We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Expereince” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capsule Value Kanda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Capsule Value Kanda to your Saves list
Capsule Value Kanda
1.5 of 5 Capsule Hotel   |   1-4-5 Kanda Kajicho, Chiyoda 101-0044, Tokyo Prefecture (Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Expereince”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Sounded like a great thing to experience and had always heard about them! It didn't let me down! Staff spoke decent English and provided directions to locations we had been needing to locate. More room then I had originally expected inside the pod capsule! personal TV, radio, light, shelf, and plug-ins to charge your phone. You receive one free locked cabinet/locker with one key, which was located across from your pod to store certain sized luggage or bags. Depending what capsule you received depended on how large of a cabinet you received (based on luck). The capsules located near the end of the room had double the sized cabinets than the rest. I was lucky enough to have a large cabinet for one of the two nights I had stayed. If your luggage did not fit in the locked cabinet you were more than welcome to keep it on the main level floor (although would be left out of your sight and be set aside amongst many others luggage bags left by travelers). Towel, Toothbrush, and gown were provided for usage, which were located in your designated locked cabinet. Only thing that I had to get used to was the shower situation located on lower level of the building. Its pretty much a bath house, in which everyone showers without clothing (one large hot tub with 3 open shower heads and 1 secreted shower head in the corner of the bath house). Soap and shampoo supplied. If you are staying more than one night, you are required to check-out each day and will be provided with a new pod capsule. If you don't mind getting over those few little things, I recommend Capsule Value Kanda any day! When will you ever do this again!

Room Tip: If you have larger luggage bring some locking devices for the zippers if they do not fit in your loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    40
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The capsule was bigger than I expected. TV, radio, a shelf, and still plenty of room to move, although wasn't very long so not sure how a tall person would enjoy it. A good night's rest, they even provide you with towels for the showers and a robe. Lockers for your shoes and bags, Japanese style bathroom is in the basement.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I think I walked by this place twice before actually finding it. The building is no more than 15 feet wide!

It's a must do if you're in Tokyo. The experience was awesome and the capsule was quite roomy. Where else can you do something like this? Go for it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is my first time went tokyo, my first experience with this kind of hotel.
all i can say is they are so good.everybody should try their service.
comfortable+ affordable budget hotel.
*customer service are so friendly
*Cleanliness always their priority
*affordable
*very good wifi connection
* comfortable

Room Tip: *customer service are so friendly *Cleanliness always their priority *affordable *very good wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

You get what it is, a capsule room accommodation. It has TV, Stereo, bedlight and an electrical outlet. Clean but small space but doesn't feel too crampy and bed is surprisingly quite comfortable. You get a pajama suit in your locker and two mini towels. Each floor has common toilet with 3 sinks. Japanese style bathroom with 3 chairs at the basement and a small jacuzzi. It also has a shower.

Luggages are store in the common room at the ground floor where 2 PCs are located for common use and complimentary. Fast complimentary wifi in every floor of the facility. A vending machine selling drinks is also located adjacent to the common room. Shoes have to be stored in the locker in front of the front counter as you are not allowed to step in the hotel with it after checking in, Slippers are only provided for use inside the toilet. No restaurants and swimming pools.

Good located with a 5 minute walk from Kanda station. If your coming in from Narita, take the train up to Nippori station then change to the Yamanote line to Kanda station. Around 1,200 yen and takes around an hour trip. Hotel is just besides the Kanda Station Hotel so it would be easier to locate it. Many good eats surround the area and convenience stores. Kanda station is just next to the Tokyo station for your reference.

Hope this shall be useful to you.

Room Tip: They let you move out daily at 10AM and you can only return by 5PM and always in a different floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Once I booked my flight to Tokyo for Summer vacation, one of the first ideas I had was to stay in a capsule hotel. One of my favorite episodes of Seinfeld was when Kramer had his 3 Japanese friends sleep in the drawers of his "Farbman." It didn't take long to find several reasonably priced options near Tokyo Station and I was really glad I chose this one. Not only was the price and location ideal for a solo, back-pack traveler like me, it was a totally unique hotel experience that I will never forget.

Capsule Value Kanda was one stop from Tokyo Station on the Sobu line to the Shin-Nihombashi Station and just a short 5 minute walk to the property. Check-in was fast and easy and the front desk clerk spoke enough English to make me feel right at home. Typical guests at a capsule hotel like this include businessmen and tourists alike. Guests share a computer lounge and area for large suitcases, plus a common shower and bath area in the basement level. After storing your shoes at a locker on the first floor, there were 7 floors of capsules, with the top 2 reserved for women travelers only. My capsule was on the second floor where there was a full-sized shared bathroom and each guest was given a small locker for your gear.

The capsules were super cool and futuristic, yet seemed to be over 10-15 years old. Each had more room than you would think and included an adjustable light, a small TV and radio/alarm clock unit. The capsule itself does not really close, but your privacy is possible by pulling down the rolling curtain on the open end.

My only complaint about this otherwise totally unique experience is that there were 20 other guests in a small area. While it was quiet and relaxing at night, early risers did tend to make a bit more noise than I would have expected. If you want privacy, your own bath and shower, and an undisturbed morning of sleep, this hotel is not for you.

However, if you want an affordable, unique, futuristic, and memorable stay in a great location, I highly recommend stepping outside what you would normally do and trying something completely Japanese like this.

Room Tip: My unit was the lower one and I might have preferred an upper bunk for just a little more quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was my first experience of a capsule hotel and, if you know the score, it was great. Imagine the sleeping arrangements on an overnight train and you've got the idea. Clean, secure, friendly reception and, best of all, a wee 'onsen' in the basement. Good location 2 minute walk from Kanda station, south west exit (use direction finder on Google maps). The area seems to be where the business men working in the nearby business district around Tokyo station, relax. This is maybe where those who are not top executives stay. It is also great for back-packers - cheap and cheerful. But beware, it has no frills. The hotel is literally about 4m wide. No food, no bar, no lounge but it does have a free wifi room (probably also from your capsule as well - I didn't check). You can't check in before 1700 and must be out by 1000. But you can leave your stuff in the luggage/wifi room - open access to all guests so worth being careful what you leave, although Japan does seem to be very safe in this respect. Individual capsules are accessed from the feet end and don 't lock but you can put your stuff in a pretty spacious locker, just at your feet (shoes are left in a separate mini-locker at reception). Possible drawbacks - I suppose a drunk stumbling into your capsule at 3.00 might be a possibility. I had a great night's sleep, but I always use silicone earoplugs so don't hear much noise.

Room Tip: An end capsule, top row is probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Capsule Value Kanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capsule Value Kanda

Address: 1-4-5 Kanda Kajicho, Chiyoda 101-0044, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty lodging in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capsule Value Kanda 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Capsule Value Kanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capsule Value Kanda Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capsule Value Kanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.