee/tea-making equipment didn't work properly and we couldn't get water hot enough to make a decent cup of sencha.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and, while good, was nothing special. We had a drink in the bar on the top floor on evening. The view is impressive and it's a fun place to spend some time, but we found our cocktails underwhelming, particularly when compared to places like Gen Yamamoto and many places we frequent in the US.

The location of the hotel is excellent; it is in Ginza, walking distance to many high-end shops and restaurants as well as the park housing the Imperial Palace. (I recommend you try some of the high end patisseries in the area such as Sadaharu Aoki-divine!) In addition, the hotel is connected via underground tunnel to the Hibiya subway station and is a 15 minute walk from Tokyo Station, where you can catch a train to the airport or a Shinkasen to other cities in Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    246
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
242
411
80
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I love this hotel, literally everything is impeccable from the moment we arrived to checkout, perfection. We are big Starwood fans, yet, we love this Peninsula whenever we are in Tokyo.

The rooms are designed with an impeccable zen decor with extra thoughtful touches everywhere and great technology features such as the Japanese toilette which we love and have in our house. The size of the room is ginormous, especially for Tokyo. We do love the palace view room, it is nice to wake up and see a patch of serene green in the middle of Ginza.

The staff is beyond exceptional they truly go above and beyond to make sure all your needs are met. I'm beginning to think that they are psychic. You never have to ask twice because they remember everything!

Locations is great, right in the middle of Ginza with direct subway access.

The lobby is modern and tastefully dramatic, it is a pleasure to have the well curated breakfast under the statement chandelier every morning.

This is a special hotel and my favorite urban hotel in Asia!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here 9 nights on our first trip to Tokyo, and could not have been happier. Check-in was fast and friendly, door-staff greeted by name on our arrival, the room was immaculate and seemed enormous, partly because of the high ceilings, and partly because it had a massive walk-in closet that was a room unto itself. The bathroom was full of gadgets, and everything was electronically controlled, including black-out shades, which came in handy for jet-lagged travelers in need of sleep. There are also plenty of outlets everywhere which I always appreciate. The whole hotel makes a very elegant, opulent but not-even-remotely-stuffy impression.

But the main reason, I think, to stay here is the location: it was perfect for us. I was traveling with my mom and we had never been to Japan before, and from what I had heard from friends who had been to Tokyo I was a little bit worried it would be a bit much for her. It wasn't. The huge shopping area Ginza is right outside the door, and while there's everything there you might conceivably want, and definitely every conceivable designer, it's not as overwhelmingly bright and busy as, say, Shibuya. When we went out on our first day, it didn't feel crazy and it was nice to come back to that area in the evening after the really tourist-y spots in the city.

Transportation is easy, too. Hibiya subway station is right under the hotel (the Tokyo subway system is very efficient and simple to figure out) and Tokyo Station with its bullet trains and shopping is a ten minute walk away. Also, our favorite part, the huge Imperial Gardens are right across the street, so if the city gets to be too tiring you can always escape into the green.

Overall a really great experience. We're staying at the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo right now, and it's good, too, but there was something special and effortless about The Peninsula. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed in a suite at this hotel, and from the word go the service was impeccable. Huge room(s), great views, top restaurants inside hotel. The general manager stood in the foyer/restaurant area, at 8.00 in the morning, impeccably dressed, overseeing the scene, and unreservedly polite to all. I'm sure if I had asked he would have served me breakfast! We got a free tour of the city in the hotel's Mini Cooper. The hotel is in a good area, near The Ginza, it is handy to the train and the Imperial Palace. Not cheap, but worth it

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Very good hotel. Rooms are quiet and the place is located close to many fish restaurants of Ginza area. I visited all restaurants in the hotel since my wife was on a business trip and I had a lot of free time and all of them are good. However, you of course do not need to use any of them as a great variety of good food is available in 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The bar on the top floor is also an establishment. Make sure you order champagne by bottle though - much cheaper than by glass!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife & I visited Tokyo, Japan for the first time last Dec. 2013 and decided to stay at this hotel. Since it was our first time, we requested for a good view. Mr. Nakamura was the one who helped us & offer us an upgrade with a minimal price. It turned out to be one of the suites overlooking the Imperial Palace which really impressed us.
The location is great since it sits on top of the subway station, walking distance to Ginza, Imperial Palace, Tokyo train station etc.
The service was fantastic! Every time we have a question, it seemed like the whole team in the lobby will help you or try to research the answer for you. And I am not talking about just the concierge, but it can be the person at the lobby door. In fact when we left, it looked like the whole staff at the lobby were there to help us & they all said good bye to us including Mr. Nakamura (one of the managers).
The facilities were excellent & more modern that American standards. I dont have any negative to say about this hotel. We are planning to go back to Japan this year and is considering going back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Imperial Palace has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Luxury hotel in top location very close to the Imperial Palace and gardens, 100m away from Yamamoto line. The rooms and service are 5 stars and the service is excellent. I didn`t try the restaurants because nearby are so many choices. The concierge service is top too, they recemended a 5 star kobe meat restaurant which already knew about us when we arrived and treat us very well!!
I stayed there 2 times and is my favorite hotel in Tokyo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.