We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ideal Place to Stay in Tokyo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-11-1 Marunouchi | Pacific Century Place, Chiyoda 100-6277, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 550 Reviews
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Ideal Place to Stay in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I can't imagine a more perfect place to have stayed during our first trip to Tokyo. As other reviewers have said, staying at the Four Seasons Marunouchi feels like coming home. It is an oasis of warmth, comfort and personal attention in the biggest city in the world. The staff is kind, warm and incredibly helpful with everything from transportation to restaurant reservations, and even explanations of the local culture. My wife and I had many long conversations with staff members to ask for help with various things, and they never once made us feel rushed or that we were taking them away from more important things. During the middle of our trip, we left the city for a few days to see Kyoto and Hakone, and when we returned everyone remembered where we had gone and asked about our trip. One of the best services they offer is meeting you at the train station and walking you to the hotel. It's a wonderful way to arrive in the city. When it was time for us to leave Tokyo and take the train back out to the airport, Kaye walked us all the way to our train, made sure we got on the right car, and then didn't leave until our train took off. Our last memory of Tokyo was looking out our train window to see a wonderful member of the Four Seasons staff waving us goodbye. We hope to get to Tokyo again one day soon, and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHMarunouchi, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Erik,

It was a pleasure to have you and your wife here with us in Tokyo. Thank you for recognizing Kaye, she is a marvelous employee and a true ambassador for Four Seasons and Japan. I thoroughly enjoyed our chat at breakfast and I hope that we will see both of you back with us again soon.

All the best

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    87
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
168
166
38
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We were met at the train station after a ski trip in northern Japan by a representative of the hotel. She was there with a cart to take our skis and escort us to the hotel. What a great service and at no charge. The staff were very attentive. The location is centralized to many tourist spots. The rooms are large, modern, and very comfortable.

The Concierge arranged a 4wd car for our ski trip before we arrived in Japan. We were unable to find a 4wd car on are own. The staff were equally helpful when we arrived at the hotel.

This is my second time that I stayed at this hotel and would do it again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the trains is great for watching all the bullet trains come and go.. It is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHMarunouchi, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Sheldon,

Thank you for taking your time to complete a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the services of the concierge and greeting service at the train station. It sounds like you enjoyed your trip to the snow fields and we look forward to welcoming you back to Tokyo soon again. The Cherry Blossoms have just started to show and the Tokyoites are out celebrating.

All the best

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Convenient to train station, shopping and the Imperial Gardens, excellent attentive service (possibly the best I have had in this price range or lower), modern, clean, beautiful rooms. Made for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHMarunouchi, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Alexander L,

It is always a pleasure to read comments from guests that have enjoyed their stay with us here in Japan. We are a small boutique hotel so our amenities are limited compared to other hotels in the area but I believe we make it up in the personalized service the team delivers every day. I hope to see you back wit us soon again. All the best

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in February 2012. From checkin to checkout we had a wonderful stay. The Manager, Daniel Simon, was there to greet us upon arrival! Having been to Tokyo several times I am used to expecting smaller rooms. We were upgraded to an executive suite which was simply impressive in décor and amenities.

The AV system is very modern (built in) and we used both the living room and AV systems to play our music and watch a movie from our iPad on the large flat screen TV. A super nice touch is that all the cords you need are provided.

The bathroom area was well stocked with L’Occitane toiletries of every kind and not the tiny little bottles which only last 1 night either. Deep soaker tub, separate shower and spacious walkin closet in the bathroom area.

Service was impeccable – not once did we ever see a housekeeping cart or even a door open for cleaning during our stay. Staff always greeted us by name and speaking English was not an issue at all.

They have a Nespresso machine in the room with a frother. A really nice touch is they include a container of milk in the fridge – forget tiny creamers or the like. The Nespresso pods were always replenished – even the milk during our stay!

Turndown service always occurred without request. The staff were helpful at every encounter. Bottles of water are included at the bedside (there is nothing more annoying than a 5 star hotel charging for bottled water in the room!)

A very nice touch is that the 1F entrance has a Jura machine for making coffee/cappuccino as well as juices in the mornings.

The gym has several treadmills, free weights and lots of fixed machines. The fitness room is located in the spa and one can use the locker rooms, as well as showers/steam room and onsen in the locker rooms. Again – wonderful amenities and nice lockers.

We had our room facing Tokyo station and I agree with other reviews, this is not a negative as watching the trains come and go was very enjoyable – and the floor to ceiling double paned windows kept out any noise.

The small number of rooms – 57 in total – really makes this hotel a winner. Everything feels so personal and intimate. Quiet elegant luxury. Well worth the price – a home away from home in Tokyo.
We did not eat in the restaurant so can not comment on it. We did have a wonderful meal at Tateru Yoshino in Ginza.

The location adjacent to Tokyo Station can not be beat for connections to Narita, and travel outside of Tokyo. We used both the subway and train.

Hint – buy the Suica + N’Ex pass from the JR ticket office when you arrive at Narita. You get quite a savings on the Narita ticket (available only to foreign visitorss) and the Suica is much more convenient than buying tickets

Room Tip: Room facing Tokyo Station are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHMarunouchi, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear SLin96,

Thank you for those very very nice words about me and the team here at Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

All the best

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

clean n brilliant hotel, nice n detail-minded staff, def. recommend the stay, esp the superior king room overlooking the tokyo station!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHMarunouchi, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear cathyeureka_woo,

Thank you so mych! Looking froward to welcoming you back to Tokyo soon again.

All the best

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

What do you seek in Marunouchi? The heart of the business in Japan is in front of me. Mitsubishi head office functions, SMBC, Hitachi, typical of Japanese companies are concentrated. Ginza, Japan's upscale commercial district, Traditional Culture of Japanese, Kabuki can see in Ginza. Tsukiji where is many sushi restaurant fish market is one of the most famous in the world. Akihabara is no need to explain. Everything is within 2 kilometers. Hotel's location is in front of Tokyo station. There is only 15-minute by train ride to Disneyland. Business? Tourism? Elegant stay? I think all will come true. It is a amazing place. This is THE MARUNOUCHI.

Room Tip: Room No. 02-09 for railfan. I stayed at 404. Good view. I look at SHINKANSEN very near.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHMarunouchi, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Koji-kun,

Thank you for your wonderful review, next time you come you should try our plarail package, we will set up a Plarail train in your room. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon again.

All the best

Daniel Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Due to weather we missed our connecting flight from Tokyo to Singapore and consequently had to spend almost a full day in Tokyo beginning with our arrival at Haneda at 1am. Fortunately I had booked the Four Seasons before leaving San Francisco. When we arrived at the Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi we were greeted warmly by the hotel representative who took our bags, handled the check in and escorted us to our room. After getting several hours of rest we had a great breakfast at the hotel and ended up talking with Dan Simon, The General Manager, who after learning of our unplanned visit to Tokyo, offered some suggestions on what to see and took us to talk with the concierge. Mr. Simon extended our check out to 6pm as we had an 11:35pm flight to Singapore. We spent the day seeing the Imperial Gardens, walking through Ginza and seeing Sensoji Temple. Hotel staff was fantastic and we ended up having a memorable visit thanks to the Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHMarunouchi, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Prescott#2007,

Thank you for the glowing review. We enjoyed having the you both stay with us though it was a very short visist. I hope you enjoyed your cruise.

All the best

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi

Address: 1-11-1 Marunouchi | Pacific Century Place, Chiyoda 100-6277, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#1 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Tokyo At Marunouchi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo At Marunouchi Japan
Four Seasons Chiyoda
Chiyoda Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.