We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Tokyo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tokyo Station Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Tokyo Station Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Tokyo Station Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0005, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 59 hotels in Chiyoda
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We found this place a little by accident. Didn't seem to attract such glowing reviews as some hotels, but found out it only re-opened recently after a six-year renovation, and maybe hasn't seen enough Trip-Advisor traffic. Absolutely amazing place and will stay again for sure.

Pluses:
1. Location, location, location. Off the Narita Express and straight into the hotel.
2. Beautiful building with a lovely, gentle ambience. The style is different from much of Tokyo, with quite a 'colonial' feel, but done in a beautiful, slightly austere Japanese manner. Not classic hi-tech.
3. The atrium, where breakfast is served is especially amazing (as is breakfast itself- one of my most memorable meals amongst of a week of foodie heaven)
4. Room (a dome room facing into station) was small but beautifully appointed and lovely bathroom, with separate partitioned wet room.
5. The staff were especially helpful, even by the amazing standards of Japanese hospitality. On our departure, the bellboy (actually, a tiny bellgirl) led us out of the hotel, through the web of the station and delivered us to the exact spot for our train. Once you've been in Tokyo station, you'll know how much trouble this saved us!!!

Minuses:
1. Having real trouble here. Worse I can say is it's a long walk from one end to the other end of the hotel..

Room Tip: Dome room has an interesting view down to station
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    70
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
49
77
30
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

So proud of staffs
Even frontline or back of house have do the best.
Staffs polite, attentive,
Place clean & tidy,
Design fitted for user.......
Can keep the condition good, Eng. dept also do a good job.

Very good experience & memory on my life, special on my birthday trip on 2013
Everyone Move on !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a wonderful find! This hotel is not only historic and beautifully restored but it is perfectly situated right beside the Tokyo Station and accessible from within. Yet, once inside the hotel, you would never know you were at such a busy location - it is so peaceful and quiet. We couldn't even hear much noise in the corridor. It was fantastic to catch the train from the airport right to the hotel and much cheaper and quicker than a taxi or shuttle bus.

The staff are perhaps the most polite I have ever met and could not have been more helpful and courteous.

Yes, our room at the back was a little small but we were not bothered by this as it was really well decorated, recently refurbished and it had some character about it. We don't tend to spend much time in the room during city breaks as we are out and about exploring so it suited us just fine. In future, if we returned, we'd love to stay in one of the rooms in the dome.

All in all, a faultless experience. It wasn't even that pricey - we got a great deal on Expedia and booked well in advance

Room Tip: They're all beautiful but if you're obsessed with size, pay extra for one at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

But splash out and get a larger room.. the smallest ones face the tracks in the back. It's a pleasure to see the station restored to its former glory. The Marunouchi area is not as windswept as it used to be now that the "Kitte" (former Central Post Office, just over the road) has also been restored and converted to shops and restaurants.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My first impression of the Hotel is undoubtedly fantastic. Not the cheapest hotel in Tokyo, but the service was immaculate and given it only recently opened, the quality of the rooms and the finnish on the material was first class. The staff were all very helpful and my entire family want to come back to this hotel on our next trip to this great city. People often have the impression that Tokyo is an expensive city, but if you check out the prices of the restaurants and stores for general items like non designer clothing and regular Japanese food, the location of this hotel is perfect in terms of access to all kinds of culinary outlets....for all types of budgets. The history of this hotel is charming and I would recommend my friends to stay here.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker....This hotel is heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed for one night in a palace side room room, which was beautifully furnished and exceptionally well-equipped. The room wasn't ready when we tried to check in at about 11am, but when we returned at 4pm, our bags had already been taken to the room and after check-in the receptionist showed us to the room. The layout of the hotel is initially confusing, but it's worth spending time visiting the displays which give a little of the history of the building. We visited both bars and found the prices of drinks to be reasonable (given the standard of the hotel and its location). The room was quiet and breakfast was very good. The hotel's location is superb with easy access to most parts of the city. Whilst the hotel was not cheap, it felt special and I'd be very happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Picked this hotel party due to location. Attached to Tokyo Station it made it easy to get around, using subway, express trains and reserved trains. Also very handy for buying drinks and snacks to avoid mini bar costs as there are many many shops and eating options within the station. Also simple to catch NEX to and from Narita.

The hotel itself was recently refurbished. Had a Palace side room which was beautifully furnished with a large TV with a few English language options. Bathroom was large with an enormous deep tub and the most amazing shower. Plenty of nice quality bathroom amenities.

Service at the Hotel was excellent. They had my room ready by 1pm even thought check in was officially 3pm which was much appreciated after a long flight. When I had a problem with a tour company the desk spoke to them on the phone on my behalf and sorted out the arrangements. All of the staff I met were very helpful, seemed rightly very proud of their beautiful hotel and genuinely pleased to welcome you.

Housekeeping was excellent. Room was alway immaculate. Bedding was clean and comfortable. Really enjoyed my stay and especially liked he character of the hotel. They had prints on the walls of the hotel and station from time gone by and it really did feel like being part of history. Do take the time to go and look at the domes of Tokyo Station from the viewing deck. It's a unique vantage point.

Room Tip: I had a room near an elevator which led right to a private entrance for guests which saved a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tokyo Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tokyo Station Hotel

Address: 1-9-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0005, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tokyo Station Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Rakuten, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your The Tokyo Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyo Station Hotel
The Tokyo Station Hotel Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tokyo Station Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.