We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushizanmai

Sushizanmai
2-1-3 Yurakucho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)
+81 3-3500-2201
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 5,188 Restaurants in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
washington, dc
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great value sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

After indulging in many $200 - $300 per head sushi dinners in Ginza, we tried this large, frenetic sushi restaurant under the train tracks near Yurakucho. Open all hours with a steady stream of patrons, considerably more blue collar than places like Kyubey. But the sushi was good and fresh. And you can get in and out in a hurry. Also, the price is right -- this place is a great value. Not quite the value/quality balance of some of the Tsukiji market counters like Daiwasushi, but still better than what we get in the vast majority of sushi restaurants in the U.S.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank stempster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Beijing
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went there since it is very close to the Imperial hotel.
Very crowded but after a short way we got a table. Friendly waitress who spoke some English, but with the "English" menu and looking at the neighboring table you have a wonderful choice.
We had Sushi, Sashimi and Tempura, all tasted great. Portions are small so we re-ordered the dishes we liked best. Good Kirin beer on tap.
No credit cards are accepted but due to their reasonable prices we just made it with the cash on hand.
Great place for good food at very reasonable prices, especially in such an expensive city like Tokyo !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Riedel208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh sushi, not at all touristy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went here our first night in Tokyo after flying in fro London. Two very jet lagged teenagers and equally knack erred parents. Down an alley under the railway it was packed with locals. We got friendly service and the menu had English translation. No fancy decor but the open bar with busy sushi chefs is a fun sight. Clam miso was delicious, followed by amazing mixed sashimi platters with a great selection of things we had never tried before. Herring roe, sea urchin, abalone. Not for the sushi virgin perhaps!
Great fun.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sriv60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of the most authentic sushi in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I've been to great dozens of sushi places all over Japan as well as over the world and I must say that Sushizanmai is one of my personal top three. That's a very authentic Japanese place with huge choice of freshest sushi which group of cooks make out of live performance. Prices here are also ones of the best in Tokyo - believe me! U'll get best value for money here.
By the way, this place is also very popular amongst foreigners visiting the capital of Japan. May be because ( just my assumption) people pass their impression to each other and recommend this place to their friends going to Tokyo. Because of popularity amongst as locals as visitors in evening time you'd need sometimes to wait in the queue (especially on Friday night).
Needless to mention that they have a menu in English with clear pictures of sushi, sets and other plates, which makes visitor choice very easy - you won' choose the wrong dish. Surely they serve beer and sake.
Conclusion: If you want to say ' I eat real sushi - U must come here!'

Helpful?
Thank eduesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful sushi, great show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We sat at the counter and watched our chef take a large net and pull out a quite large red snapper from a very clean tank. He proceeded to parade it around the restaurant for an auction. We had the first slices as sushi - OMGosh, it was warm and so utterly delicious. I've never had sushi so fresh. The rest of our meal was ordered piece by piece and was fantastic. The place was mostly Japanese but foreigners are very welcome and the menus are in English, with pictures! Very kind and welcoming from all staff. We like to think we know our sushi, having lived in Tokyo years ago and being from New York. This was a wonderful meal. We will go back. Extremely reasonable pricing - about 4000 yen per person, with beer and sake.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MMA888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushizanmai also viewed

 

Been to Sushizanmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing