We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New favorite hotel in Tokyo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Palace Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Palace Hotel Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0005, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 59 hotels in Chiyoda
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New favorite hotel in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Thank goodness the Palace Hotel opened! It is by far the best hotel I've stayed at in Tokyo. As other reviewers have said, it does a wonderful job of combining traditional Japanese style and service with a modern feel. As soon as you enter the hotel you are greeted by the most wonderful smell. It's actually a scent you can buy from the spa. The rooms I've stayed in are beautiful and much larger than in other Tokyo hotels I've stayed in. it's also in a great location next to the Imperial Palace which if you're interested in exercising is a good spot for a run, although the gym in the hotel is also fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    50
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
44
56
16
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HONG KONG
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel entirely rebuild from the venerable Palace Hotel. Magnificent combination of style between traditional Japanese and modern styles. Just beautiful everywhere in the lobby, in the rooms, in the restaurants and bars.... very attentive, efficient and polite service. As a typhoon approached I ventured to the concierge to rebook my flight earlier. The concierge rearranged everything on a sunday morning in 5 minutes. The room is spacious well appointed with a delightful balcony and incredible view on the imperial palace ground. At night incredible silence despite beeing at the very heart of Tokyo.
This place is just special. Of course other hotels in Tokyo are also excellent: The Ritz Carlton in Midtown, The Peninsula nearby in Yorakucho, The Mandarin Oriental in Nihonbashi, the Park Hyatt in Shinjuku, Capital Tokyo in Akasaka ( may be the clever quality vs. price choice!) but in my view the Palace Hotel will give you both incredible beauty and luxury and a a genuine Japanese experience. May be the best city hotel in the world.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. I was lucky to be upgraded to 23rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Well, if you think you have stayed at the Best Hotel ever, and you have yet to bunk at the Palace Hotel in Tokyo, think again.
No detail is overlooked with excellence being an everyday standard.
The rooms are spacious and inviting, with views abounding. The Concierge floors are crazy good and the lounge,service and all the trimmings is excellent.

Room baths are ample and full of ammenities. Let's face it, this is a real, and rare business or family treat.....four thumbs up for sure.

Room Tip: 18th floor and above...try to ask for a balcony....it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights after arriving late from Lax and cannot say better things about this place. Rooms are big for Japan and bathrooms are huge and even the worst rooms have a fantastic view of the park and imperial palace. We loved how roomy and spacious the lobby area is and how tranquil and relaxing the setting is along the moat, yet sitting right above Otemachi station and a short walk to Tokyo station. Next time I visit Tokyo, this will be my one and only option.

Room Tip: Any room is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you're looking for an upmarket hotel around the Marunouchi / Chiyoda area then this hotel is perfect - only a short walk (5-6 mins) from Tokyo Station. It's a well maintained and formal hotel - rooms are large for Tokyo standard and the views over the palace grounds are fantastic.

The gym is good and the spa / gym staff are helpful and willing to show you around.

If you want to eat / drink somewhere a bit less formal than the hotels bars and lounges try the restaurants and pub in the basement complex; they're good value for money and a bit more relaxed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is *the* hotel to choose in Tokyo! It offers unique views of the Imperial Palace garden, and has sumptuous rooms with modern technology (like mirror built-in TV in the bathroom, 46 inch TV in the room). I had a great time there, either on the large balcony admiring the view, or in the Evian Spa and its 20m long pool. Service was irreproachable, and housekeeping of an elite level. After my stay here, I won't go anywhere else when back in Tokyo!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel with my spouse during our first trip to Japan. The hotel is located close to the Imperial Palace and we had a beautiful view over a park with the Tokyo skyscrapers which was amazing especially at evening. The room is large, the bathroom is perfect, the beds are very comfortable and we had a large balcony as well. The staff is very polite and professional. Free wireless internet is available all over the hotel. The Ginza district is in a waking distance, other destinations can be reached by the subway which has a station under the hotel. The only negatives are that the breakfast is nothing special, the inroom lightening is tricky and we missed a proper desk (but we had a relatively huge table we could use for working). Altogether one of the best hotels I have ever been to.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking downtown Tokyo
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palace Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Tokyo

Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Tokyo Japan
Address: 1-1-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0005, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#13 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Hotel Tokyo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable perspective on the city and a singular, moat-side location across from the Imperial Palace gardens, Palace Hotel Tokyo opened on 17 May 2012 in the city's Marunouchi business district as part of a JPY 90 billion mixed-used development that includes 290 guestrooms, 10 restaurants and bars, and Japan’s very first evian SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Palace Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.