We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic luxury hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Palace Hotel Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A fantastic luxury hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The Palace is a truly great hotel. It is brand new, luxurious and the rooms are huge compared to others I have stayed in in Japan. The hotel is located opposite the gate to the Imperial Palace and overlooks the gardens and Palace with the tokyo skyline as a backdrop. It was like an oasis within this metropolis. The room we stayed in had a large and private balcony. The service throughout the hotel was terrific, we were travelling with 2 young children and the staff made them feel very welcome. The pool and the fitness centre was great and the hotel waived the $20 pool fee for us after a request from our travel agent in Japan. The hotel was an easy walk to the subway and also to Tokyo station for the bullet train. There was a number of restaurants and cafes in the arcade below the hotel including a fantastic Italian restaurant and the obligatory Irish pub if you need a bit of western food and tv. We had planned to stay at the Peninsula which was unavailable but will definitely stay at the Palace next time we are in tokyo.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    91
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
87
122
33
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was there for a short stay in between 2 cities. I booked the special rate online and to my surprise it was value to money paid stay. Room was clean and crisp, not simply because of the renovation, but it was maintained very well. Front Line staff at the driveway was nice and friendly. Reception staff was polite and professional, but must say that they do not exude friendliness and warmth, which is probably very typical tendency in Japan as being polite, is focused more than being friendly. The room was small but the space was utilized very efficiently so you do not feel that it is small. Bathroom and amenity is gorgeous, I wish I could have stayed a bit longer.
Used bar and Sushi place. Again, bar server was polite and professional but did not feel the sense of warm welcome. Then we moved on to the Sushi Restaurant. We were very lucky to be able to get ourselves in that night. It is small 10 counter seats place but the head chef there was probably the most engaging and friendly personnel that we met in the hotel. Quality of the foods were immaculate, as well as the service. It was not a cheap dinner but it was worth it, and it was truly entertaining!
Overall, I had great time, and I may have just find another hotel on my list of top hotels in Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A lovely hotel to stay in when in Tokyo. It overlooks the Palace, so one can take a walk or run around the palace's outer premises. It is a 5-7 minutes walk to the Tokyo Station. The rooms are beautifully put together; very nice bathroom. The lobby cafe has an outdoor seating which was lovely in the morning (for breakfast) and in the early evening for drinks/snacks. The only down side to the choice of restaurant was that the cafe didn't serve simple japanese food. There was a very fancy and expensive Japanese restaurant though.

All in all, it was a lovely hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I attended a wedding at this hotel and is was just beautiful. The Chapel looks like something from heaven. The meal was fantastic and each dish was like view a beautiful painting. Everything about this hotel is 20 out 10. Next time I come to Japan I am going to stay a few nights here.

Room Tip: Did not stay here just attended a wedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

A room balcony and lounge chair to look over downtown Tokyo and the water of the Imperial Palace! One year old, rebuilt and luxurious/modern. Middle of central business district where all major corporations are. Nothing like it. Peninsula, Ritz and Hyatt are great but the Palace location and views are second to none. A new high standard of luxury in Tokyo. Lovely sitting area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in! Everything about it was what a 5-star hotel should be....Pricey, but if you like to splurge or are accustomed to travelling at this level, this hotel is well worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

As per all the other reviews, this hotel was excellent at every level of hospitality.

The view over Tokyo and the Palace was stunning.

Our last 2 nights here in Tokyo were a true joy, the people here gave us an incredible experience, the balcony room perfect with all amenities fit for royalty.The club lounge was superb and I would highly recommend a package with the club lounge included. We tried to get into the hotel restaurants but they were fully booked during our stay.
The hotel is well positioned especially with the subway in the basement, a good assortment of small restaurants, cafes and for something different an Irish bar!! catering for all budgets,all down stairs

Here or the conrad both different and amazing - we can't wait to get back!!

Room Tip: Club room or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-1-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Hotel Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable perspective on the city and a singular, moat-side location across from the Imperial Palace gardens, Palace Hotel Tokyo opened on 17 May 2012 in the city's Marunouchi business district as part of a JPY 90 billion mixed-used development that includes 290 guestrooms, 10 restaurants and bars, and Japan’s very first evian SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LHW, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Splendia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palace Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.