We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant go wrong with Imperial” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Imperial Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-1 Uchisaiwaicho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-8558, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Rate with Breakfast!
Ranked #5 of 59 hotels in Chiyoda
SINGAPORE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cant go wrong with Imperial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

stayed at Imperial end of last month for a 3 day biz trip . went there on a red eye and was in tokyo early mrng n needing to catch up on some ZZZZZZ. i was very pleasantly surprised the hotel allowed super early chk in !
rooms are great , very clean , very good security and toiletries are good .
tv programmes are so so but no worries especially if the main point is there for biz .
the biggest n best boon for this hotel is the staff speaks english and i have no problems getting my needs addressed .
the hotel is also well positioned in the city . the train system is next door and the taxis are always at the door .food is literally all around and since its a stones throw from Ginza , shopping is available just nearby .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    507
    216
    48
    17
    8
See reviews for
157
175
70
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Room : very big and lots of plug sockets!!
Bathroom : also very big, lots of spaces. Separated area for shower and toilet. So there is no problem sharing with partners.

I just like the way they present the in-room breakfast !!

Location is good! I dont know the local metro as we were taking cabs at all time.
No convenient stores nearby ( we didnt have much time to check it out)
Many good restaurant nearby. And main hi fashion shopping area is just less than 10 mins walk.
Really recommend if you are into shopping and want to stay in a very safe place with good services!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel has historical implications. The former Imperial designed by our beloved Frank Lloyd Wright. It was replaced by the current one (Iteration 3 I believe, Frank's was Iteration 2).
, and I remember the huge debate on what to do about Frank's building... so part of it still remains as a museum in Nagoya (? I think).
Pretty much the hotel is discussed in other reviews, and the majority of them are accurate. The unfortunate ones, I think are just that, unfortunate coincidences. A prime minister showing up is never a convenient event for the general public, and it happens everywhere, Korea, Australia, USA, etc... To avoid the rock bands, prime ministers and presidents, GO TO a cheaper LESS noted hotels... In Japan, service is what it is... you can't help but get it. You have to choose by what you are (or the company is) willing to pay for, and location.
Imperial's location is excellent for Tsukiji, Ginza, Tokyo Stn, etc... (sub Y1000 cab fare).
One reviewer already mentioned location is moot due to rapid system in Japan... For BREAKFAST and dinner, don't eat at the hotel (even though excellent), Tsukiji's Sushi Sen (Honten or Shiten), the sushi is much much better (my opinion of course). Just a note that I really liked staying at the Imperial (I stayed in the main part of the hotel)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Situated in an excellent location. Very easy to get around Tokyo from there. This is a centrally located business hotel.
Excellent service/housekeeping .Heard the food was over priced and not so good.
Soft comfortable beds, good pillows. Some rooms had more bathroom amenities and excellent Japanese toilets.Decent mini bar selection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for just one night, and wish it was longer! The service is exceptional--service in Japan seems to be great everywhere, but this was another level. And our room was fabulous--had everything we needed, comfortable bed, plus fun things like a digitally controlled bathtub that seemed to fill in an instant. We'd definitely stay here again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in the hotel at the end of May - early June 2013. Generally, a disappointing experience compared to other 5* places in Tokyo (like Ritz Carlton or Hyatt), while the price charged is as high. Part of the disappointment comes from horrible lines of people for breakfast buffet (only one average sized restaurant with breakfast buffet for a huge hotel is a guaranteed route to 15-20 minute waiting lines for breakfast). Part comes from the fact that my stay unfortunately coincided with arrival of Indian prime minister to the same hotel, which means that 2 out of 6 general use elevators were closed to general public and lines to the elevators were ugly. Part comes from the general condition of the hotel vs other offers in Tokyo. The hotel is centrally located (several steps from the Emperor's palace and from Ginza), but believe me that in Tokyo it does not make much difference because public transport (taxis, metro) is great and getting anywhere is very easy. If you wish to spend the money that Imperial Hotel is asking for, I would strongly recommend you check out other 5* options, particularly, Ritz Carlton Tokyo in Roppongi area, which is a truly remarkable hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Imperial Hotel is a 5 star. Just, it feels a little dated and I'm not sure it's worth how much it costs. Granted, we booked two rooms in the main building (7th - 10th floors). It might very well be the case that the rooms on the Imperial Floors (14th - 16th floors) are well worth the money. Also, to be fair, if you're staying at the Imperial, you're paying more, I think, for "history" than anything else. If you're not into history and are instead looking for a sleek, modern feel, I recommend maybe staying at the Peninsula down the block. In any case, even if it's not the shiniest gem on the block, the Imperial has quite a bit going for it (beyond being a cultural and historical relic in its own right). The hotel is just across the street from Hibiya Park, and you only have to walk a hundred or so feet from the front door of the hotel to reach the Subway, where you can jump on the Mita, Chiyoda, and Hibiya lines. Ginza proper is within walking distance of the hotel, and you only need to ride the Hibiya line a few stops to reach Roppongi, where there's an active club scene, lots of foreign restaurants, and a Tokyo must - the Mori Tower. All in all, my opinion is, if you have the money and feel like it, stay at the Imperial. The rooms are clean, spacious and feel a little bit like they'd belong better in the 70s or 80s (but, without there being any of the wear and tear that comes with aging), which can be nice. The restaurants in the hotel are also great; especially the Old Imperial Bar which you have to visit if you have any interest in architecture or in Frank Llyod Wright more specifically. If you're not big on history though, you might want to consider staying elsewhere. The more adventurous should definitely consider staying at a ryokan if possible. But, again, if you have the money, enjoy being in the thick of it, and want to enjoy what is arguably some of the best service around - what you might even consider being impeccable service - then the Imperial's on of your best bets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tokyo

Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Chiyoda
Imperial Hotel Tokyo Japan
Address: 1-1-1 Uchisaiwaicho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-8558, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Imperial Hotel Tokyo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel by the Imperial Palace. Founded in 1890, has welcomed celebrities by offering impeccable Japanese hospitality. Located in the central Tokyo; 5 minutes to Ginza shopping area by walk, 5 minutes to Tokyo station by taxi, 15 to 30 minutes to Shibuya, Shinjuku, Asakusa, and Ropponngi area by subway, and 45 minutes to Haneda Airport, 90 minutes to Narita Airport by Limousine bus. Free VDSL Wi-Fi connection and 16 restaurants and bars inside the hotel are available. ... more less ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.