We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, Great Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Palace Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palace Hotel Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0005, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
City Escapes
Ranked #4 of 59 hotels in Chiyoda
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value, Great Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was there for a short stay in between 2 cities. I booked the special rate online and to my surprise it was value to money paid stay. Room was clean and crisp, not simply because of the renovation, but it was maintained very well. Front Line staff at the driveway was nice and friendly. Reception staff was polite and professional, but must say that they do not exude friendliness and warmth, which is probably very typical tendency in Japan as being polite, is focused more than being friendly. The room was small but the space was utilized very efficiently so you do not feel that it is small. Bathroom and amenity is gorgeous, I wish I could have stayed a bit longer.
Used bar and Sushi place. Again, bar server was polite and professional but did not feel the sense of warm welcome. Then we moved on to the Sushi Restaurant. We were very lucky to be able to get ourselves in that night. It is small 10 counter seats place but the head chef there was probably the most engaging and friendly personnel that we met in the hotel. Quality of the foods were immaculate, as well as the service. It was not a cheap dinner but it was worth it, and it was truly entertaining!
Overall, I had great time, and I may have just find another hotel on my list of top hotels in Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    61
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
54
75
22
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A lovely hotel to stay in when in Tokyo. It overlooks the Palace, so one can take a walk or run around the palace's outer premises. It is a 5-7 minutes walk to the Tokyo Station. The rooms are beautifully put together; very nice bathroom. The lobby cafe has an outdoor seating which was lovely in the morning (for breakfast) and in the early evening for drinks/snacks. The only down side to the choice of restaurant was that the cafe didn't serve simple japanese food. There was a very fancy and expensive Japanese restaurant though.

All in all, it was a lovely hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I attended a wedding at this hotel and is was just beautiful. The Chapel looks like something from heaven. The meal was fantastic and each dish was like view a beautiful painting. Everything about this hotel is 20 out 10. Next time I come to Japan I am going to stay a few nights here.

Room Tip: Did not stay here just attended a wedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

A room balcony and lounge chair to look over downtown Tokyo and the water of the Imperial Palace! One year old, rebuilt and luxurious/modern. Middle of central business district where all major corporations are. Nothing like it. Peninsula, Ritz and Hyatt are great but the Palace location and views are second to none. A new high standard of luxury in Tokyo. Lovely sitting area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in! Everything about it was what a 5-star hotel should be....Pricey, but if you like to splurge or are accustomed to travelling at this level, this hotel is well worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

As per all the other reviews, this hotel was excellent at every level of hospitality.

The view over Tokyo and the Palace was stunning.

Our last 2 nights here in Tokyo were a true joy, the people here gave us an incredible experience, the balcony room perfect with all amenities fit for royalty.The club lounge was superb and I would highly recommend a package with the club lounge included. We tried to get into the hotel restaurants but they were fully booked during our stay.
The hotel is well positioned especially with the subway in the basement, a good assortment of small restaurants, cafes and for something different an Irish bar!! catering for all budgets,all down stairs

Here or the conrad both different and amazing - we can't wait to get back!!

Room Tip: Club room or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

There was a special aromatherapy once you step into the hotel. It was a mixture of perhaps citrus and a wood. The hotel is fitted with art pieces in every corner. Being next to the Palace, yo have the luxury of just walking over and running around the Palace - and inhaling the fresh air that envelops the palace and the hotel.

The staff were ultra attentive.

And last but not least, you must try the special chocolate from the bakery in the basement. They are sheets of chocolate with traditional pattern "engraved" into each sheet of chocolate. The whole packaging is just another experience in an of itself.

The only place that is worth staying in Tokyo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palace Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-1-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0005, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#10 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Hotel Tokyo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable perspective on the city and a singular, moat-side location across from the Imperial Palace gardens, Palace Hotel Tokyo opened on 17 May 2012 in the city's Marunouchi business district as part of a JPY 90 billion mixed-used development that includes 290 guestrooms, 10 restaurants and bars, and Japan’s very first evian SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Palace Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.