We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Central Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoryukan

Save Saved
You added Shoryukan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shoryukan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-24-9 Kandaogawamachi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 101-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
【Best Price】Hotel Website
Ranked #11 of 59 hotels in Chiyoda
Tomamae-gun, Hokkaido, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place, Central Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great stay at this hotel, fully recommend for pretty much any type of travel. Easily access both JR and Tokyo Metro lines. Great small Japanese-style breakfast. Very clean and modern rooms, and nice onsen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
4
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We chose to stay in this family run hotel since we had to take early morning train to Nagano for ski holidays in Hakuba. The hotel is on little quite street at the back of main road where you can find so many ski shops. Going to Tokyo station is less than 10 minutes and taxi cost around 1,100 yen. On first arrival day, we printed google map in Japanese for taxi driver which was helpful as hotel was quite hard to be located.

We stayed for 3 nights in a Japanese room. Our room was super clean with very comfy futons, though room size is small(which was what we expected anyway). Bathroom was quite modernized with fancy toilet (with all electronic buttons and seat warmer) similar to those provided in 5 star hotels.

Pros:
1)Room was super clean and well appointed
2)Basic Japanese breakfast with egg cooked the way we like provided good value considered the room rate
3)Staff (especially Tanaka-san) were generally very polite and have excellent service mind
4)The shared bathroom with onsen on B1 floor is a plus after tired walking day in Tokyo. But beware the temperature in lady room was rather hot-48 c. We ended up taking bath on this floor every day. Yukata was provided in the room.
5)Location is perfect for ski equipment shopping
6) So quite during weekend and holidays and walking around was nice
7) So many quick eat delicious Japanese restaurants/shops, AM/PM 7/11 around as it is in business location.
8)Hand soap foam, razors and tooth brushes are provided which was a nice touch giving the price
9) Walking distance to traditional old temple in Kanda near Ochanomizu station
10) Coined laundry facilities are available. +Access to ice machine(free), drink vending machine.
Cons
1) Hotel is not a smoking free one so ensure you will stay away from smoking rooms on the same floor, if any.
2)Room size is small

Overall we had a memorable stay and even more than we experienced at Shibuya Excel Tokyu Hotel that we stayed last time. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose and book room type from the hotel website.No need to provide credit card details upon booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was traveling for a conference near this hotel. I decided that it would be interesting to stay in a Japanese style room and was looking for something relatively inexpensive, so the Shoryukan fit the bill. I got the slight larger sized room (though not the largest with a private bath) and it was quite comfortable. There is some noise that carries from neighboring rooms, but it doesn't seem to be the sort of hotel that's likely to attract noisy people. I had a view of a little park across the street.

The bath in the basement is quite nice. Only on my last night there when I went later than normal did I encounter more than one other person. It is large enough that it worked well even with 5-6 of us making use of the various facilities.

The staff were all nice and helpful. They were quite accommodating of the fact that I don't know any Japanese and were helpful in meeting my needs.

The breakfast is quite nice. It consists of coffee, water, a large bowl of rice, miso soup, an egg (done fried, scrambled, or as an omelet), some pickles, and a bowl that changed from day to day, but which typically might have some chicken, onions, and potatoes. It was all tasty and made a nice start to the day. There also seemed to be some other things for children, but I never puzzled out what they were.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My daughter and I stayed for one week and it was a great little hotel. She chose the Japanese style room whilst I took the Western style, both were very clean and comfortable. Staff were very attentive and always helpful. Breakfast was simple Japanese, but a good and healthy start to the day. The jazz bar was a relaxing end to the day. It was very close to subway stations giving easy access to all of Tokyo. Just a note for guitar lovers it is about 5 minutes walk to 38 guitar stores virtually in the one street; overpowering! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and thank all the staff for a great stay. The area around is not a tourist area but we did not go to Japan to meet tourists and many other areas are full of tourists.

Room Tip: Simple, if want tradition Japanese you sleep on the floor on a roll up futon, or you can chose the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I decided to book here for two nights at the tail end of my Tokyo stay when my first hotel was no longer available. I choose the japanese style single (sleeping on a mattress on a tatami mat floor) just because I thought it would be an interesting experience. The room is incredibly well appointed. It was tiny, but managed to have room for a desk with low chair, TV, drawer and shelf space, mini-mini-fridge, teapot and private bath of course. I was totally comfortable, but I don't mind sitting on the floor. I slept very well with no aches. The room was on the second floor and was very quiet, even though the hotel appeared to have many guests (all japanese except me, I might add!). There are communal baths available, segregated by sex (basically very hot baths to soak in to relax). I didn't expect to be interested, but the room and bath looked so pleasant, I was enticed to go for a soak. They also served a simple buffet breakfast eggs, miso soup, rice, small salads, and coffee/tea which was included in the room price. It was delicious. All this is very authentically japanese and intimate- never do you feel like anything is orchestrated just for a commercial purpose. I also had the greatest experience with the front desk. Aside from them calling restaurants to make reservations for me and giving me directions, they went above and beyond to fulfill my quest to buy Yakatas (cotton japanese robes). I mentioned that I really liked the ones provided by the hotel and asked where I could find them. I told them I was short on time and if they had any to sell, I would even buy the one in my room, though previously used. Next time I went to the desk, there was a beautifully wrapped package of a brand new yakata and belt, identical to the one I'd been asking for. I was so delighted! I had seen many on my trip, but none I liked as much as the ones here. Unbelievable service from a bargain hotel. Location is also good. Several subway stops just 5 mins walk, if that, connecting you to multiple lines. Good restaurants in the neighborhood, too. I stumbled upon Subaya (Okanawa-ese cuisine) which was unusual, healthy, and delicious. Would definitely go back if traveling alone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at hotel Shoryukan near Ochanomizu and loved every minute of our stay there. The staff speaks English and is very nice and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and clean, the Japanese breakfast in the in-house jazz club every morning was delicious and the sentō is perfect. The prices are very correct. Be warned that most of the customers of the hotel are locals and that the area is as non-touristic as you can get in Tokyo. Don't expect to find foreign food, newspapers or TV channels.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shoryukan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoryukan

Also Known As:
Shoryukan Tokyo, Japan
Address: 3-24-9 Kandaogawamachi, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture 101-0052, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoryukan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In July, 2009, Tokyo Family Hotel has made a great reforming and refurbished the image into a Japanese modern atmosphere of EDO, which is the old name of Tokyo. At the same time, we've changed the name of our Hotel to Ochanomizu hotel "SHORYUKAN". We appreciate that the support of our customers only has made us possible to continue our hotel for a long time since the foundation of our Hotel, almost as same as the beginning of SHOWA era, 1925. This time we have arranged many types of rooms according to the needs of our customers, such as from ordinary single, double and twin rooms to some types of Japanese style rooms. Please stay with us and feel at home. Please enjoy our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Rakuten, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Shoryukan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoryukan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.