We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, frequented by Japanese and expats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andy's Shin Hinomoto

Andy's Shin Hinomoto
2-4-4 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)
+81 3-3214-8021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4,583 Restaurants in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good food, frequented by Japanese and expats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were taken to this restaurant twice. Andy makes a great host and the food is excellent quality and value. The menu is very extensive and we just kept asking for recommendations and asking the servers for dishes we saw being delivered to other tables. Beer, Sake and Sochu (Andy's own brand) is all good value for Tokyo. The atmosphere on the weekend is amazing. Try to get a table upstairs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    19
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful, authentic, and English-speaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The best sashimi I've had in Tokyo (yes, better than the places around Tsukiji market) with the huge advantage of being able to ask what fish was in season, what is recommended, as well as getting a presentation of what fish i was eating, where it had been caught, etc.

The location is just south of the Yurakucho station, under the railway bridge/arch, in an area full of izakaya and yakitori places. On the inside it's sparsely decorated in a somewhat rustic manner, with visible wooden beams and such.

Andy is very friendly and helpful, as is the whole staff really, and the atmosphere is great with locals and expats side by side eating, drinking and being merry.

Wonderful place, highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best seafood you could wish for....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just returned from a boys long weekend to Tokyo with a mate and Andy's had been recommended to us. We booked (which is essential on +81 33214 8021) and were delighted with the evening. We arrived not knowing what to expect and found it on two floors under the railway arches. We ventured inside and were met by Andy, a Leicester lad who has lived in Japan for 25 years. The restaurant sits around 180 people and was totally packed. If you are looking for a quiet night in salubrious surroundings then look elsewhere but if you want a buzzing atmosphere, fabulous seafood at sensible prices, efficient service and are not worried about crowded spaces then you could not beat Andy's. The clientel included locals, business people in suits, expats who had clearly been there many times before and tourists like us who were first time visitors. Food choice was great with traditional Japanese options plus dishes with western influence but all top quality, super fresh and sourced daily by Andy at Tokyo's famous Tsukiji market. He sets his menu depending upon what he can source that morning at the right price and right quality. He even invited us to meet him one morning at Tsukiji and gave us a tour as he bargained with the stall holders for that evening's produce (see photo's). With 25 years experience in the business, Andy knows exactly how to run this type of restaurant, is passionate about what he does and was masterful in the way he ran the place with a calm efficiecy, authority and with little touches that make all the difference. Watching him work the floor and make everyone feel special was a lesson in how to run a successful restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Taken by friends and intrigued by the reviews we were not disappointed - great atmosphere, friendly service and wonderful food. Particularly enjoyed the sake, grapefruit and soda drink - whose effects became evident when got up !! Mixture of local and expat - cheek by jowl makes it all the more fun. Who thought dining under the arches could be such fun !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“English speaking Izakaya restaurant in Japan - any good?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We visited Andy's (Shin-Hinomoto) at Yurakucho, on the spur of the moment after reading some reviews. This was after a few days of blundering into Japanese speaking only restaurants and ordering "random" food (which turned out excellently and was fun - but that is another story). I had a bit of unspoken misgiving - can an "english speaking" Izakaya place owned by a Brit no less, be "authentic" and serve good Izakaya?

We showed up on a Thursday evening at about 7pm - restaurant was full and seating was by reservation only. But somehow, Andy and his lovely staff managed to squeezed us into a booth and accommodated us. The staff was very nice about everything and they came by with recommendations and pointers - we had so much food and all at a very reasonable (relative to other Izakaya places in Tokyo) price too! And yes to the question - Andy's rocks and is authentic! Love love love the food there....!

The restaurant isnt anything to shout about, but that's exactly it - it has its own charm in its "rustic-ness". I seldom recommend as assertively as this - if you like Izakaya, this is a must go to place! (the sashimi was so fresh!)

Bon appetit!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andy's Shin Hinomoto also viewed

 

Been to Andy's Shin Hinomoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andy's Shin Hinomoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.