We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Japanese, Modern and Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Palace Hotel Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
HONG KONG
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazingly Japanese, Modern and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel entirely rebuild from the venerable Palace Hotel. Magnificent combination of style between traditional Japanese and modern styles. Just beautiful everywhere in the lobby, in the rooms, in the restaurants and bars.... very attentive, efficient and polite service. As a typhoon approached I ventured to the concierge to rebook my flight earlier. The concierge rearranged everything on a sunday morning in 5 minutes. The room is spacious well appointed with a delightful balcony and incredible view on the imperial palace ground. At night incredible silence despite beeing at the very heart of Tokyo.
This place is just special. Of course other hotels in Tokyo are also excellent: The Ritz Carlton in Midtown, The Peninsula nearby in Yorakucho, The Mandarin Oriental in Nihonbashi, the Park Hyatt in Shinjuku, Capital Tokyo in Akasaka ( may be the clever quality vs. price choice!) but in my view the Palace Hotel will give you both incredible beauty and luxury and a a genuine Japanese experience. May be the best city hotel in the world.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. I was lucky to be upgraded to 23rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    92
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
91
126
34
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palm City, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Well, if you think you have stayed at the Best Hotel ever, and you have yet to bunk at the Palace Hotel in Tokyo, think again.
No detail is overlooked with excellence being an everyday standard.
The rooms are spacious and inviting, with views abounding. The Concierge floors are crazy good and the lounge,service and all the trimmings is excellent.

Room baths are ample and full of ammenities. Let's face it, this is a real, and rare business or family treat.....four thumbs up for sure.

Room Tip: 18th floor and above...try to ask for a balcony....it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights after arriving late from Lax and cannot say better things about this place. Rooms are big for Japan and bathrooms are huge and even the worst rooms have a fantastic view of the park and imperial palace. We loved how roomy and spacious the lobby area is and how tranquil and relaxing the setting is along the moat, yet sitting right above Otemachi station and a short walk to Tokyo station. Next time I visit Tokyo, this will be my one and only option.

Room Tip: Any room is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you're looking for an upmarket hotel around the Marunouchi / Chiyoda area then this hotel is perfect - only a short walk (5-6 mins) from Tokyo Station. It's a well maintained and formal hotel - rooms are large for Tokyo standard and the views over the palace grounds are fantastic.

The gym is good and the spa / gym staff are helpful and willing to show you around.

If you want to eat / drink somewhere a bit less formal than the hotels bars and lounges try the restaurants and pub in the basement complex; they're good value for money and a bit more relaxed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is *the* hotel to choose in Tokyo! It offers unique views of the Imperial Palace garden, and has sumptuous rooms with modern technology (like mirror built-in TV in the bathroom, 46 inch TV in the room). I had a great time there, either on the large balcony admiring the view, or in the Evian Spa and its 20m long pool. Service was irreproachable, and housekeeping of an elite level. After my stay here, I won't go anywhere else when back in Tokyo!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel with my spouse during our first trip to Japan. The hotel is located close to the Imperial Palace and we had a beautiful view over a park with the Tokyo skyscrapers which was amazing especially at evening. The room is large, the bathroom is perfect, the beds are very comfortable and we had a large balcony as well. The staff is very polite and professional. Free wireless internet is available all over the hotel. The Ginza district is in a waking distance, other destinations can be reached by the subway which has a station under the hotel. The only negatives are that the breakfast is nothing special, the inroom lightening is tricky and we missed a proper desk (but we had a relatively huge table we could use for working). Altogether one of the best hotels I have ever been to.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking downtown Tokyo
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

It was recommended by an sub-contractor friend. I believe it is one of the best domestically operated hotel in Tokyo. The hotel has been totally refurbished, since Tokyo is an extremely competitive hospitality market. The hotel facilities are not only first class, but also the service. Not only was the club floor service was superb, but also the bell captain was extremely knowledgeable of the city. Two thumbs up!. If one would have time, I would highly recommend their French restaurant, Crown. I believe they are one there way towards earning michelin star!
Two thumbs up!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the palace is the feel of an oasis in the metropolitan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-1-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Hotel Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable perspective on the city and a singular, moat-side location across from the Imperial Palace gardens, Palace Hotel Tokyo opened on 17 May 2012 in the city's Marunouchi business district as part of a JPY 90 billion mixed-used development that includes 290 guestrooms, 10 restaurants and bars, and Japan’s very first evian SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LHW, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Splendia, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Palace Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.