We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous value for Tokyo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1 Hayabusacho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 102-0092, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 59 hotels in Chiyoda
New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tremendous value for Tokyo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We spent 2 nights in a Japanese style room at the Grand Arc. The room was quite comfortable, the hotel decently located, although a little north from the center of town, but right in front of the Imperial Palace. Very clean and professionally run. Highly recommended for a Tokyo stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    188
    37
    5
    4
See reviews for
48
172
77
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for a few days after skiing in Niseko. When searching for hotels in Tokyo we found lots of them VERY expensive for what we needed, as we had two children with us (3 & 5 years).
The rooms here were a really good size, with great views. It is also in an excellent location - very close to the station. We had breakfast downstairs, which I couldn't really complain about and the restaurant downstairs in the basement was fantastic! Full of locals, which is always a good sign.
Service in the hotel was excellent, although we did have a few issues trying to get wifi/computer access. The hotel seems to cater more for Japanese travellers, rather than international ones, so there weren't many tourist maps/attraction brochures in the foyer, like you'd find at most hotels. This wasn't really an issue, as we were happy to look online.
Overall a great hotel and a real find in Tokyo!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were in Tokyo for about 2 weeks and stayed in the Grand Arc Hanzomon twice in that time. First for 5 days, then left for Osaka and came back to stay an additional 3 nights. All the reviews are pretty spot on about this place. It's centrally located and just a short walk from the Hanzomon station which makes getting to anywhere in the city relatively painless. The rooms are not as tiny as some have complained about. They are small compared to western standards but at the end of the day it's a nice room, well kept and a place to crash after long days of exploring Tokyo with great views of the imperial gardens and the city. I feel that I should mention that the hotel is in the middle of a business district so you might feel a little out of place when you're dressed in sneakers and jeans (to walk around the city all day) and almost everyone else around you is wearing suits but this really didn't bother me too much. Just something I thought about while I was there but this did not affect our experience in a negative way at all.

The service was also very good, as others have mentioned the staff does speak a good amount of English so it was easy to communicate when we needed something. The cleaning services were also very good. The staff always seemed eager to help with anything that we needed.

If you'll be visiting with a lot of luggage, do as others have noted and take a cab from Tokyo station to the hotel (shouldn't cost you more than 1,800 yen (~$20)) as you will have to climb about 4 flights of stairs out of Hanzomon station. This would not be fun after a day of long flights/layovers.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Grand Arc Hanzomon on our next trip to Tokyo (which hopefully isn't too long from now).

Room Tip: Try to request a room that faces the imperial gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I spend 2 nights in this hotel. The staff was helpful, knowledgable, friendly and most importantly their english is good. The location is great as it was near to the Hanzomon station. The room is clean and tidy. The view from my room was great and i was able to look at the Tokyo tower. I will gladly & definitely comeback to this hotel for my next trip to Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The folks at Grand Arc Hanzomon were friendly, quick, and eager to please. Their english is fantastic, and they showed a great knowledge of the local area. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the cleaning service every day was thorough. I would be very glad to stay here again if I were to stay in Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We wanted to experience the Japanese style room and this hotel was perfect. We stayed here on the first day of our arrival as we wanted to get to the palace first. However, you have to take two trains to get here but we took a cab from Tokyo station. Very nice place and room. There is a seven eleven very close by where we got some pastry in case we got hungry. We did not find that many restaurants but there was a chinese restaurant down the road which was very good. It was very convenient to visit the palace gardens.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent some time dithering over choices for a 5-night stay in Tokyo prior to embarking a cruise there, and considered several other hotels before deciding on the Grand Arc Hanzomon, largely on the basis of the TripAdvisor reviews. What a good choice it turned out to be. First, by Tokyo standards the price is very reasonable, and the rooms are both spacious and stylish: great care seems to have been taken in furnishings. Beds are firm and comfortable, with linen changed every day by the most courteous housekeepers. Almost all rooms overlook the Imperial Palace Gardens; rooms have huge windows to allow you to enjoy the views. Bathrooms are not large but are adequate, and come equipped with an all-singing, all-dancing Japanese toilet: if you don't know what this is, you're in for a surprise.

The Grand Arc Hanzomon is not right in the centre of frenetic Tokyo, but to me that was an advantage: it is two minutes' walk from Hanzomon Metro stop on the Hanzomon Line, so Ginza or the other major centres are no more than 15 or 20 minutes away.

Staff are uniformly extremely courteous and helpful, as only the Japanese can be, although in some instances I encountered a language barrier with restaurant staff, whose command of English was rudimentary.

I felt that breakfast was the weak link in an otherwise perfect stay: it is rather unimaginative and limited, but I have to admit that there are plenty of places nearby where one can get breakfast.

The Grand Arc Hanzomon is not a "grand" hotel in the style of the Imperial, the Okura or the New Otani, but those hotels have the disadvantage that they are swarming with people and are often confusing in layout (the New Otani especially). I like the restrained atmosphere at the Hanzomon, although it can be busy at weekends when it becomes a popular venue for weddings.

All in all, I am delighted to have found this hotel, and will be very happy to return there on my next visit to Tokyo.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views (naturally).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon

Address: 1-1 Hayabusacho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 102-0092, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#12 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Arc Hanzomon Hotel Chiyoda
Grand Arc Hanzomon Chiyoda
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.