We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Save Saved
You added The Capitol Hotel Tokyu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0014, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 59 hotels in Chiyoda
Adelaide, Sth Aust
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Every aspect of my visit was exemplary. From arrival to final departure, staff were very helpful and all seemed to have enough English for their role (also very well able to understand my limited Japanese). The room was excellently presented and well appointed. Plenty of hanging space and hangers for clothes and large bathroom with deep tub and separate shower. WiFi in rooms was good and no connection issues; although accessing WiFi in dining/lounge area using mobile devices was patchy. The breakfast buffet is done quite well; a tip for tea drinkers - ask specifically for cold milk (if you take it) otherwise you'll get hot, slightly foamed, milk. The bell captain was very helpful altering arrangements for a pre-booked car on departure. I only wish I had more time to explore the surrounding area. ありがとうございました。

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    112
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
87
198
42
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in Feb 2013 and liked it so much that we came back in late March 2014 for 6 nights. We enjoyed the recent stay as much as the previous time - spacious room, nice surrounding areas especially the Hie shrine and convenient location, lovely pool and good service. However, we experienced a couple of incidents rather disappointing and surprising of Capitol’s high standard.

One particular concierge who did not seem to try hard enough to assist hotel guests. We asked this concierge for directions to a garden and were told the train line and bus number to catch. We then asked if correct amount of money required or change can be given by the bus driver and he said “I don’t know”, I asked could he please find out and he just kept saying “I don’t know" and made no attempt to investigate further. We later went to the reception area to seek answers and made our displeasure of the concierge’s attitude known. Few days later we requested directions from hotel to Roppongi area and came across the same concierge. He printed the map promptly but all in Japanese and did not bother to write the main street names down in English luckily another staff came to the rescue!

We were catching the Airport Limousine bus from the hotel to Narita airport and were told to be at concierge desk at least 10 minutes prior to pickup time which we did. In fact we turned up 20 minutes before to collect our luggage. Concierge staff told us to go downstairs to wait for the bus and luggage would be taken down soon. However, the luggage did not appear until 5 minutes after the bus had arrived. It was not acceptable to take 25 minutes for luggage to be retrieved and taken to the hotel entrance!

Admittedly these incidents were relatively minor but more or less did not reflect well on Capitol’s service standard. Room for improvement!

We were told by hotel staff that the Hie shrine next to the hotel was very famous so we wandered in one Saturday morning. We saw three separate wedding processions which were very interesting. The brides were in traditional kimonos either white with a hood or full of bright colours. It was such a visual feast! highly recommend a visit to this shrine especially weekends.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view of the Hie shrine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lots of staff all jumping to help you with anything at all, with English ranging from adequate to good. Beautifully decorated. Restaurant is good but expensive – buffet breakfast US$43. In room wireless easy to use and quite fast. Undergrond tunnel to the subway is convenient.
Room: Huge with fantastic view and amenities, At $1600/night way way more than I would usually pay for, but in Tokyo in cherry blossom season the choices get limited

Room Tip: Upper floorss have beautiful views. The west side looks down on the Hie shrine, tye north side on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for four nights at the beginning of our trip around Japan and it was beyond amazing. The room was pretty spacious, sleeping was comfortable, amazing view of Mt. Fuji and Imperial palace grounds. Above all we stayed on the club floor which also had it's advantages - access to the library with little complimentary buffet and drinks all day long. The hotel also has a great and pleasant bar and couple of restaurants. You can choose from western style buffet or traditional Japanese breakfasts - both were great. Location of the hotel is pretty good - walking distance to Imperial Palace and on top of metro station. The staff was very helpful and everyone was extremely nice! We were refused the entrance to use the swimming pool because of our tattoos and we could use gym only wearing long trousers. It was the only unpleasant thing during our stay but on the other hand you can read about tattoos being taboo in every guide book on Japan that warns you that you can have trouble getting to public swimming pools, spas, gyms etc. So no harm there! I can only recommend Capitol hotel as it made our stay in Tokyo a totally unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

On my first visit to Tokyo, I chose this hotel because of the TripAdvisor online reviews and I was not disappointed. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

My son and I shared a room with two-twin beds that were very comfortable. The room was spacious with a desk, mini-bar, large soaking tub, dual point shower, large vanity, and a toilet with the Toto Washlet system. If you have never experienced the Toto "water" cleaning experience, then this is another good reason to book the hotel.

My son and I ate at two of the hotel restaurants and they were excellent, however be prepared for the high food prices. For example, a basket of delicious fried chicken cost around $25. On Sunday morning that had a traditional American buffet at one restaurant and a traditional Bento Box breakfast at their Japanese restaurant. I chose the Bento Box option, which was delicious and interesting, but be prepared to spend about $37 per person.

The hotel has a great gym and a pool. The gym had ample equipment, free weights, and space to workout. Bravo! The WiFi is free in the rooms but oddly on the lobby level the WiFi is not available. The WiFi speeds were good for business level work.

This is a first class hotel and there is ample staff to help you get around the city. I was able to grab the Tokyo metro right under the hotel. The local subways were clean but ask for a map because the signs can be a little confusing.

About 50 local restaurants are within a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel and the neighborhood is very safe. There is a Starbucks, 7-11, and wine store in the local area for the "must have" items you like to have from the USA. The majority of local food was Japanese but there were Italian, French, and British eateries available as well.

There are police and traffic cops about every block in this area because of local government buildings. I was walking up to 11 pm at night and felt very safe in this area. There are ample cabs running in this area so if you want to jump to another locale, it is very easy.


When I come back to Tokyo, I will surely be back at this hotel. Congratulations to the General Manager of this hotel, he/she has build a great staff that is focused on great service. Everyone spoke English so that was a plus for a first time visitor from the USA.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

My family stayed in this hotel after seeing the good reviews here. We were in three rooms over a week stay in Tokyo and really enjoyed the convenience of the hotel.

It sits on four subway lines, making it very useful for getting around. Be aware though that the G and C lines are very close but the M line requires a walk of about 700m. We learned after a day that if you are taking the M line from Shinjuku, to switch one station up at Akasaka to the G line and save the walk!

The rooms are large for Tokyo and well equipped. I like the layout with the sliding door and the very efficient bath area. Food in the hotel is decent but there are plenty of good choices in Tokyo so you shouldn't have to eat in much.

Service was faultless and just like everywhere else in Tokyo, the staff are very polite and willing to please. All in, this has now become my favourite hotel in Tokyo and it is great value compared to the Four Seasons / Hyatt

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Capitol Hotel for 4 nights to get a taste of Tokyo on the way back from a ski trip in Hokkaido. It was the perfect place for us. The room was very spacious and comfortable with high quality finishings and attention to detail. Bathroom had a luxurious bath and separate shower, both contained within a stylish wet-room. A particular feature is the huge window running along the length of the room which offers fantastic views out of the surrounding city.
The swimming pool and spa area is pleasant and relaxing. If you are not accustomed to Japanese customs- we ready to wear a hair cap and know that visible tattoos are not allowed (you will be refused entry).
There is access to the metro station at the basement of the hotel, meaning you do not need to go outside to catch a train - very handy. There are at least two or three restaurants in the hotel- we tried only the 'Origami' restaurant which was decent.
The location of the hotel is as good as any and really depends on where you want to spend time in Tokyo- we were travelling to different areas each day and hotel location was a good base for this.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Capitol Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan
Address: 2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0014, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capitol Hotel Tokyu 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is situated very conveniently in Akasaka, the heart of downtown Tokyo. It is located with easy access to famous shopping and dining areas such as Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Omotesando or Harajuku. Subway station with 4 lines is located right under the hotel. Guests are able to savor the quiet natural surroundings of Hie Shrine, a serene space surrounded by natural beaty where it is possible to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capitol Hotel Tokyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.