We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Tokyo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Capitol Hotel Tokyu to your Saves list
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0014, Japan   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in Tokyo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I usually stay at the ANA Intercontinental when inTokyo but this time was told to try the new Capitol Tokyu hotel.
I had stayed there before many years ago when it was a cosy but tired hotel where I think the Beatles had stayed in the 60s!
I wasn't sure what to expect this time but the hotel has well exceeded my expectations. The new hotel has very modern and spacious rooms and the level of service is excellent. We are on the 20th floor and have some fabulous views over Parliament looking beyond to Tokyo Skytree.
We are travelling as a family of 4 and have two very comfortable interconnecting rooms.
The only criticism I would have is that the one restaurant we tried, Origami, is not very good. In particular the breakfast is a bit dated.
That won't put me off staying here again though. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    152
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
119
256
51
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Originally I was going to book an American hotel as the rooms may be bigger. I was nicely surprised at the size of the standard room. Had a king bed with large bath area with separate room for the shower / tub combo. The rain shower head was quite nice and the water pressure was strong. Being from America, the toilet was quite amusing. Heated seat was very unique! It has 2 bath robes, 2 pair of slippers and plenty of toiletries for you to use. Rooms were clean and modern. There was a small refrig with drinks also. We got upgraded to larger room for free just for being a "I Prefer" memeber which was a free membership. This is definitely a no brainer to sign up before you get there. We were there 7 nights and thoroughly looked forward to going home to a spacious & luxurious room. Upgraded room was even more spacious with more living space than std. The hotel staff was one of the best I have ever experienced in my many years of travel ! We were treated so well by everyone and English was not a problem as they were fairly well versed. There are many staff employed there and you were given constant attention coming & going. Location wise - this was central to the city and connection to the local subway was perfect! Subway station literally 2 minute walk from lobby. From there it connects all over the city. Advice- try avoiding the Ginza line as your last leg on return trip if possible as it is long walk thru the tunnels to get back to the hotel vs the other local lines. FYI - the hotel connects with 4 main subway lines. Did not get to eat in restaurants nor use the pool but did stop by the see gym & pool, Pool had lanes for doing laps and very clean. They even issue you slippers to use while in pool area. Gym had lot of work out equipment to select from. Area around the hotel is mainly business district but less than 5 minute walk to main street with lots of restaurants to choose from. I also loved the fact that there was a 7-11 in the basement of the hotel and snacks were quite reasonable compared to the Starbucks close by. This was our first time to Tokyo and it is such a vibrant & exciting place to visit and staying in such a beautful hotel centrally located along with excellent service made it all the more enjoayble.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great location, very central, easy to get everywhere, hotel is fabulously equipped and very new. Outstanding staff and probably in the Top League of 5 stars in Tokyo. I prefer it via Grand Hyatt.

Hotel is directly next to a famous shrine and walking distance to Imperial Garden and some shopping district.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The rooms and the location are the two things that make the hotel stand out and lift it to the top range in Tokyo in terms of value for money.

Rooms are spacious, super clean and modern with all amenties one can think of. The service is, in typical Japanese style, professional and polite. Bathrooms are huge with a massive tub.

Being right in the centre of Tokyo with a direct link to the tube, is a real plus.

The gym could be improved.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

As soon as you step into this hotel you're greeted by this Origami type wooden structure on the ceiling, which looks different from every angle you stand. The ponds, waterfalls and gardens surrounding the hotel are beautiful and you really feel as if you've stepped into olden day Japan.

The rooms are great! Modern and clean with amazing views. The bathrooms are so cool. You can move the partition to one side and then the bathroom becomes part of the room. There's a cable in the bathroom draw which lets you plug your iPhone into the rooms sound system and a volume control in the bathroom so you can play music in the shower and in the room.

The staff are all very polite and helpful! Will stay again :)

Room Tip: Choose a view of the Biz Tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I can honestly say this property gathers pretty much everything that I look for in a hotel. It was my best overall hotel experience so far!
It's very centrally located in Chibuya (which is a neighborhood with many of Tokyo's main attractions) but still very secluded in a small street, beside a small temple/park. On the basement level you have access to 3 major subway lines, which is VERY convenient.
Staff will do anything you ask them and they're unbelievably polite. I bought my bullet train tickets through the Concierge and also booked a tour guide and both went very well.
What amazed me the most was the combination of traditional Japanese aspects with a very tasteful and minimal decor, still managing to keep everything very comfortable and beautiful. I was upgraded to a Premium Room on the 22nd floor, huge, overlooking Tokyo through the big floor to ceiling window - it was just mind blowing! I also loved the bathroom, all in black, also huge, with great shower and tub. I didn't care much for breakfast, which is also more expensive than in other 5* hotels.
I could not recommend it enough. I'm sure it will contribute to your Tokyo experience in a much more authentic (and cheaper) way than the big chain hotels.

Room Tip: Do upgrade to a Premium Room if you can. They're huge and have amazing views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The rooms are lovely with fantastic views of the city, service is superb and the location couldn't be better, I cannot use enough superlatives to describe the Capitol Hotel, I absolutely loved it and how cool that it's connected to the metro with a supermarket & coffee shop just a lift ride away!! You will not be disappointed if you choose this Hotel for business or pleasure. I'm sure the Hotel restaurants are fantastic, we only ever had breakfast, however there is so much to offer just a short walk away, bars, restaurants and amazing shopping along with the beautiful gardens of the imperial palace, loved every minute of my 6 day stay here, I will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capitol Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Address: 2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0014, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capitol Hotel Tokyu 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is situated very conveniently in Akasaka, the heart of downtown Tokyo. It is located with easy access to famous shopping and dining areas such as Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Omotesando or Harajuku. Subway station with 4 lines is located right under the hotel. Guests are able to savor the quiet natural surroundings of Hie Shrine, a serene space surrounded by natural beaty where it is possible to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capitol Hotel Tokyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.