We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience we have ever had. Hands down.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-11-1 Marunouchi | Pacific Century Place, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-6277, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 59 hotels in Chiyoda
the oc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel experience we have ever had. Hands down.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Until our recent stay at The Four Seasons Tokyo at Maranouchi we have compared all hotels to the Four Season George V in Paris, where we have had top notch service, food and amazing stays. That standard of servise has now been blown out of the water by the staff at the Four Seasons Tokyo at Maranouchi.

Is the hotel beautiful, comfortable and in a great location? Is the food nice? All these things were true about this hotel, but it does not speak to the best service we have ever experienced. I should preface this by saying we arrived in Tokyo after spending 6 weeks on The Crystal Serenity cruise ship. We had been pampered and attended to by some of the best in the hospitality industry. This stay equaled and in many ways exceeded the service we had recieved on the ship. And it came down to the people employed at this extraordinary hotel.

Two examples: Our daughter had flown in from Los Angeles to stay and see Tokyo with us. She wanted to go to the Studion Ghibli museum, and we agreed. To buy tickets we needed to go across the street to a kiosk inside a convenience store. The bellstaff gave us detailed information before we set out for the store to buy tickets. However when we got there we reached an impass when we couldn't operate the machine correctly. My husband went back to the hotel and asked for help. Immediately one of the staff came back with him, helped us get the tickets and then walked us several blocks to a subways staion to get to our destination. When we returned from our day's adventure, whoever was at the bell desk would address us by name, and ask how our visit to "____" was, as they knew what we were doing on a daily basis.

The second and most personally touching moment for me during our stay was when my husband had a medical problem that necessitated a visit the St. Luke's Medical Center. When we go into the taxi, and looked out the window on our way to the hospital there were 3 or more employees bowing and wishing us well. When we go to the emergency room a Dr. greeted us and took us to the registration counter and paved the way for us to communicate in english. I attribute the care we recieved at the hospital to the staff at the Four Seasons. Thank you so much.

Several people have mentioned the restaurant in the hotel, and I want to recommend the breakfast there. It is, like most things in Tokyo expensive but so worht it. The breakfast starts with an amuse bouche yogurt drink, and the pastries were very good, as was everything else.

Bravo to the staff and management. You have set the bar high. I cann't imagine another hotel exceeding the service you have provided.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    73
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
136
144
35
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is a very clean, well styled and appointed, low key boutique hotel in the heart of Tokyo. If you are looking for the "big hotel" experience, this is not it. If you are looking for an excellent, quiet more personal experience in a very Western friendly hotel, this is for you. I was there for business, but there were families staying as well. It is great for both.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We had a great stay. The rooms are very comfortable. The staff is extremely helpful. The service is impeccable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The FSH Tokyo at Marunouchi is a superb little hotel with a fantastic location. Located steps away from the Tokyo Train Station, the hotel is within easy walking distance of both the Ginza Shopping District and the Imperial Palace. The Tsukiji Fish Market is either a 10-minute cab ride or about an hour walk away.

The rooms are big (especially by Tokyo standards) and well equipped. They have a modern, clean (slightly minimalist) design, with lots of light and great views train station. Don't worry, the trains are not noisy and it is fun to watch the bullet trains pull into and out of the train station. Basic internet services for one device is included in the hotel rate. Connectivity was easy and download speeds from websites were ok. It took about 4 minutes to download the most recent issue of the Economist.

The hotel's only restaurant (ekki Bar & Grill) was very good. I had an excellent dinner there. There are tons of places to eat at all price categories within easy walking distance of the hotel.

The service levels are great. The front door, front desk and concierge staff are all very helpful. Local travel arrangements were made much easier with their assistance (especially Japanese instructions to taxi drivers and train ticket agents) and restaurant suggestions were great. Take advantage of the hotel's platform greeting: the Tokyo Train Station is quite large, and if you are a little groggy from a long flight, it is easy to take a wrong step.

A few tips:

1. FSH instructs you to take the "Yaesu South Exit". As you get off the train from the airport, there are only Yaesu Central and Yaesu North signs. Follow the "Yaesu Central Exit" signs until you see the "Yaesu South Exit" signs. And if you happen to miss them, no big deal: the Yaesu Central Exit will take you were you need to be (you still turn right when you reach the main street).

2. Taxi's are widely available and are exceptionally clean. The driver has a switch to automatically open and close the passenger door. They are a bit expensive but not overly so. Most don't speak any English so have your Japanese destination instructions with you and be sure to have return instructions for the hotel.

3. Definitely go to the Tsukiji Fish Market. And you don't need to get up at 4:00 am. While I missed the auction, I went down about 8:30 am and saw lots of action in the inner market. Also, it is unbelievably clean with no "fish smell" at all. Great sushi is available in the outer market. All-in-all, very impressive!

4. Kamakura, about an hour from Tokyo by train, is a great place to visit for the day. It is a quant little village with about 15 shrines and temples within close proximity. It is a great place to walk and english signage makes it easy to get from one temple to the next. Please note that the station immediately before "Kamakura" is "Kita-Kamakura". You can get off at either station though "Kamakura" is at the centre of the town.

5. Excellent ramen noodles at "Ippudo" in the nearby Marunouchi Brick Square. (This was recommended by the hotel.)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHMarunouchi, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear BASLJM,

Thank you for wonderful thoughts about our little hotel here in Tokyo. Your points of advice are also very valuable for anyone visiting Tokyo. I hope that we can welcome you back to us in the not too distant future.

All the best

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This was our second time at this Four Seasons and it was as great the the first one.

The rooms are spaciuos, the service perfect.

Room service is avalaible 24h and very high quality.

Minibar has all you need and water is complimentary.

You can get a comlimentary greeting welcome at the Narita station where personel from the hotel will meet you and take you and your luggage to the hotel.

Breackfast is a la carte, no buffet.

The sap doesn't have a manicure service, only massage.

The hotel is in the heart of Ginza. Always a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHMarunouchi, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Costantina,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about our little boutique hotel. I very much apprechiated your feedback and I hope to see you back in Tokyo soon again.

All the best

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I can't imagine a more perfect place to have stayed during our first trip to Tokyo. As other reviewers have said, staying at the Four Seasons Marunouchi feels like coming home. It is an oasis of warmth, comfort and personal attention in the biggest city in the world. The staff is kind, warm and incredibly helpful with everything from transportation to restaurant reservations, and even explanations of the local culture. My wife and I had many long conversations with staff members to ask for help with various things, and they never once made us feel rushed or that we were taking them away from more important things. During the middle of our trip, we left the city for a few days to see Kyoto and Hakone, and when we returned everyone remembered where we had gone and asked about our trip. One of the best services they offer is meeting you at the train station and walking you to the hotel. It's a wonderful way to arrive in the city. When it was time for us to leave Tokyo and take the train back out to the airport, Kaye walked us all the way to our train, made sure we got on the right car, and then didn't leave until our train took off. Our last memory of Tokyo was looking out our train window to see a wonderful member of the Four Seasons staff waving us goodbye. We hope to get to Tokyo again one day soon, and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHMarunouchi, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Erik,

It was a pleasure to have you and your wife here with us in Tokyo. Thank you for recognizing Kaye, she is a marvelous employee and a true ambassador for Four Seasons and Japan. I thoroughly enjoyed our chat at breakfast and I hope that we will see both of you back with us again soon.

All the best

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We were met at the train station after a ski trip in northern Japan by a representative of the hotel. She was there with a cart to take our skis and escort us to the hotel. What a great service and at no charge. The staff were very attentive. The location is centralized to many tourist spots. The rooms are large, modern, and very comfortable.

The Concierge arranged a 4wd car for our ski trip before we arrived in Japan. We were unable to find a 4wd car on are own. The staff were equally helpful when we arrived at the hotel.

This is my second time that I stayed at this hotel and would do it again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the trains is great for watching all the bullet trains come and go.. It is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHMarunouchi, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Sheldon,

Thank you for taking your time to complete a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the services of the concierge and greeting service at the train station. It sounds like you enjoyed your trip to the snow fields and we look forward to welcoming you back to Tokyo soon again. The Cherry Blossoms have just started to show and the Tokyoites are out celebrating.

All the best

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi

Address: 1-11-1 Marunouchi | Pacific Century Place, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-6277, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Tokyo At Marunouchi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo At Marunouchi Japan
Four Seasons Chiyoda
Chiyoda Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.