We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Andy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andy's Shin Hinomoto

Andy's Shin Hinomoto
2-4-4 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)
+81 3-3214-8021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4,506 Restaurants in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night Food, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love Andy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Reservations are a must as this is a very popular place and even the locals love eating here. I cannot believe that someone ealier has given a terrible review to this restaurant (izakaya). It is one of my favorites and their experience was far from ordinary. I would question whether a previous meal had actually contributed to their experience. Anyway, Andy's Shinhinomoto (New Japan) has fresh fish from tsukiji market served every day. It is delicous! Portion sizes are customized to the group visiting the restaurant. The veggies are fantastic and the scallops are the best I've tasted. The sashimi is rich and the king crab is succulent. I consider myself a regular and can't quit. Also a great place for larger groups. Don't forget to call ahead.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    20
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A truly enjoyable dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Visited while on business, Monday night , was packed, loud, a great atmosphere, plenty of appetizers, sake, tall beer steins, and the largest crab legs one could wish for. Nothing negative to report, excellent food, service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“So glad we found you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We tried several times to locate Andy`s. They only accept telephone reservations but we emailed enquiring and were given directions and an early slot. The place was already busy at 5.30pm on a Friday evening. It is a really fantastic place. Long shared tables and ever attentive Andy to recommend your supper. Best tempura prawns we have tasted. Do go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow!! What a treasurer!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our group of 6 had diner at Andy's during our trip in Tokyo and it was devine! We didn't order from the menu but let Andy serve us his best dishes. By far the best Japanese food I ever ate! And very good value for money. Including a night full of drinks and food we paid 5000 yen pp. I could not think of anything negative about this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Interesting place !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had been recommended Andy's Shin and were very pleased we went. The atmosphere was amazing, it was packed, and it was great to have an English menu and people who could explain it. We love Japanese food but like lots of Brits are unfortunately rather sanitised in our food choices, and bream head or cod sperm don't necessarily appeal! We were rather cramped at our table but had a delicious meal with good wine and beer. My only gripe was the cigarette smoke, our neighbours were chain smoking and we are just not use to it any more. Would recommend though, and would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andy's Shin Hinomoto also viewed

 

Been to Andy's Shin Hinomoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andy's Shin Hinomoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.