We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best big city hotel we have ever stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Palace Hotel Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 378 Reviews
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best big city hotel we have ever stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Writing this review brings me joy, because of the memories it brings back to me. Everything about this hotel is classic beauty, from the woods to the flowers to the sculptures to the elevators! We did reserve a club level room which undoubtedly enhanced our experience. As we went to check in, and the lobby level clerk brought up our reservation, he said, "Oh Sir, you have a separate check-in in the Club Lounge on the 19th floor. He then had someone escort us up there. From then on, we were in the hands of the delicate and beautiful Shoko and the rest of the staff, who could not be more helpful and wonderful. The club lounge was a wonderful place for both happy hour and breakfast. Happy hour included wonderful drinks and excellent draft beer, with appetizers and salad that would easily have substituted for dinner. The tomatoes in the salad were farmer's market tasty and will make it very hard for me to tolerate what passes for a tomato in the USA. Breakfast, which we were told would not be particularly sumptuous, had everything we wanted - great coffee, fresh-squeezed orange and grapefruit juice, wonderful croissants and pastries with flaky crust like the best Parisian cafe, perfect scrambled eggs and breakfast. The lounge also has a balcony with a panoramic view of the Imperial Palace and gardens, and we even got to see Mt. Fuji in the distance.
Our room was spacious and elegant, our balcony was spacious with comfortable chairs and table for enjoying the outside. Amenities were abundant and opulent. I'd go back in a minute.

Room Tip: Club level room with balcony - no question
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    77
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
71
99
30
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I last stayed at The Palace 20 odd years ago - it was the typical expat business hotel, long grey corridors and plenty of beige. It's changed: the hotel and indeed this area of the city, have had a makeover. The hotel tries - and succeeds - to capture an element of Japan, whether it be in the relatively minimal rooms, flowers (sensational) or just the general decor. This is not a Four Seasons or a Peninsula, and all the better for it. If you want an international hotel of 5 star standard (or more), but want a change from the usual suspects, then this is the hotel to stay at. Best rooms gave balconies and overlook the Imperial Palace. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Palace Hotel is undoubtedly one of the best hotels in Tokyo. The staff is friendly, courteous and very helpful. The rooms were large, clean, well stocked and very comfortable. The fitness center is also great - and one of the best hotel gyms i have seen - good for both a good cardio workout or weights.
There is an underground link to Tokyo Station, which will just about bring you anywhere you wish to go! I stayed for business and eventually extended my stay with the hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the imperial gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

It was my first time to the region, and I was particularly nervous about traveling alone to a non-English speaking country. I chose the Palace Hotel not only because of the great reviews, but the multiple comments about their English-speaking staff and amazing customer service. I can't say enough wonderful things about the hotel and the staff. The hospitality is unparalleled. Everyone from the valet to the receptionist to the restaurant staff was genuinely warm, courteous and wonderfully helpful. My double room was exquisite - luxuriously comfortable and spacious. The attention to detail was incredible. The bathroom was stunning and spacious (by American standards) with a jacuzzi-size bathtub, bidet (with warmed toilet seat), a small flat tv built into the bathroom mirror, high-end toiletry products, and baby-bottom soft bathrobes!

I had a lovely view of the Imperial Palace grounds from my room, as the Imperial Palace was literally across the street from the hotel. Speaking of convenience, the hotel is only walking distance from the amazing Marunouchi restaurants and shops and Tokyo station, making all of Tokyo easily accessible.

I can't recommend it strongly enough, other than to say I would give it more than 5 stars if I could. It was by far one of the best hotel experiences of my life! No question, it will be my first choice to stay the next time I visit Tokyo.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Undoubtedly one of the top hotels in Tokyo, if not the best! Excellent location with only a short walk to the Palace, Tokyo Station, Ginza etc. Rooms are very large by Japanese standards and furnishings are excellent. My room was on one of the club floors, offering access to the top floor club with patio--an excellent perk with a truly phenomenal staff and excellent amenities. I found the staff to be very helpful/polite and every aspect of my stay was excellent. I will absolutely be back next time I am in Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Wow, I recently traveled to Japan with my two teenage children, childhood dream since watching Shogun with my mum when I was 12.

We stayed for 4 nights at this amazing hotel, first class food and a room view to die for. we had a room on the 15th Floor which overlooked the imperial palace complex with the greenery of the park and the backdrop of the city.

This hotel has its own metro stop, with a shopping centre as well and great views from the swimming pool and wellness centre on the 5th floor.

Very polite staff and impeccably clean, this i s a very modern and ultra cool hotel.

Room Tip: The higher floors have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This Hotel is very luxurious with views out over the Imperial Palace. It would appear that every room gets a view. The rooms are large and have the quietest air conditioners I have come across. There is a DVD player in all rooms and you can even play your iPhone through the TV speakers. International power sockets are built in. Bathrobes are provided as are nightshirts. There is nothing they haven't thought of!!
My only criticism is there was no Japanese food offered in the buffet breakfast. It was a very Western affair.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-1-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#9 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Hotel Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable perspective on the city and a singular, moat-side location across from the Imperial Palace gardens, Palace Hotel Tokyo opened on 17 May 2012 in the city's Marunouchi business district as part of a JPY 90 billion mixed-used development that includes 290 guestrooms, 10 restaurants and bars, and Japan’s very first evian SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palace Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.