We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont go there” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Tokyo to your Saves list
The Peninsula Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 995 Reviews
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Dont go there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Dont go there even from far

People are rude
Uneficient
And ask u money for anything free in another place
They speak aérage English
And dont understand at all
Am use to stay in peninsula LA and hkg
Ils nothing compare

They just have a glamour name
And they killing this name every day

Just dont go

Japan is thé best city in thé world
Service is gréât even at market or cheap restaurant

At peninsula
They just dont care about customer and service

Money only it doesnt Work any more like this


Peninsula, do something before closing!!!!!

Room Tip: Good room only in pictures I payd for Thé best package And my room vue facing an office building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    219
    57
    15
    12
See reviews for
216
367
76
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have run out of nice things to say about this wonderful hotel. But it struck me walking through the front door last week that maybe the best thing about it is the bell hops, who are amazingly cute and helpful in equal parts.

If we could just get off the Japanese thermos coffee with cold milk at breakfast . . .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

There is a reason I have been really looking forward to going back to Tokyo for my 2nd visit, and that reason is the Peninsula Hotel. All I can say is that this hotel gets it all right, no exceptions.

The suite is fantastic, large and very clean. The bedroom has a humidity control, so nice to have, and the only time I have ever seen that feature in a hotel. The bathroom is like a work of art, the marble is custom cut to fit the shower and sink together, the finish work is the best I have ever seen.

Food is also excellent, both in room and at the restaurants. We dined at Peter, the French restaurant on the 24th floor. I did not see too many reviews of this restaurant, so I was a bit worried, but overall, it was excellent and the view is just amazing. The bar is fun, but they do allow smoking. Room service is the way it should be, all the plates are presented on our in-room table, all lined up exactly to face the same way. Quality was very good, if not expensive, which is no surprise.

Anyway, I can't wait to go back again. This hotel not only proves that a stay can be just about perfect, but gives me some hope that I am not alone in my expectations of what a 5-Star experience should really be.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a twin room and it was a great getaway from the humid streets of Tokyo. Excellent service, you could tell the staff were proud to work there. We received a complimentary upgrade at check-in and the staff were extremely helpful to book restaurants and plan our onward service. The rooms were cozy, well spaced with walking closet and big bathroom. Great spa with swimming pool, gym and a variety of saunas.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at The Peninsula Tokyo When we lived in Tokyo.

The hotel room is very specious compare to most of the hotel in Tokyo. ( hotels in Tokyo can be very tiny even though it is expensive. )

Beautiful, luxury hotel in Tokyo. loved it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights each at the Four Seasons and the Peninsula in Tokyo, and liked the latter more (the superb service at Four Seasons notwithstanding), due to the fab rooms.

The rooms were really large, with a separate walk in closet/ dressing room (where all of our bags could be kept and clothes hung out of sight)... a seating area with a sofa and also a 2 person dining table. Loved the attention to details like the coffee machine and multi-country plug points all around (even an appropriate one in the bathroom that I could plug my hair iron into - it's amazing how many hotels don't have this!). The bathroom was large and spacious with two basins (yay!)... the bed was reallllllyy soft and comfy.

The location is great - at the corner of the Imperial Gardens and Ginza... with several subway stations close by.

The lobby was a bit too "happening" for my liking... pretty crowded since the cafe was in the lobby area and it certainly seemed like a popular hang out at all hours of the day.

That aside, our stay was fabulous and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

In the midst of city life this is an oasis. We stayed at four different hotels in our travel round Japan and it is this hotel that I will remember most fondly.
Our room was modern with switches for everything but it still had a comfy relaxing feel. Also a lot bigger than we thought it would be. The dressing room was ideal because it meant we kept the cases out of view allowing the lounge/bedroom to be tidy.
Went to the bar the first night. We ordered a selection of bar food thinking that they would be small tasters. What a mistake. They were full size, hillarious !
The wine in the bar is eye wateringly expensive. I'd expect to pay a premium but £18 a glass was more than I expected. But what the hell, have a glass and enjoy the magnificent view.
My only criticism would be that you have breakfast in what feels like the lobby. The food was nice though and the service as you would expect.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.