We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushizanmai

Sushizanmai
2-1-3 Yurakucho, Chiyoda, Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
+81 3-3500-2201
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 4,337 Restaurants in Chiyoda
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Beijing
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went there since it is very close to the Imperial hotel.
Very crowded but after a short way we got a table. Friendly waitress who spoke some English, but with the "English" menu and looking at the neighboring table you have a wonderful choice.
We had Sushi, Sashimi and Tempura, all tasted great. Portions are small so we re-ordered the dishes we liked best. Good Kirin beer on tap.
No credit cards are accepted but due to their reasonable prices we just made it with the cash on hand.
Great place for good food at very reasonable prices, especially in such an expensive city like Tokyo !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    22
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh sushi, not at all touristy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went here our first night in Tokyo after flying in fro London. Two very jet lagged teenagers and equally knack erred parents. Down an alley under the railway it was packed with locals. We got friendly service and the menu had English translation. No fancy decor but the open bar with busy sushi chefs is a fun sight. Clam miso was delicious, followed by amazing mixed sashimi platters with a great selection of things we had never tried before. Herring roe, sea urchin, abalone. Not for the sushi virgin perhaps!
Great fun.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“One of the most authentic sushi in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I've been to great dozens of sushi places all over Japan as well as over the world and I must say that Sushizanmai is one of my personal top three. That's a very authentic Japanese place with huge choice of freshest sushi which group of cooks make out of live performance. Prices here are also ones of the best in Tokyo - believe me! U'll get best value for money here.
By the way, this place is also very popular amongst foreigners visiting the capital of Japan. May be because ( just my assumption) people pass their impression to each other and recommend this place to their friends going to Tokyo. Because of popularity amongst as locals as visitors in evening time you'd need sometimes to wait in the queue (especially on Friday night).
Needless to mention that they have a menu in English with clear pictures of sushi, sets and other plates, which makes visitor choice very easy - you won' choose the wrong dish. Surely they serve beer and sake.
Conclusion: If you want to say ' I eat real sushi - U must come here!'

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful sushi, great show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We sat at the counter and watched our chef take a large net and pull out a quite large red snapper from a very clean tank. He proceeded to parade it around the restaurant for an auction. We had the first slices as sushi - OMGosh, it was warm and so utterly delicious. I've never had sushi so fresh. The rest of our meal was ordered piece by piece and was fantastic. The place was mostly Japanese but foreigners are very welcome and the menus are in English, with pictures! Very kind and welcoming from all staff. We like to think we know our sushi, having lived in Tokyo years ago and being from New York. This was a wonderful meal. We will go back. Extremely reasonable pricing - about 4000 yen per person, with beer and sake.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Sushi in Ginza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

If you are looking for a sushi restaurant which is not going-around style, this is it. They offer sushi of high quality at affordable price. 2000-4000 yen per head (depending on how much you eat), even cheaper in lunch time. I would take to this restaurant my foreign guests who are eager to try japanese authentic sushi. An alternative will be Sushiko. They have an English HP. http://www.kiyomura.co.jp/sushi-e/

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushizanmai also viewed

 

Been to Sushizanmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushizanmai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.