We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for wireless” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Edmont

Save Saved
You added Hotel Metropolitan Edmont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metropolitan Edmont
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-10-8 Iidabashi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 102-8130, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 59 hotels in Chiyoda
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ask for wireless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A previous review stated that there is no wireless available. This is not correct as you have to ask the desk for the wireless router and they give you one free of charge. I'm assuming this is in lieu of installing a network throughout the hotel.

The room was fine for us. We had a double bed room with a couch that folded out into a bed for our adult son. Me and the wife could have slept on one of the beds and let my son sleep on the other in order to save a few yen but that was ok.

For us, the hotel was not in the most convenient location as it was a train ride to everywhere we went. The train station was not too far so it was ok. I figure for the price I paid, which was very reasonable, I could deal with a train ride or two to get where we were going.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    145
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
69
43
33
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

On the plus side: we were able to get a room for four (a rarity in Tokyo); prices are reasonable; the hotel is clean, decently equipped and facility-wise has nothing to complain about. Our room was comfortable though not huge (it would have been roomier if the sofa hadn't been unfolded into a bed).

Neutral points: not the most convenient location for most touristy things. It's near Tokyo Dome, which was good for us, but most other things require a train ride. Shiodome station is only a 5-10 minute walk though.

Negatives: No WiFi. As in not available period. They have wired Internet, which I suppose is something, but not that useful for travelers in 2013.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saguenay, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel looks better in reality than on its website. Rooms are nice, very clean, we'll equipped. Some convenient stores and restaurants are nearby.

On the other hand, the friendly staff was unable to help me with the planning of an excursion, provided limited support at pointing me the location of the nearby stores I needed and could only give me generic indication on the best way to reach airport. Not pleased by that.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just came back from a few-day business trip to Tokyo. Overall, it is a nice business hotel. Staff is super nice, yet their English was a little challenging. Rooms are clean yet, really small. I guess this is how rooms are in Japan. Breakfast has VERY limited options and does not cater for the international traveler except may be for the cereal and eggs. Does not have a fruit bar for breakfast. I ended up buying some fruits from a close by mini mart. Internet is the old fashion which is strange for the most technologically advanced country in the world. There is no central wifi network. To connect to the Internet, you get a router from the hotel and you connect it in your room, not the most easy way of doing business. The hotel is 10-minute walk to the train station, very convenient. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osny, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Big hotel (aiming the Japanese wedding parties), very good service, staff speaking English rather fluently; prefer twin rooms to double bedrooms (more space), free wifi in the rooms with special equipment to install (surprising that in Japan, a technology oriented country, access to wifi is more difficult in hotels than in many other countries in Asia!
Close to a very large metro and JR station (Iidabashi), 10 ' walk.
Bakery in the hotel (buy croissants and have breakfast in your room for less than 500 yen for a couple).
Hint: If you want to go to Narita airport, and do not want to change trains several times, and if you are, say 4 or 5 people, take a minibus for 22,000 Yen (all details handle by the concierge). It becomes affordable, and takes max 80 minutes door to door!
Close to Iidabashi station, Kagurazaka street is a nice place to have dinner with plenty of restaurants. The Italian restaurant in the hotel is also good. And accross the terrace of the hotel, a building with Starbuck cafe, Seven Eleven and a few good restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meyrin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I am just back from a week stay in Metropolitan Edmont.
definitely positive points are the breakfast and the restaurants in the hotel as well as the bar and the kindness and service will of the personal despite the fact that their english is not always very good.
Rooms are not big (we are in Tokyo) but they had all the necessary to live there during one week (kimono, hair-dryer, balance (!!!), all the small things needed in the bathroom, water boiler..) all was very clean. On each floor there are drink distributors.
Location is excellent as it is very near from Iidabashi metro station from which you have connections with 4 metro lines. the time from/to airport when you take the Narita Express + metro is appr. 1h30.
There are a lot of restaurants all around the hotel and just on the opposite side from the "back" of the hotel there's a bldg with restaurants, especially one with very good sushis (n.b. the sushi bar of the hotel is doing excellent sushis).

The negative point is wifi: you need to ask for it upon your arrival and you get a bag with a modem that you need to install. The connection is not always very fast.

Overall if I go back to Tokyo, I surely go back to this hotel. (the lobby area is beautiful)

Room Tip: the view from the back side is nicer than from the front, from the front side there are buildings in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The room was very small but it was a very reasonable price for Tokyo and had everything I needed. I had to get taxis everywhere but it was worth this for the reasonable price.
The only downside was that they advised I change trains twice to get to the airport. I did not follow their advice and got a taxi to the main station to catch the airport express.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Metropolitan Edmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitan Edmont

Address: 3-10-8 Iidabashi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 102-8130, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#13 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metropolitan Edmont 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Metropolitan Edmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Edmont Hotel
Metropolitan Edmont Chiyoda
Hotel Metropolitan Edmont Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropolitan Edmont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.