We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel great location !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Tokyo to your Saves list
The Peninsula Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel great location !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The only downside of this hotel is the price I must say.Paid ¥30,000 per night and that's already at a discounted rate.But the location is within walking distance to the stores of Ginza,food clothes beauty products electronics you name it.The rooms are spacious with its own walk in wardrobe and its bathroom is equipped with shower,bath tub,two sinks and a cubicle for toilet.Perfect !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    269
    72
    18
    15
See reviews for
274
443
83
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

stayed in an excellent deluxe room with fantastic views, location is ideal for tourists. Skybar was good. we did not test the signature restaurant Peter but atmosphere seemed quite "techy". A little disappointed in the small gym, pool overall still okay. Spa did not have availability (but it was a Sunday). breakfast quality also fine but ridiculously few seats resulting in a wait irrespective of time of day. for this room price, you are surprised to be asked to wait for 10-15mins. during weekdays, breakfast is only served in the lobby which is poor. breakfast also got charged to our room despite our room rate including breakfast. concierge service was mixed (two different staff one excellent one not). overall enjoyable and good option but none off the feel cool factor like the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo or similar.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I were choosing among the Peninsula, Park Hyatt and Ritz-Carlton at Roppongi, and my Japanese colleagues said we should go with the Peninsula based off its location. I'm so glad we did; it's SO convenient to everything, from the subway station nextdoor, to Ginza shopping a short walk down the street, to the Imperial Palace Gardens just across the way. The rooms are ENORMOUS - especially in a city like Tokyo, where I've stayed in rooms (at decent hotels) comparable to closets - and come with every luxury amenity available. Service was incredibly helpful, from arranging our airport shuttle bus to letting me check out at 9pm and even shower at the spa before departing on my redeye flight. My only complaint is that the Peninsula seems to have spoiled me for all subsequent hotel stays.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Peninsula Tokyo is top notch.

Service, location, cleanliness of the rooms. All are terrific.

We had adjoining suites and the rooms were spacious comfortable and clean.

The pool was beautiful, the staff was helpful and helped us secure a tour guide, and the view from our room was great.

Cant say enough about the location as well. Close to shopping, overlooking historical sites and parks. Just superb.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Exceptional and superb rooms make this a memorable hotel. The rooms are huge, my standard room consisted of an entrance lobby, a walk in dressing room, a bathroom with shower, bath and two sinks, and a massive bedroom split into seating area and bed and equipped with a king size bed (made to look like a single bed by the scale of the room), and three seat sofa in front of the 50in TV and hifi system. Just about every cupboard has a surprise, from a printer and scanner, to a top notch coffee machine. I was lucky enough to have a room on a high floor with a dawn view of the Imperial Palace. Very nice. Being Japan technology has pride of place, and this includes the electric toilet, which frightened the life out of me in the middle of the night by automatically raising the toilet seat as I walked towards it. I thought place was haunted. The lobby was a disappointment; arriving on foot though the hotel rear entrance I couldn't find the reception. The lobby also doubles as a coffee shop, and the source of the second disappointment, the evening meal. My crab sandwich was bland and unexceptional, and accompanied by a plateful of over cooked, nearly cold and greasy chips. A good thing I don't eat chips. Sleep in and eat out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Peninsula in Tokyo for 6 nights in May 2013.

Service- The service is perfect and everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel. One of the best concierges I have ever encountered anywhere is Misako who totally understood us and gave us absolutely perfect suggestions on what to do and where to eat.

Public Areas- We were not at all impressed with the lobby, which like so many of the other reviewers, we found oddly shaped and awkward. There is no grand entrance and you do not feel like you are walking into a beautiful hotel like what the Peninsula should be. The pool area is also in need of an update although the service there was perfect and it has beautiful views.

Room- The size of the deluxe room is huge and has ample space in the living area, bathroom and dressing room- it looks exactly like the website. The automatic gadgets are convenient and touches like the mailbox for newspapers, dry cleaning, notes are well thought out. However, the furnishings of the room, meaning the actual chairs and tables, were kind of basic.

Food- We had drinks at the Peter bar one night and the expense was worth the fun atmosphere and amazing views. We had breakfast in the lobby restaurant because it was included in our room rate, but I would not otherwise spend the money to eat there since I would rate the food only slightly better than decent. We ordered an extra latte one morning and we were charged $14 plus the service charges, which is a bit insane. If you care about restaurant atmosphere, do not have lunch or dinner at the lobby restaurant because if you are going to pay that much, there are plenty of other amazing restaurants to go to- i.e. we went to Argent Aso and Yamato Tapanyaki which were both close and superb.

Location- was perfect. I do not think that there is any one hotel that will be close to everything you will end up doing in Tokyo, but the Peninsula is well situated for walking to places like Ginza shopping and restaurants and the metro and trains are very easily accessible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel must have the best location in Tokyo, within easy walking distance of Ginza and Tokyo station. Rooms are great (space, quality). Pool nothing to write home about. After one bad experience with one receptionist, all other staff we fantastic and the manager went out of his way to correct the mistakes of aforementioned receptionist. The sign of a great customer service mindset. Concierge brilliant with advice and support. Only niggle is that the hotel insists it knows what you want for breakfast more than you do! Most hotels worldwide, including 5 and 6 stars I stay in for work, have acknowledged breakfast buffet is the way to go. Peninsula gives you the limited choice of 6 sets. Overall great stay, very good value for Tokyo. Firmly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
#4 of 65 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 76 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 1,817 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 99 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 65 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Otel, Splendia, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.