We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Tokyo to your Saves list
The Peninsula Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Elegant business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Peninsula Tokyo.

Stayed in a superior room 20th floor. View is not as nice as hoped / I was hoping lost in translation - but was actually another building quite close. I guess need to go to park Hyatt next time to check the view...

The rooms are beautiful. Nothing to say. Super modern and practical. They thought about everything.

Atmosphere wise feels very business like.

Their pool is great and so is their spa. Of I had been on business I would have been delighted to stay here.

Location: good shops are seconds away.

Breakfast a bit disappointing quality of food/ service long ... and needless to say very expensive (but that's Tokyo!)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    246
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
242
411
80
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was lucky enough to stay here for two nights in December it was fantastic. The rooms are stunning, loads of room, thoughtfully designed, quiet, comfortable and with great views. The service was faultless. Everyone knew us by name and were friendly and helpful. My only word of warning is that the Japanese restaurant in the basement is incredibly expensive - £300 for the 'cheapest' menu - and lacks atmosphere. It's really well located, a couple of minutes walk to Ginza which is a great area for shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

It's my second time staying at this hotel, and i will for sure stay next time! that would say it! Location is great. The view of the Imperial palace, from some rooms is stunning. the service is very good. don't miss experiencing the weddings ceremonies in the mornings! I guess they serve the best Tea Brunch in town (from 11 am).

Room Tip: All rooms are good. The ones overlook the Imperial palace are the best (but you have to pay extra fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We checked in here for the first night of our honeymoon into a King suite on a high up level with a fantastic view.
Everything was perfect. The room was spacious and immaculate and the hotel provided complimentary strawberries and champayne in our room. We quickly forgot about our long journey once we were dressed in the kimonos and slippers provided in our room.
Room service was prompt and delicious and the bento boxes were genuine Japanese style.
We loved every moment of our stay right down to the pillows we slept on, so much so we bought 4 of them to take home with us. Best hotel we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitakami, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I started my stay at the Peninsula by opting for the Rolls Royce (call for the reservations) and a driver to meet me at the station. I stayed in the deluxe suite. Check-in was made easy as it was done all in the room. No need to stand in line, the concierge met me at the car and escorted me to the room with no hassles. The customer service was top notch, as is expected from a luxory hotel in Japan. Room service was also delicious. The location is prime as you are within walking distance from attractions and all the shopping your wallet can handle in Ginza. The room offered a beautiful panoramic view of Tokyo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed on an executive floor in a double room which had separate dressing area, huge bathroom and an area to watch tv. The room and staff were all you would expect of a 5star hotel. The location is great as you can walk to business district, station, palace, nice shops and even some cheap eateries (which are great value) under the Hibya train arches. Tokyo is never cheap and neither is the hotel but I would say this is good value and fairly priced. I will deffinitely go back!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I usually make it a point to stay at the very best hotel in a foreign city. Which is why even the slightest... Slight can upset my decision for next time.

Peninsula is pretty great, beautiful hotel service as you can expect in Japan.

We had the concierge help us with a Michelin star dinner booking during one of the nights of our stay which was very helpful. The concierge knew there was a Guest's birthday. This is probably the second time (the other was in Kuala Lumpur) where a five star hotel didn't acknowledge a guest's birthday, with even a piece of chocolate. Especially after i had made it known the whole purpose of the four day stay was to celebrate this bday, where we allflew in from different countries to have a celebratory long weekend at Tokyo peninsula.

For that reason alone I won't stay here again. People that understand five starservice and understand why they pay for it reading this might understand why that very seemingly small oversight affects my decision for next time. I am going to NYC next and have not even bothered to look at the peninsula NYC review or rates when I choosing my accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.