We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Tokyo to your Saves list
The Peninsula Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Room Upgrade
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Amazing Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Peninsula Hotel in Tokyo is amazing. When you first walk in there is a huge chandelier that is very welcoming. There is not really a lobby and there is not much sitting area either because the lobby is a more like a restaurant. Dispite the lobby almost everything else is perfect.
We had purchased the deluxe room witch is the second lowest class and it was sooooooo amazing. The hotel had thought of every little detail to the room. The closet was more like another room because it had a desk in it where you can do your makeup. But what i found the most interesting was the bathroom toilet. I had counted 35 boutons on the wall in the little room with the toilet and majority of them were for the toilet.
For the first two days for breakfast we went to the chinese restaurant because for the weekend there was a buffet going on in there. The waiters were still very friendly but the buffet did not have that much of a choice and the service was not quite there.
The breakfast in the lobby, well at least in my opinion, was a lot better.
There is a connection to the underground subway witch is very usefull. The exit is A6.
Overall this was an amazing experience at this hotel and I would recommend it for couples and families with children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    267
    69
    18
    15
See reviews for
265
436
82
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for four nights as part of a longer holiday. The service was exceptional from start to finish, really made to feel genuinely welcome. The rooms feel very new and modern, and the phrase "thought of everything" could have been invented for this hotel - the rooms have a button for absolutely everything but still look elegant, refined and luxurious. Nice views of the Imperial Palace gardens too. Special mention for the concierge who came up with with last minute but fantastic dinner reservations at Kawamura (Kobe beef Teppanyaki) and Tempura Masa, both of which I would recommend highly. The hotel sits above a well connected subway station and another in the high-end shopping district of Ginza is 5mins walk which makes getting about easier. Also dined at the hotel's Chinese restaurant which is beautifully decorated although it was fairly empty so a little lacking in atmosphere though I couldn't fault the food. Didn't try the lobby bar/bistro as it seemed a little bustling as others have mentioned but the bar on the top floor is calmer. I was grateful for a very early check-in being made possible after a long flight although the hotel wasn't able to grant a late check-out as they were busy - but the spa was a very luxurious place to hang out for a couple of hours with a good pool and spotless (albeit small) changing facilities. Overall one of the finest city hotels I've stayed in - right up there with my favourite, the Oriental in Bangkok - and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Park view. Large dressing areas were a good touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at the Peninsula as our first stop in a 40-day round the world trip. The Peninsula Hotel is top notch. The attention to detail in all activities (welcome, housekeeping, health/spa, concierge) are all exceptional. This hotel features an amazing 6th floor pool that overlooks the Imperial Palace grounds. The rooms are very comfortable and the views are nice. Breakfasts can be pricey. We only stayed for 3 nights, but could have stayed a month. A great start to our trip! Photos and more are available from our travel site review: http://roundtheworldtravelers.com/?p=1094

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. Excellent service, beautiful rooms (actually the entire hotel is beautiful), and the location is also fantastic. Easy to walk around for hours in the area. We were able to get around all of Tokyo very easily from the hotel, as it has its own entrance to a metro station. Its close to the fish market, too! So, if you're willing to brave the 4am wakeup to go see the auction, at least you wont have to travel too far to get there! I'm a big fan of the Peninsula chain in general, but the Tokyo branch takes the cake. Worth mentioning that the rooms don't have the best views of the city, but also not the worst. When we booked, we had breakfast included in our rate, and it was a pretty good breakfast with quite a few options (including Japanese breakfast). I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Tokyo. This hotel epitomises luxury!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fantastic service and large rooms at this hotel near Tokyo station. It's a bit of a walk to Tokyo station if you have luggage so take a cab, if you do, but the hotel is also connected to the train station.

The rooms don't have great views (I checked out other family member's rooms), but they are not bad either. The ones we stayed in looked out to the city so we were looking at a bunch of fancy office buildings. The standard rooms are large. It has a sitting area with own coffee machine and very comfortable beds. The bathroom is large and also has large closet which comes in handy for a longer stay.

Service is fantastic, the staff's English is great.

The coffee at the lobby was something like $15 at the foreign exchange rate back then, which I thought was ridiculous, but it is Japan after all.

We had Chinese food at the restaurant which was quite average for the price. Might as well try the restaurants outside as you will be close to many great restaurants in the Yurakucho area.

Would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Peninsula in Tokyo is a spectacular hotel in a great location. It is within easy walking distance of the Ginza, Hibiya Park, the Imperial Palace and the Tsukiji Fish Market and within 2-3 min of various subway stops. I can highly recommend this hotel for a short or long stay in Tokyo.

The rooms are terrific. We had a standard room and still it was incredibly luxurious with a lovely seating area with large flat screen tv, a king size bed with high-end linens and a well designed bathroom with bath and shower and a separate toilet area. You really could not ask for more in terms of the room. I can only imagine and dream of what the rooms with a great view over the park would be like!
Similarly the staff were helpful and friendly and welcoming. My only issue concerns the breakfast. Of course like many top hotels in Tokyo breakfast is rather expensive but as they do not have a buffet option you can only order from menu. The quality was excellent but the portions were modest and so at the price I would say it did not meet my expectations. So I would say 5* for the hotel but 4* for the breakfast, mostly due to the portions.

We did enjoy a drink on the top floor bar/restaurant and the view was spectacular. Be warned that smoking is permitted so for those now unaccustomed to smoke when indoors that is certainly not so appealing. We went early enough that it was not crowded and so it was not a big hassle but I would not want to go there at peak hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

As you can see from my previous posts, on major factor for a hotel choise is convenience. You cant beat a five star hotel on top of a major subway system. Thats what you get at the peninsula tokyo. From the moment you are greeted at the propertys welcome area, this hotel just preaches luxury and superior hospitality. In addtition to the wonderful views of the imperial palace, the proximity to ginza is quite attractive. It is an easy venture to walk to any of a number of areas in this region of tokyo, but seeing ginza at night with the outstanding light show, one must experience. The pool and spa rank among the niciest i have ever experienced anywhere in the world. The breakfast is a wonderful, and was included with the american express package. The people of japan were some of the most gracious and curteous individuals in the world. I would only recommend avoiding united airlines in any travel arrangements as i lost two days in tokyo due to mechanical issues, and on my return had no seat power or operating video screens in business elite......

Room Tip: suite overlooking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
#3 of 65 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 853 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 76 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 1,753 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 98 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 65 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Rakuten, Agoda, getaroom.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.