We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like any other 5 start hotel in tokyo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Tokyo

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Peninsula Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0006, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room Upgrade and Amenity
Ranked #6 of 59 hotels in Chiyoda
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“like any other 5 start hotel in tokyo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I dont have a lot to complain. the facilities inside was the second best I found in tokyo probably after Shang Ri la in tokyo. The only thing i didnt like about this place was that there is no lounge bar I can have a meeting in the morning (i.e., lounge is small).

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    548
    172
    50
    8
    10
See reviews for
168
298
68
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed for 1 night at the end of my Tokyo trip in a Deluxe room. Staff were polite and welcoming but a little surprised that they did not call me by my correct title when they checked me in. Was taken up to my room by a lovely gentlemen who carefully explained all the many techno gizmos in the room.

Room was well furnished, a lovely large space, comfy sofa, big flat screen TV, separate dressing room, and lavish bathroom with separate shower and small TV (albeit a tad disappointing that I could only find Japanese channels)

But it was the little extras which really made the room, more bits than any room I have ever stayed in, a traditional tea pot, headed note paper and colorful postcards, lovely bath products, an extensive amenities kit, a laundry/newspaper chute, even a peninsula cocktail stirrer!

Pool and Jacuzzi was a real highlight for me especially as the room has a great view.

Got a deal that included breakfast - chose Japanese breakfast which was delicious and beautifully presented.

Top tip - no need to pay high end mini bar prices. Just across the road is a 7-11 which is well stocked with all the snacks and beverages (including wine and beer) that a person could wish for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Short break without the kids...

Pros:
- Fantastic service
- Fantastic room
- Fantastic location (if you want to be in Ginza... Great connection to various lines)
- Next to the Imperial Park (nice for a run... and upon my return, the hotel had a towel and bottle of water waiting for me at the enterance)
- Lots of good Japanese food nearby... The small restaurants by the train tracks offer a good glimpse of local lifestyle

Cons:
- The Peter bar was a tad disappointing... If only they had an outdoor area

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I took a short trip to Tokyo for his 32nd birthday last May. Knowing we would not have too much time to see and do (and eat!) as much as possible, I trusted the Peninsula to point us in the right direction and provide a comfortable resting spot in between adventures.

The Peninsula did not disappoint. They were able to get us a last minute table at Narisawa and also booked us into an exclusive sushi joint where we were the only westerners in the restaurant-- definitely the best sushi we ever had. They also gave us a ride to my husband's dinner in the house Rolls Royce.

Our room was lovely and quiet and a nice escape from the chaos of Tokyo and the bathroom had all the bells and whistles you expect from a 5* resort in Asia. The service was superb from the front desk who were always happy to help retrieve jewelry from the safe to the spa attendants who were always ready with water to the concierge who always knew the best way to get us around the city. I should mention that one valet in the garage went out of his way to help us find the subway station when he realized we had made a wrong turn.

Finally, for those of you planning a visit-- do not miss the small but excellent thalassotherapy pool in the spa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay for our first visit to Tokyo. Central location, right above a subway stop, beautiful, new, great service, and great views. One weird thing about the hotel is its entry lobby; we couldn't find the reception desk upon entering the hotel for the first time. The main focus of the lobby is the lobby restaurant (which is packed for afternoon tea), and this huge odd sculpture. For such a nice hotel, staff wore polo knit shirts, which (not that it impacted our stay at all!) seemed a little casual. Service was great. Rooms were beautiful, plush, and modern with high tech features and controls. We went to the Peter bar upstairs twice, and the views were beautiful (though, in my opinion, not quite as beautiful as those from the Mandarin's bar and top floors!). We could certainly highly recommend this as an amazing stay, but when we visited the Mandarin for dinner and drinks, we had a bit of hotel envy. As westerners who wanted what we imagined to be a Tokyo feel, the Mandarin seemed to fit the vibe a bit more... As you would expect with a Peninsula, the hotel has a bit more of a business vibe.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Understated, elegant design but, as with all truly exceptional hotels, it is the team that makes the difference. Helpful, genuinely friendly and all consummate professionals. And with a great sense of humor to boot! Lovely big bathroom and dressing room, rooms comfy and roomy. Perfect location. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I love this hotel. Maybe one of the best ones I have ever stayed at in my life. Service is consistently incredible - I have been here several times for business. Everyone is friendly and helpful, which is so valuable when you are staying in a foreign country. The rooms are amazing. Huge, and with a walk-in closet I wish I had at home. You also have an in-room coffee/tea maker that works great, and a sitting area in front of the TV. The bed is super comfy. I also liked the automated panels for everything: lights, curtains, temperature, etc. The bathroom is really great (which sounds weird, but you will appreciate when you get there). Also, great location in Ginza and excellent concierge service. Rooms with Imperial Palace views are great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan
Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0006, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.