We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of luxury at the Tokyo Station Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tokyo Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Tokyo Station Hotel to your Saves list
The Tokyo Station Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0005, Japan   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A touch of luxury at the Tokyo Station Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful, just cannot fault it, I enquired about where I could purchase one of the long shoe horns you find in the rooms, the staff said they would make enquiries and get bacK to me. When they rang back they said they were very expensive, so they would send one up to my room, what great service!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    88
    14
    7
    0
See reviews for
76
105
43
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was a very nice experience for the first 3 nights in Japan. I am so happy that we chose this one as I heard of the new renovated hotel. It uses the latest, state of the art technology every part of the room and building, yet it has good taste and classic atmosphere. You cannot beat the location especially if you use Narita Express and Shinkansen bullet trains. Employees are so nice, professional, and helpful. They gave us the warm, welcoming feelings. Breakfast was superb. We will be repeating customers and will recommend to anyone who is visiting Japan.

Room Tip: Like most any other hotels in Tokyo, rooms tend to be small. Get largest room if you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, HI
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had been waiting and hoping patiently for this place to open, having stayed across the street at the very nice Marunouchi hotel. How happy I was to see what a sterling job they did of bringing back the luxury hotels of yesteryear. Equal in all respects to those great dames of the past, just meandering around the huge property made you feel as if a duke, duchess or emperor might appear just around the corner!

I read many of the other reviews for this hotel and have trouble understanding any of the negative remarks. Of course I understand that people have different tastes and experiences, but in all ways I found my experience here to be top rate.

I think I must have stayed in the same "Dome" room as some of the other reviewers, because I found the same amenities and furnishings, including the crystal chandeliers, the huge and wonder "rain" shower and the separate "personal" room with the porcelain "throne." No one mentioned, though, that this "throne" was one of the technical marvels of the bathroom age, a Toto "Washlet" that does everything for you when you "use" the facility except powder your bottom. No need to even touch the thing! From raising the lid to flushing and lowering it, and everything in between, this is truly a marvel of the age, and something really special. I would like the "not so" Grand Hyatt hotel in New York to come and learn something about great hotel bathrooms!

I didn't notice anyone's commenting on the lovely spa downstairs. I didn't use all their services, but just visiting the Japanese style bath (I was told you can't call it an onsen because they don't have natural mineral water being piped up from under the ground) made for a very relaxing experience. As I'm sitting in my room right now, I believe I'll be making a quick trip down there for an invigorating soak when I finish this.

So I basically have to agree with all the good comments that were made about this hotel, from the "surprisingly quiet" comment to "Great Hotel in the heart of the city." I definitely will stay here when I visit Japan again, because it's worth every penny you have to spend on it. A wonderful time here!

Room Tip: Be sure you get one of the "dome" rooms that overlook the concourse of the station. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is the first time I stay in this hotel, experience is not good at all except the breakfast is good but expensive, still i think the breakfast is worth cos i can see the chef has the heart to make such delicious breakfast buffet. The service there are not good at all. Conceige are so slow and impatience。a google map print need to stand more than 10 min. The conceige staff are not friendly at all! everythime i call for the message, they transfer and transfer and end up they cant find my message. Waste me another 5-8 miins waiting for the transfer。 i m a international traveller and always stay at 5 stars for more than 30 years. My comments is I will not pay 530USD per nite for this kind of service standard . I will never go back and refer this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Situated above/next to rail lines and the bullet train, the room was surprisingly quiet. The room that we stayed in was in the dome section where the view was not only the beautifully restored dome with its interesting artwork but the coming and going of the commuters. Although the trains do stop running by midnight and start by 5:30 next morning, I could not tell that at least ten different lines were running next door. The room is luxurious starting with the chandelier hanging from the high ceiling. Although the room was a bit tight due to the big comfortable bed and chair with glass side table, it was furnished with two crystal night lamps. It had an iron and ironing board in the closet. Wifi is available. The bathroom has a very nice, deep tub with separate room for toilet. The outside corridor is elegantly decorated using white as the color theme which I am not sure how long that can be maintain. The only drawback for me about this place is the lobby. The lobby is too small to accommodate not just the hotel guests, but the many users of the hotel restaurants. In addition, unlike the other luxury hotels in the area, there is no doorman to greet you as you get off the taxi. We had to drag our luggages from cab to the hotel lobby. The location is obviously convenient being so close to the trains, shopping areas, and plenty of restaurants. However, have to learn to work the underground passage way to the other side of station without going through the JR turnstiles. And being Tokyo Station, the place is crowded.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great location right downtown! Walking distance to many areas and the train right at your feet. Stayed here just one night on a business trip but had a great experience. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We caught the Nozomi (bullet train) to Kyoto and you can just walk right out of the hotel in to the station. Very convenient! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed for few nights in mid Dec 2012, whilst they had a superb offer so value for the buck was great for the superb service and facility this newly restored Tokyo Station Hotel have to offer.
Amazing layout and they have done a fantastic job in restoring the place to a top notch scale but keeping the pre-existing features throughout the building. Really enjoyed the stay and would definitely like to come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tokyo Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tokyo Station Hotel

Address: 1-9-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0005, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tokyo Station Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Tokyo, Japan HotelOne hundred years of experience has prepared us to move forward to the next generation. The Tokyo Station Hotel has a rich history, and is proudly a designated Important Culture Property of Japan. This Central Tokyo hotel preserves its deep rooted heritage and provides guests contemporary accommodations and unparalleled hospitality. The luxury guestrooms are housed in the hotel's iconic red-brick building, and over the past century have been called home by famous writers and prominent worldwide figures. The hotel is located in the heart of Tokyo, Japan overlooking the Imperial Palace. The Tokyo Station Hotel is directly connected to the JR Tokyo Station Marunouchi, for convenient travel throughout Japan. The hotel is also located just 30 minutes from the Haneda Airport Station by Tokyo Monorail; and 60 minutes from the JR Narita Airport Station by Narita Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your The Tokyo Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyo Station Hotel
The Tokyo Station Hotel Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tokyo Station Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.