We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwhelmingly beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Palace Hotel Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 378 Reviews
newyork
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Overwhelmingly beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I had stayed at the Palace 7 years ago and loved it, for comfort, service and location (close to Tokyo Station and the Otemachi metro station, and overlooking the Imperial Palace grounds). The hotel has since undergone a major expansion and renovation and recently reopened. It is now much bigger and grander. We were told that 80% of the rooms have views of the Palace grounds; our view was superb and our room included an outside balcony. The room was very spacious and well appointed, with every imaginable amenity. Overall the hotel is a beautiful property, but staying there was a bit overwhelming. Staffing levels and service standards are so high that, for us do-it-yourself Americans, walking through the lobby felt like running a gauntlet. After we used the gym (excellently equipped, by the way), staff members received our sweaty towels like a gift and ran ahead of us to open the exit door and press the elevator button for us. Generally, of course, Japanese service standards are much higher than American and all those "arrigato gozaimasu"s can really make you feel appreciated. Yet, our conclusion was that next time we go to Tokyo, we will stay in a smaller, less grand hotel. Having said that, the Palace is a great indulgence if you love to be treated like royalty!

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded at no extra charge to a high, club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    77
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
71
99
30
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Convenient location- just a short walk to the tokyo station. Room is well designed with tasteful touch. The bathroom is well equipped and stylish. And this is only a standard room.

I should also add that the room offers a great view of the surrounding area. Breakfast had a good spread and was well prepared. I have no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights at this new hotel on a business trip. The location is across the street from an entrance to the Imperial Palace grounds. It is also only a couple of minutes walk from a metro station and about ten minutes walk from the famous Tokyo Station, where you can catch the Narita Express (departs about every thirty minutes and takes an hour to reach Narita Terminal 1 and 2. The hotel has very nice rooms with a sleek modern look and understated decor. Lots of modern features, including push-button controls for nearly everything and plenty of plug-ins for charging your electronic devices. Most of the rooms have views. Service from the staff is awesome and friendly. I did not try the restaurants or executive lounge on this trip, but The hotel has both. Another nice feature is that there are restaurants, fast food, and convenience stores a few minutes walk from the hotel in an underground shopping area that connects to Tokyo Station. One minor quibble is that simple printing tasks in the business center were more complex than you find at most hotels and they charge for even a self-printed boarding pass. Still, this is a very good hotel in my opinion. I would stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This newly renovated hotel was nothing but stunning. Located right in front of the Imperial Palace and in the middle of the most prestigious area of Tokyo, the view from the room was unbeatable both day and night. If you want to, you can jog or walk in the track surrounding the Palace's garden. I saw people doing it even until late at night and very early in the morning. You don't have to worry about getting harassed or robbed and the air was almost free of pollution. The hotel is also within walking distance to the Tokyo Station (also newly and beautifully renovated), subway stations and Ginza - a great walk even during the night. The room is classy, cozy and completed with everything even beyond one's expectation including a pajama and flat TV above the bathtub. TV channels are either Japanese or dubbed in Japanese but by turning the sound off you can still listen to the original version of the CNN, BBC, Discovery and Nat Geo channels in English. The service I would say was the best I had ever experienced, starting from the check in till check out time and all occasions in between. The staff seemed to do it wholeheartedly without expecting tips (it is not customary in Japan to accept tips from guests). One suggestion to the management, a welcome basket of fruits or Japanese delicacies in the room would add a little touch to the already excellent experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I cannot fault this hotel. I visited here on a business trip thus can't vouch for it as a family destination, nor can comment on value for money. But if someone else is picking up the tab, go for it. I was incredibly busy during my stay so saw nothing of Tokyo and far too little of the hotel. But if we focus simply on the room - which is what most business travellers need most of all - then it's fantastic. Exceptionally comfortable bed, glorious shower and bath, sumptuous towels and nightgowns, plenty of space, and brilliantly peaceful. I had time to dine only once in the restaurant and the food was first class. The bar is comfortable and spacious and one never has the sense of being hurried. The Japanese reputation for politeness and service is well deserved and this hotel has impeccable staff from top to bottom. As a deeply reluctant voyager, this hotel reduces the pain of business travel and pointless conferences and fixed-smile introductions to a zero. Thanks so much, staff of the Palace, if I ever come back to Tokyo and can afford it, I won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: As always, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Beautiful renovation and amazing location overlooking the palace gardens! This grand dame of Tokyo is brilliant! Rooms with views and balconies the best. Gym is a little small for a newly renovated hotel though - food is ok but it is IMF World Bank week in Tokyo - they seem to be coping well with the influx of mega- egos!

Room Tip: Balcony with palace gardens view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel was a treat from my Japanese friend, as it was my first visit to the country. She wanted me to be comfortable my first night.... and was I ever comfortable! This hotel is AMAZING! Gorgeous rooms with views of the Imperial Palace area. The staff is wonderful and treats you like royalty from the moment you walk in. The only downside was that I only had one night here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-1-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#9 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Hotel Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable perspective on the city and a singular, moat-side location across from the Imperial Palace gardens, Palace Hotel Tokyo opened on 17 May 2012 in the city's Marunouchi business district as part of a JPY 90 billion mixed-used development that includes 290 guestrooms, 10 restaurants and bars, and Japan’s very first evian SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palace Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.