We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tokyo Station Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Tokyo Station Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Tokyo Station Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0005, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 59 hotels in Chiyoda
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

One of the best hotels I've stayed at. Excellent efficient staff and service, beautiful room, awesome location. If you're fortunate to stay here, do. Get a room facing the street-- view is lovely. (I faced the Shin-Marounochi building and pedestrian traffic in front of the hotel. View was nice enough that I bought a few excellent bentos from the nearby Daimaru food hall and enjoyed them looking out the windows.) Otherwise, you'll be facing inwards which, I think, is just a wall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    70
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
49
78
30
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This place is expensive let me just get that out of the way we had flown into japan realised we couldn't get our JR rail passes yet and had to find a room to sleep, walked into the closets place (Tokyo Station Hotel) the building is gorgeous, we could only get a superior King, cost us about 500AUD, WORTH it, Bed so comfortable you'll never want to leave. amazing shower facilities so much space. best sleep I had in the entire month

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This completely renovated Taisho Period Hotel means a lot to the people of Tokyo.
It is a Landmark with a lot of memories.
The renovation was nicely done with
attention to minute details.
The ceiling is high ( over 3 meters), and the rooms size is generous for Tokyo,
around 22 sq meters.

Room Tip: There is Little Natural Light for the rooms facing the Dome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Absolutely no complaints about our two night stay at the end of our three week trip in Japan. The location in the station (we had a dome room overlooking the activity) was terrific for last minute shopping around Tokyo as well as departing on the Narita Express when it was time to go.

Concierge was extremely helpful. Room was perfect, great amenities/facilities, including state of the art keys, lighting in the room etc. The hotel was generally very quiet and enjoyable. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for just night at the end of our stay in Japan, mainly for ease of transportation.

The hotel building is stunning, you will find many Japanese outside taking photos.

The reception staff are very efficient and helpful.

The room was miles away from the reception and took 5 minutes to walk to. The room was small with very high ceilings which helped. The view was of a station platform. The bathroom was small but well equipped.

The location is very good. All transport links are obviously literally on your door step. Get the metro about. VERY EASY.

There is a shopping centre directly opposite hotel with some cool shops and places to eat.

Walk to Ginza from hotel only 5 -10 minutes.

One slight annoyance with the hotel was that on returning from dinner at a local restaurant my husband and I fancied a night cap, it was about 11pm, the lobby bar was shut and the other bar on the 2nd floor (i think) is very small and they had no room for us. For such a large hotel you would expect to be able to get a drink or coffee etc before midnight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night as it was the last hotel in Tokyo with any rooms during golden week. £200 a night exc breakfast.


The property

Very smart shiny newly done up old station hotel next to the main station. The décor is first class – deep carpets, new paint, shiny brass, great marble. The hotel has small public areas (one lounge, which was so full there was a queue to enter), small reception. Right next to the station so great for train travellers.


The room

The rooms are in two lines – one line looks out over the plaza in front of the hotel (and has large rooms), the other looks out onto the wall of the station six feet away, and so is dark and pokey. We were in the dark rooms. The room was barely 100 feet (cats quite safe). Apart from size and the lack of light and outlook, the room was smart. The window was sealed, making the room feel very stuffy.


The bathroom

Good sized bath with a power shower over. Not huge but large enough, good smellies.



The bed

Very comfortable queen sized bed, nice cottons, good bedside lighting.


Ambient noise and light

Good curtains closed out the light, but some piece of electrical gear whined outside all night in a maddening falling and rising tone.


Other comments

Tokyo is expensive, so maybe my frame of reference is not great, but while I would not have minded paying £200 to look out upon a view with 200 feet, I objected to paying £200 to look out on a whiny wall, so this was not a great experience.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel look out on the wall of the station six feet away
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

As first time visitors to Tokyo, we chose this hotel for the central location, and from recommendations on this site (especially regarding the English speaking concierge). We could not have been happier with our choice. We stayed in a palace side king room for 4 nights. The room, though not overly spacious, was luxurious, the bed wonderful, the decor elegant, and everything new and fresh with every gadget you could need - and free very fast wi-fi. The renovation of this historic building is superb. The concierge explained the history of the building as he escorted us to our room and his pride was evident. Our room was so quiet you could hear a pin drop (amazing considering it's proximity to one of the busiest railway stations in the world). Previous reviewers have mentioned the wonderful bathrooms and the very special Toto washlet toilet. I could go on and on - highly recommend this hotel! Also highly recommend Tokyo as a fabulous holiday destination.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#5 of 59 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 971 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxury, Restaur...
Show More
4.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 69 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
City Center, Po...
Show More
1.5 mi away
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
#2 of 59 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Spa, Boutique...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tokyo Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tokyo Station Hotel

Address: 1-9-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0005, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tokyo Station Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Rakuten, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Tokyo Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyo Station Hotel
The Tokyo Station Hotel Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tokyo Station Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.