We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Capitol Hotel Tokyu to your Saves list
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda 100-0014, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 703 Reviews
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Overall, Catie, my wife and I, visited for our anniversary, at the beginning of and end of our trip to Japan. On both occasions, the staff were very professional, helpful and friendly and the hotel treated us extremely well. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and immaculate. The hotel is directly above two subway stations with a short walk within the same subway complex to a further two more giving access to a total of 4 different lines. Whilst there is not a lot of nightlife immediately in the vicinity, Rapponghi is only 3-4 min taxi ride, and Shibuya 5 stops by tube (10min), Ginza (2 stops - 5 min) and Shinjinku (15 min), most on direct routes. So we could not fault the location at all - really excellent.

Two slight criticisms - for a 5* hotel, fresh coffee in the room would make it perfect...and the in-room dining menu was a little limited from a western perspective...but it is, after all, a Japanese hotel!

Many thanks to the hotel and its staff...it and they helped to make our trip to Japan wonderful!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    152
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
120
258
51
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Spent 4 nights at The Capitol Hotel and had a great time there.
Pros:
1. Incredibly helpful concierge helped us book 4 lunch/dinners including a spot at Sukiyabashi Jiro (we requested a reservation before the time in which they would take it and without any prompting, the hotel followed up with the restaurant at the appropriate time and got us in). Maps and directions were printed out for us and in one case, they even clearly wrote that we should take a cab because of how hidden the restaurant was. This was a huge help as neither my boyfriend or I speak Japanese but wanted to go to a lot of lesser known restaurants.
2. Spacious room with a beautiful bathroom. I want to replicate that shower in my own home some day.
3. Convenient location: located directly above two train lines and within walking distance of two more. We were able to go almost everywhere we wanted by train and could find our way back from anywhere easily.
4. Located directly above a 7-11 and Starbucks: Got our coffee fix in the morning and the 7-11 provided a convenient ATM location for our cash withdrawals (most ATMs in Japan do not take foreign cards, 7-11 and Citibank are the two places you can count on to accept your card).

Cons:
1. Our "King Bed" room was really two separate twin beds pushed together. They even had their own separate covers, which we weren't crazy about as a couple on vacation. If you tried to get a little closer, the beds moved apart with a very uncomfortable space in the middle.
2. A cleaning product they were using smelled pungent, a little bit like body odor. We initially thought someone with B.O. had stayed in the room before us but then noticed the smell got stronger every time we came back after the cleaning service had arrived. It wasn't terrible, but certainly noticeable.

Overall: Would recommend this hotel highly for business and solo travel. It is not a particularly flashy or luxurious hotel if you are looking for a honeymoon experience but I really enjoyed what they offered as a couple on a sightseeing vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I must say that this is the first time I got it wrong by following TA ratings. To sum it up, this hotel was the only place in our entire trip across Japan where we felt unwelcomed.

When choosing the Tokyo hotel, I was down to Four Seasons Marunouchi and Capitol, and what a mistake I did, based on the good reviews in TA and the fact that it was slightly more economical (not much though) than Four Seasons.

It all started well before arriving. Once I had made the booking, four months in advance, I wrote to the concierge in order to make a booking in one of the supposedly best sushi restaurants in Tokyo. Answer came back that they had a two months in advance reservation policy. Two month before my trip, I followed up with the concierge again, and this time the answer was that the policy was to only take reservations one month in advance. At that point I called the restaurant myself but unfortunately they did not speak English. One month before my trip, I followed up and they told me that they were really sorry but that the restaurant was fully booked for the days I wanted from various months ago. ???. Wasn’t the policy one month?. This should have been a red flag to change to Four Seasons, but unfortunately, I went ahead with my booking.

Once you arrive to the hotel, the rooms are nice and spacious, although very bizarrely distributed, with the restroom scattered throughout the room (the basin is in one place, the toilet in a different one, same for the bath and shower). The hotel is well connected with the Subway underneath it, no need to step out to the street to access the Subway, and you are 3-6 stops away from all the nice places, although the area of the hotel itself is a business district without many interesting things in walking distance (other than a temple right next to the hotel).

The second day of our stay it was raining, so we approached the bell captain for a couple of umbrellas. Answer: sorry, because it is raining, we have run out of them, but in the shop in the basement we sell them. Oh really? What a coincidence that on a rainy day every guest needs an umbrella and that you could not foresee it. The comment about the shop was even more infuriating.

Following that, we went to the concierge to ask for a nice Tempura restaurant. The concierge was gone at 6pm, but the answer of the guy at the reception was: oh, we have a very nice Japanese restaurant in the hotel, why don’t you try that?

Finally, the day we were returning, we had a late 11pm flight, so we had to spend the day in Tokyo before catching the plane. Given that the hotel has an indoor pool and gym that you need to pay to access, we thought that it would be nice to access it mid afternoon, in order to relax and freshen up before the flight. We went to book and pay for it but the answer was that there was no late check out available for us. I insisted that we did not want a late check out and that we would be very happy to leave the room before noon, that all we needed was to be able to access the pool and gym (paying for it, obviously). There was no way to convince them. Given the irrationality of the person at reception, I asked to be called by a manager. That never happened.

This hotel does not deserve to be #4 in TA for Tokyo. Go to any of the well known upmarket chains, because the service here is not anywhere close.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was truly a great hotel and it's worth the high ranking on Tripadvisor. We stayed here for five nights during a Tokyo trip and was very pleased.

Our deluxe king room on 45 sqm felt very spacious - especially to be in Tokyo. It was clean and had a nice view of Tokyo's skyline. The same view could be seen from the cool bathroom, with both rain shower head and bathtub.

The superb location made it easy to go almost anywhere in Tokyo. Since the hotel is situated just above the Tameike-Sanno subway station with several lines, it's easy to find a good way to go. The hotel even had it's own elevator just outside the subway latches.

The service was friendly and professional. Everyone in the staff, with exception of some restaurant waiters, spoke English well enough to help us with all we needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent the long weekend at the Capitol Hotel Tokyo and thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is conveniently located in a quite area of Tokyo but walking distance to a good range of restaurants and train services.

The hotel itself is friendly well staffed establishment. The staff were always readily available to assist in any requests for help in looking for places to go.

Would thoroughly recommend the Club rooms and Club lounge when booking as this is real value for money. Drinks and good quality finger food every night is very well received.

For those who like a run there is a scenic run around the Imperial Palace of about 7km return to the hotel.

Would stay here again when in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Recommend the Club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in the club floor. This is a very good hotel indeed, very nice and helpful staff, reasonably good location, spacious, stylish and practical room!
The club floor is recommended if it is available. The club lounge is definitely worth for the difference on the price. The club lounge is located at the 27th floor, nice view to the Imperial Palace, and you can even see the new landmark the Skytree Tokyo. You can have tea and coffee at the lounge from 10am-5pm. From 5pm-9pm, you can enjoy champange, wines and different cocktail with pretty good snack!!
The staff are very nice, they gave good advises, e.g. book a cab and get to Tsukiji market around 4am!
Location wise, the hotel is at the quiet area in the commercial area, but still in a walking distance to array of cafes and restaurants. The metro has made it easy to access to any attractions.
The room is just nice, exactly the as what they show in the website.
Just 2 little things this hotel could do to make the stay better. No. 1 is the wifi, it will be much easier if I don't need to login every single time even if I have a break of 5 min. from the network. No. 2 is the TV channel. I know that the Australian Network is a free channel provided by the Australian ABC to south-east Asia and Pacific region. It would be a bonus to Australian or English-speaking travelers.
Overall it is a hotel I would highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very central and located on a convenient subway station (best way to move around in Tokyo). Style is somewhat minimalist with comfortable large rooms (not a given in Japan!), great bathrooms and wonderful views on the skyline and on a shrine just under the building. Facilities are good and personnel is extremely kind and helpful in providing information and arranging for reservations and tickets as required.

Would definitely use the Capitol Hotel Tokyu again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capitol Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Address: 2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda 100-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capitol Hotel Tokyu 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is situated very conveniently in Akasaka, the heart of downtown Tokyo. It is located with easy access to famous shopping and dining areas such as Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Omotesando or Harajuku. Subway station with 4 lines is located right under the hotel. Guests are able to savor the quiet natural surroundings of Hie Shrine, a serene space surrounded by natural beaty where it is possible to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capitol Hotel Tokyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.