We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-1 Uchisaiwaicho, Chiyoda 100-8558, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel was gorgeous, clean, impeccable service, and a stone's throw from the imperial palace and Hibya park.

I have been to Tokyo a couple of times now and this hotel was a great place to settle in and explore the city. It is in a great location, just behind the hotel is a street lined with wonderful little cafes and restaurants - some of which are nestled into the metro tracks. It is about a 20 minute walk to the Maranouchi area and Tokyo station and of course, just across the street from the imperial palace and Hibya park (perfect park to have a small picnic if the weather is right).

The service in the hotel is amazing, top notch really. One of the days we were there it was raining and windy, when we stopped by the conceirge they informed us that we could borrow an umbrella for no charge which worked out perfectly. On the day we were set to depart, our flight did not leave until late. So, the front desk held our luggage and provided us with a place to change into more comfortable travel clothes before we left for the airport.

I would also suggest stopping in the lobby for tea - try the iced peach tea with fruit, it is well worth the price, absolutely amazing!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 29th floor, amazing view. But make sure if you are traveling as a couple that you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    342
    71
    24
    10
See reviews for
277
271
110
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was there for 3 nights and we were given an upgrade on our room. We stayed on the 29 floor of the tower wing over looking the Imperial palace and its gardens and moats. The view was wonderful! Across the street was the Hibaya park and flower garden. It had a beautiful display of to long stemmed tea roses and a pond designed with Japanese landscaping.
The service was outstanding ! We went to the Park Diner for breakfast as we did not have time to go to the buffet, which is highly rated. We were in a hurry to meet a tour and gave that info when we ordered. Coffee and tea came immediately as soon as waiter turned having taken our orders, someone was already pouring.
The nearest subway station is across the street but the Ginza station was only a 10 min walk away. It is very easy to take the subway. It is well organized.
There are attentive floor managers and bell hops always willing to help when I looked lost in the lobby. I loved the hotel and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that over looks the imperial palace. We were in the Tower wing where the pool is loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A grand hotel with exceptional service. Staff is courteous and gracious. Checking in and out is orderly and quick. Service is excellent. Guest Relations are very helpful in guiding you on where you want to go. Tipping is not accepted. They have several restaurants in the hotel, all good, above average to pricey. I heard from a friend their spa is excellent - I have not tried :( If you arrive early in the morning and your room is not available , the hotel provides you a place to freshen up.
The room is equipped with everything you need to make your stay comfortable. Toiletries are good quality and pleasantly scented. Blow dryer. The room comes with a safe, which is great. No ironing board. TV. No free bottled water although they do say their water is potable. Their beds and pillows are terrific!! Housekeeping is excellent!! View is great!

I have been here on business , as a family and as a couple and the experience has been consistent all the time - Exceptional!

The hotel is centrally located. Walking distance to shopping, walking distance to the train stations, restaurants and last minute necessities (like a bottle of wine or water). A short ride to the markets.

If you happen to be there during New Year you can walk over to the palace and see the Emperor! I was pleasantly surprised to experience first hand how organized and mild mannered the Japanese are during this exciting occasion (which happens twice a year). Worth the experience in my opinion.

A hotel that takes pride in what they do better than everyone else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Imperial Tokyo earlier this month and agree with other reviews that their service is top-notch. I was particularly impressed with Ms Azusa Yamaguchi, of the hotel's Guest Relations Office, in addressing my concerns during my stay, to the efficiency & graciousness she & most of the staff showed until i left their doorstep. Exceptional!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I travel to Tokyo 3 or 4 times a year for buisness. Each time I stay at the Imperial Hotel it is like a visit to a more refined and dignified period when travel and superior guest service and comfort went hand in hand. The well dressed and dignified Imperial staff is waiting for each guest as they arrive and quickly escorts them to the fast and efficient check in desk. The lobby is a mini crossroads of the world with fashionable women dressed in the latest couture, businessmen meeting customers and consultants, and even some traditional kimonos to be seen.

Rooms are an oasis of peace and quiet. The bathrooms have every modern convenience from phone to TV to steam showers and soak tubs to heated toilet seats. Soft music is played and nightly turn down service is provided. Beds are extremely comfortable and the views of the night lights of Tokyo are very appealing.

The location is great with close proximity to the train stations and subway lines. Ginza shopping and dining is out the back door with a multitude of choices. Tours, sightseeing, airport transportation, dinner reservations, or whatever a vsitor could possibly need are expertly handled by the multilingual concierge staff in the lobby. Business center is fully staffed and multiple meeting rooms available.

The Old Imperial Bar is a great place for sampling Japanese spirits or some of the signature mixed drinks offered like the "Mount Fuji" cocktail. It is all muted lighting, wood, and leather, with multiple bartenders who put as much attention into the preparation and mixing of the drinks (under your own spotlight if you sit at the bar) as the serving.

Multiple places for dining are contained within the hotel from a cafe to a smorgasboard to French cusine to traditional Japanese meals. Somewhat pricey but all a great dining experience.

If you're looking for service, comfort, and elegance, the way travel used to be a in a bygone golden age then the Imperial is for you. You will always remember your stay here!

Room Tip: Stop by The Old Imperial Bar in the hotel for one of their signature cocktails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I have staid in this elegant hotel many times
The view from the room (if you get the proper one) is fantastic. As overlooking the Imperial Palace is a privilege.
However the excellence of this hotel is now ruined by their policy of receiving large discounted tours, thus most of the hotel ammenities
Are unusable. for example their is now a 30 to 45 minutes queue for breakfeast at the top floor Viking buffet restaurant..Unnaceptable for an
Hotel of this class

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minato, Japan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The folks at the Imperial Hotel take allready excellent Japanese service to new highs (or perhaps back old traditional levels of truly Imperial service). Staff greet and bow for you every time they enter or exit the elevators. Concierge, front desk, house keeping, bell and all the staff are simply the best of the best. They greet and bow everytime you pass. The coat check staff bow and thank you for borrowing an unbrella. If anyone wants to learn what outstanding service is, sorry Ritz, the Imperial is Tops (Ichiban)! One certainly feeels like they are a guest of the Royal family, just across the way from the Imperial Palace grounds. When we called for extra towels or anything it was alwasys less than 2 minutes (about the time up the elevators) until the door bell rang. No doubt they are there waiting to redefine the best service possible 24/7/365!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
The Tokyo Station Hotel
#3 of 64 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
#4 of 64 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#7 of 64 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,423 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#2 of 64 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-1-1 Uchisaiwaicho, Chiyoda 100-8558, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperial Hotel Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 931
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel by the Imperial Palace. Founded in 1890, has welcomed celebrities by offering impeccable Japanese hospitality. Located in the central Tokyo; 5 minutes to Ginza shopping area by walk, 5 minutes to Tokyo station by taxi, 15 to 30 minutes to Shibuya, Shinjuku, Asakusa, and Ropponngi area by subway, and 45 minutes to Haneda Airport, 90 minutes to Narita Airport by Limousine bus. Free VDSL Wi-Fi connection and 16 restaurants and bars inside the hotel are available. ... more less ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Otel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Chiyoda
Imperial Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.