We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Save Saved
You added The Capitol Hotel Tokyu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0014, Japan   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Chiyoda
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very comfortable & quiet rooms. Exceptionally polite and helpful staff. Very comfortable Club floor. Good location. Hard to find any faults (other than the smokey bar). I always stay here when I visit Tokyo and and always feel very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    132
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
114
226
47
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a really great hotel! Great communications before we arrived, so we knew to travel there from the airport by Limousine Bus (3000Yen per person) - it takes about an hour but is comfortable and relaxing.
The hotel is a real hidden gem, in a quieter area of Tokyo so you can really relax but well connected to the subway from the hotel basement direct into the centre of town in about 15 minutes.
Check in was easy and they gave us our room early which was a bonus after the flight from Singapore. The rooms are just fantastic. A twin deluxe is about 48 sq m and really well appointed (see pics :)
The room is well equipped with adaptor, hairdyer and lovely toiletries. They also supply two clean bathrobes and nightshirts every day. The beds are super comfortable and two sets of curtains ensure a quiet, peaceful nights sleep.
The bathroom is just fantastic - slate walls and floor with an amazing double shower in the wet room and roomy bath too.
Free wifi and bottles of mineral water all add to the welcome and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.
Can't wait to return to this lovely hotel soon.

Room Tip: Think there are rooms with better views than ours but we spent little time in the room anyway so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had a really remarkable stay at the Capital Hotel Tokyu back in November. I was there for a business trip.

The two things that are outstanding are the rooms and the service/staff. The rooms are beautifully designed and very comfortable. The bed was great. The ability to open up the room by moving the screens was a nice feature. The over-sized walk in shower was incredible.

The staff are also incredibly pleasant and helpful. I had an amazing stay.

One last thing, this hotel is very conveniently located over a main subway line, making getting around the city very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, aus
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here 12 months ago and loved it so much that we had no hesitation in booking the hotel again. We had two separate stays at The Capitol Hotel during this trip to Japan, 4 nights at the beginning of our trip and 3 nights at the end. I would very happily have stayed longer...

The hotel is located in a bustling business district but is very well located for sightseeing and shopping. The access to multiple subway lines from the basement is very handy (especially during the heavy snowfalls we encountered). Despite being in a busy area, the hotel feels like an oasis and is very peaceful.

The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is very well suited to both leisure and business travellers. We were travelling for leisure but, as a regular business traveller, this hotel has everything you might need. The rooms are well appointed and are very user friendly. Free wifi is provided and the room desks have an international plug as a default.

We booked King Deluxe rooms for both stays and were afforded upgrades to larger rooms as members of the hotel loyalty program (definitely worth joining). The beds are incredibly comfortable and the bathrooms are fabulous. The concierge was very helpful and booked a number of tickets and restaurants prior to and during our stay.

The one issue we encountered was that the room service menu is pretty average (and doesn't really cater to Westerners). Now most people don't come to Tokyo for room service but this may bother business travellers. We were snowbound on a public holiday with few local restaurants open and ended up dining in the hotel bar which, despite being a tad smoky, had an excellent menu which they'd do well to extend to room service.

Overall though this is a great hotel and exceptional value for money (especially if one books via their loyalty program). I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a great hotel in central Tokyo. The staff are very helpful, the hotel is extremely clean and comfortable. I had a king size deluxe room and it was very spacious. The "water-room" (showers and bath all enclosed together) is awesome...I want one of these at home. The Japanese on-site restaurant was very good. Origami restaurant is adequate but not great. Metro access directly from level B2 of the hotel is very convenient and there are three metro lines available. I had breakfast room service twice and food was delivered in ten minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have just returned from a glorious holiday using Tokyo as our base. Capitol Hotel was where we left our luggage after an overnight stay to go ryokan hopping. When we returned 5 nights later to re-check in, imagine our pleasant surprise to find that our bags were already in our new room, waiting for us! We have decided after staying a total of 3 nights here, that we would want to use this hotel again when next we return, when earlier on, we had thought we might want to try out those in some other more touristy locales. Here's why:

1) Accessibility
a) The hotel is one of the Airport Limousine stops from both airports. Commuting to and from the airport is a breeze, with their super-efficient way of handling luggage especially.
b) Whilst not in the heart of shopping districts like Harajuku, Ginza or Shinjuku, the hotel sits directly atop 2 subway stations serviced by 4 lines that take you speedily to any of these destinations, as it is centrally located in the heart of downtown Tokyo where government offices are.

2) Accommodation
This flagship hotel of the Tokyu group is a totally new build, having reopened its doors just over 2 years ago. (It has an august heritage dating back to the 60s, having played host to the likes of the Beatles). As such, the rooms are spacious, clean and immaculate, with washroom facilities that are sectioned off for different functions. its wide windows give amazing views of the cityscape.

3) Aesthetics
To call this a business hotel is to do it injustice whilst undoubtedly it meets all the requirements of business travelers. The hotel is clothed in a spirit of tranquillity and serenity because generous space has been given over to its Japanese-styled gardens which its 2 restaurants which serve breakfast overlook, and its rooms have also been tastefully decorated in minimalist Zen fashion.

4) Amenities/facilities
We were bowled over by its top-of-line sanitary fittings, especially the hands-free "washlet" system which comes with multiple easy-to-follow functions. In addition to the standard bathrobe issue, the hotel also provides pajama robes to slip into for the night.

5 A-grade service
This hotel delivered first class service as one would expect of a 5-star hotel, and more. In addition to the aforementioned check in experience, we were suitably impressed when they agreed to open up their Origami restaurant 15 minutes before their start up time of 6.30 am so we could do breakfast before taking the first bus out of the hotel for the airport. Sure enough, there were service staff already waiting for us when we went down at the appointed time on the day of our departure.

Our superlative experience at this hotel capped a most memorable trip, and we would want to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santander, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is very nice and the service is accurate. But we had bed bugs on our room. After four days on there my legs were full of marks. They have been the worst bug bites I ever had in my life. They ruined my honey moon. The stuff said they cleaned the bed but it kept happening until the end. And they never offer a room change.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capitol Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Address: 2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 100-0014, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capitol Hotel Tokyu 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is situated very conveniently in Akasaka, the heart of downtown Tokyo. It is located with easy access to famous shopping and dining areas such as Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Omotesando or Harajuku. Subway station with 4 lines is located right under the hotel. Guests are able to savor the quiet natural surroundings of Hie Shrine, a serene space surrounded by natural beaty where it is possible to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capitol Hotel Tokyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.